The Yummy Mummy

The Yummy Mummy

by Polly Williams
4.1 6

Hardcover

$21.22 $22.95 Save 8% Current price is $21.22, Original price is $22.95. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Temporarily Out of Stock Online

Eligible for FREE SHIPPING

Overview

The Yummy Mummy by Polly Williams

In the tradition of Little Earthquakes, Babyville and I Don't Know How She Does It: the effervescent, canny, and downright delightful debut of Polly Williams, a spirited new voice in women's fiction.

Amy Crane's daughter, the exquisite and sweet-tempered Evie, is six months old. any Amy -- who's trying to decide whether to resume her high-pressure job in PR -- adores her. But these days, Amy doesn't exactly adore herself.

Even worse, the whole time she's feeling invisible and about as attractive as a barnyard animal, Amy suspects that Evie's father, Joe, is having an affair. Then Amy meets Alice, who seems to have this mommy thing down: She's single-girl-slender, for one thing, with groomed eyebrows, a smooth forehead, and killer clothes. Plus she has a sex life. In short, she's a Yummy Mummy, one of a new breed who manage to make motherhood look positively sexy. Under Alice's tutelage, Amy discovers that she's got some yumminess of her own. Joe takes notice, as does her handsome Pilates instructor. But once Amy's libido awakens from its extended slumber, a whole new set of problems develops.

Filled with acute perceptions of the challenges faced by new moms, as well as the uniquely terrifying landscape of new motherhood, The Yummy Mummy is as endearing -- and as refreshing -- as a baby who sleeps through the night.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781401302313
Publisher: Hyperion
Publication date: 01/02/2007
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 9.62(h) x 1.25(d)
Age Range: 18 - 12 Years

About the Author

Polly Williams is a journalist who writes for In Style, Marie Claire, and The Sunday Times, as well as other publications. She lives in London with her husband and son, and is expecting another baby this summer.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this book down! I love the short chapters and the embarassing things that Amy gets herself into. A 'young mom' must read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
dalewithfour More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It was funny and the plot was fun. My only complaint was that it was just too wordy. It would have had a better flow if there were less words.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago