Zen: A Retrospective

Zen: A Retrospective


$13.62 $14.99 Save 9% Current price is $13.62, Original price is $14.99. You Save 9%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Friday, September 29 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Zen: A Retrospective

More a greatest-hits volume than Ninja Tune's previous multi-disc collection (the rarities-heavy Xen Cuts), the double-disc Zen: A Retrospective barely includes any Top 40 hits (the number 37 Coldcut's "More Beats & Pieces" is the highest peak), but if dance music had a Hit Parade, there'd be at least a dozen number ones here. The first disc buttonholes listeners by spinning through some of the downright hookiest tracks in dance history (Amon Tobin's "Get Your Snack On," Coldcut's "Atomic Moog 2000," Mr. Scruff's "Get a Move On," DJ Food's "Dark Lady"). The second disc hardly lets up, beginning with "More Beats & Pieces" -- a digital-turntablist symphony that qualifies as the label's highlight -- but also including career highlights (or close to it) from the Herbaliser ("Mr. Chombee Has the Flaw"), Kid Koala ("Fender Bender"), DJ Vadim ("The Terrorist"), and Cinematic Orchestra ("All That You Give"). It really does feature the best tracks that have ever been out on Ninja Tune -- who knows better than the label itself? -- and doesn't neglect the addition of a great rarity or two, like a non-LP "Get Your Head Down" by Luke Vibert and a non-CD version of "Check Fraud" by Fog. An accompanying remix CD and fully packed DVD make the Zen experience a fitting postcard to itself from the best breaks label in the business.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2004
Label: Ninja Tune
UPC: 0625978108529
catalogNumber: 85
Rank: 178756

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Fontella Bass   Vocals
Matt Coleman   Trombone
Micky Moody   Drums
Andrew Ross   Flute,Saxophone
Phil France   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Rhodri Davies   Harp
Danny Huckridge   Bass
Ollie Parfitt   Organ,Harpsichord,Wurlitzer
Ollie Teeba   scratching
Jake Wherry   Organ,Bass,Guitar
Luke Flowers   Drums
Malachi   12-string Bass Guitar
Tom Chant   Electric Piano
Jamie Coleman   Trumpet
T. Daniel Howard   Drums
Echo   Strings
Ralph Lamb   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Sneaky   Bass
Gill Morley   Violin
Andy Kingslow   Percussion
Milo Fell   Percussion
Seaming   Vocals
Patrick Carpenter   electronics

Technical Credits

Coldcut   Producer
Louis Hardin   Composer
Paul Peareym   Composer
Funki Porcini   Producer
J.J. Barry   Composer
Amon Tobin   Composer,Producer
DJ Vadim   Producer,Cut
Herbaliser   Producer
Luke Vibert   Composer,Producer
Scruff   Producer
Kid Koala   Producer
PC   Producer
Rodney Smith   Composer
James Braddell   Composer
Chris Bowden   String Arrangements
Jonathan More   Composer
Matt Black   Composer
Tom Middleton   Composer,Producer
Paul Brook   Composer
Phil France   Composer,Producer
Keir Fraser   Composer
Andy Carthy   Composer
Jason Swinscoe   Composer,Producer
Akira Tagushi   Composer
Artemus Le-Sueur   Composer
Easy Access Orchestra   Horn Arrangements
Hexstatic   Producer
Ollie Teeba   Producer,drum programming
Jake Wherry   Producer
Sarah Jones   Composer
Andrew Broder   Composer,Producer
Andy Kingslow   Composer
Ollie Trattles   Composer
Jeremy Yluisakar   Producer
Stuart Warrenhill   Composer,Producer
Senor Rudi   Producer
Seaming   Arranger
Patrick Carpenter   Composer
John Henry   Composer
Kevin Foakes   Composer
Stuart Warren-Hill   Composer
Simon Green   Composer,Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews