Zone Unknown

Zone Unknown

by Gabrielle Roth


$15.78 $16.99 Save 7% Current price is $15.78, Original price is $16.99. You Save 7%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Monday, April 30 , Order now and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


Zone Unknown

Mirrors musical director Gabrielle Roth takes her Five Rhythms (see Roth bio) onto the pavement and out into the steely nights of the city. Acoustic drums and percussion still set the trance-dance beats, but touches of electricity (bass, synth, drum programs) have infiltrated the hypnotic cadences. The result is an album more for pure dance (fun!) than for moving through emotional catharsis. Indeed, Roth's usual slogan, "Sweat your prayers," is slightly altered to "Dance your heart out and your ass off -- into the zone." The title cut is a slinky, almost spooky, version of her typical belly-dance "flowing" movement. Listening to this cut, one can easily see how the flowing movement will catalyze the emotion of fear -- very shadowy. "Downtown" includes the cool, muted jazz trumpet of Chris Botti, the funky bass of Sergio Bandao, and Roth's sultry voice coaxing, "Let's dance." The lively "Buffalo Dream" gallops in a 6/8 chaos cadence, but it has a Native American feel to it. "Avenue A" is a breathless run amid the streets and wires of the city, while "Jamu" returns to a slinkier blues chaos rhythm with Jai Uttal on guitars and synth and Mindy Jostyn on harmonica and vocals. The album ends with the smoldering stillness of "Drifting"; Mark Shulman is featured on the wailing guitar. If you've seen and danced to Roth's Wave video, you'd know how much Roth is a creature of the Village; this album celebrates the mysteries of the city while still staking claim to the soul.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/1997
Label: Raven
UPC: 0736998597122
catalogNumber: 5971
Rank: 182695

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gabrielle Roth   Primary Artist,Vocals
Mark Egan   Bass
Youth   Bass
Carl Adami   Synthesizer
Robert Ansell   Drums,Bata,Shaker,Tone Box,Concert Toms
Cyro Baptista   Percussion
Joe Bonadio   Dumbek
Chris Botti   Trumpet
Rocky Bryant   Drums
Steve Dwire   Bass
Geoffrey Gordon   Tabla,Tambourine,Tambur
Harvey Jones   Synthesizer
Mindy Jostyn   Harmonica,Vocals
Lenny Kaye   Guitar
Roger Moutenot   Guitar,Guitar (7 String Electric)
David Rosenberg   Drums
Jai Uttal   Guitar,Synthesizer Guitar
Allison Cornell   Violin,Viola
Sanga of the Valley   Percussion,Bongos,Bells,Blocks,Jimbae,Asheiko
Benny Koonyevtsky   Log Drums
Sahaj Ticotin   Bass,Vocals
Bob Een   Cello
Michael Markus   Jun-Jun
Joe Brandao   Percussion,Hi Hat
Sahaj Spiegel   Tabla,Duggis,Tarang

Technical Credits

Gabrielle Roth   Producer,Musical Director
Robert Ansell   Producer
Scott Ansell   Producer,Engineer,Engineering
Steve Dwire   drum programming
Rob Paustian   Engineer
Greg Wittrock   Cover Design
Shelby Rae   Cover Art
David Robbins   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews