Dead Harvest

Dead Harvest

4.2 13
by Chris F. Holm
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Meet Sam Thornton, Collector of Souls.
 
Sam’s job is to collect the souls of the damned, and ensure their souls are dispatched to the appropriate destination.
 
But when he’s dispatched to collect the soul of a young woman he believes to be innocent of the horrific crime that’s doomed her to Hell, he says something no

See more details below

Overview

Meet Sam Thornton, Collector of Souls.
 
Sam’s job is to collect the souls of the damned, and ensure their souls are dispatched to the appropriate destination.
 
But when he’s dispatched to collect the soul of a young woman he believes to be innocent of the horrific crime that’s doomed her to Hell, he says something no Collector has ever said before.
 
“No.”
 
File Under: Urban Fantasy [ Souled Out | Damned If You Don’t | Collector Mania | On The Run ]
 
e-book ISBN: 978-0-85766-219-4

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
A war is brewing between angels and demons in this twisty, fast-paced, and thoroughly enjoyable urban fantasy debut. Sam Thornton is a Collector: he takes souls from the damned and sends them into eternal misery. It should be straightforward to collect the soul of 17-year-old mass murderer Kate MacNeil, but something isn’t right; her soul is too pure. Collection of an innocent soul can throw off the balance of good and evil and spark a chain of events that leads to the end of the world, biblical style. Sam’s convinced that Kate’s been set up, but determining who is behind it is deadly business. With both Heaven and Hell chasing him down, Sam’s in a race against time to save Kate and stop Armageddon. Sam is a likable antihero, pleasantly human despite being unquestionably damned, and the politics of Heaven and Hell provide plenty of material for sequels. Agent: Jennifer Jackson, the Donald Maass Agency. (Mar.)
From the Publisher
"A war is brewing between angels and demons in this twisty, fast-paced, and thoroughly enjoyable urban fantasy debut... Sam is a likable antihero, pleasantly human despite being unquestionably damned, and the politics of Heaven and Hell provide plenty of material for sequels." - Publishers Weekly

"A very promising first novel." - Locus

"With a candid style that exhibits solid confidence and finesse, Chris Holm pulls readers in and pins us to the edge of our seats with a cleverly conceived story that is flawlessly executed." - NY Journal of Books

"Chris Holm’s smooth writing style and rather charming characters (yes, Sam is charming, so there), made Dead Harvest a pleasure for me. 4.5/5 stars." - My Bookish Ways

"Dead Harvest does not feel like a debut. Chris F. Holm's writing is assured and the world building is outstanding... I completely enjoyed reading Dead Harvest with its unlikely anti-hero and world painted in shades of gray. The Collector series is on my must buy list." - The Qwillery

"The first book in The Collector series, is completely fresh and absolutely distracting. You won’t be able to put it down, and you’ll want a stiff drink and a smoke to go with it." - Sacramento Book Review

“...classic mix of deduction, ultra-violence, narrow escapes, shocking revelations, and sudden turns of fortune that make noir such a satisfying genre. Also, possessions, demons, seraphs, and lucky cat statues. Just fantastic enough to be entertaining, but not so unrealistic that it stretches the bounds of credulity.” -Josh, In Order of Importance 

"A great protagonist, powerful bad guys (you have to love Bishop, the bad guy who can be anybody), pacing, tension and some really clever twists (the need for, and effects of, meatsuits is particularly cool) make this one of my favourite books."
-CheffoJeffo

Library Journal
As a collector of souls, Sam Thornton wanders the world, ensuring that the damned reach their intended destination. When he is ordered to "collect" the soul of a 16-year-old girl found guilty of brutally murdering her family, Sam believes the girl might be innocent. But refusing an order from his superiors is not an option. Soon Sam and Kate, his charge, are on the run, and the mystery of why certain powers want to claim her soul grows deeper and more dangerous with each step. VERDICT Blending urban fantasy with noir mystery, Holm's debut is a dark, moody tale of fallen heroes in the modern world. Fans of Jim Butcher's "Dresden Files" books, Tanya Huff's "Blood" novels, and Larry Correia's "Monster Hunter" series should enjoy discovering a promising new author.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780857662187
Publisher:
Watkins Media
Publication date:
02/28/2012
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
704,480
Product dimensions:
4.26(w) x 6.84(h) x 1.04(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >