×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Everything, Everything
     

Everything, Everything

4.3 75
by Nicola Yoon
 

See All Formats & Editions

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--soon to be a major motion picture! In theaters May 19, it stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything . . . for love.

What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . .

Overview

The instant #1 New York Times bestseller--soon to be a major motion picture! In theaters May 19, it stars Amandla Stenberg as Maddy and Nick Robinson as Olly.

Risk everything . . . for love.

What if you couldn’t touch anything in the outside world? Never breathe in the fresh air, feel the sun warm your face . . . or kiss the boy next door? In Everything, Everything, Maddy is a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world, and Olly is the boy who moves in next door . . . and becomes the greatest risk she’s ever taken. 

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.
 
But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He's tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.
 
Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

Everything, Everything will make you laugh, cry, and feel everything in between. It's an innovative,  inspiring, and heartbreakingly romantic debut novel that unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, illustrations, and more. 

everythingeverythingfilm on Instagram
@everythingfilm on Twitter
@everythingeverythingmovie on Facebook everythingeverythingmovie.com

And don’t miss Nicola Yoon's The Sun Is Also A Star, the #1 New York Times bestseller in which two teens are brought together just when it seems like the universe is sending them in opposite directions.

Editorial Reviews

The New York Times Book Review - Whitney Joiner
…gorgeous and lyrical…There's some thematic overlap with Stephenie Meyer's Twilight series (intimacy equals death) and, of course, with John Green's The Fault in Our Stars (love in the context of terminal teenage illness). But with offbeat, pragmatic and sweetly romantic characters and an unconventional narrative style—the text is punctuated with medical charts, kissing primers, and other illustrations from Yoon's husband, David Yoon—Everything, Everything tells us something we will always need to hear, no matter our age: that it's not the risks of love or heartbreak that might end us. It's the fear of the pain we might experience along the way that keeps us trapped in our cocoons—or our white, decontaminated houses.
Publishers Weekly
06/15/2015
Madeline Whittier, a biracial 18-year-old, has severe combined immunodeficiency, a rare condition that renders her allergic to nearly everything and requires her to live inside a carefully sealed environment. Madeline’s contact is limited to her physician mother and her full-time nurse, until handsome Olly moves in next door. Madeline falls for him from her window and begins disobeying the rules that keep her from the outside world. Despite the serious dangers posed by Madeline’s medical condition and Olly’s violently alcoholic father, Yoon’s debut reads breezily. Many chapters consist of single, short paragraphs, as well as emails, chat exchanges, and Madeline’s pithy book reviews (of Lord of the Flies, “Spoiler alert: Boys are savages”). Yoon’s husband provides diagrams, cartoons, and other illustrations that reflect Madeleine’s claustrophobia, whimsical longings, excitement over Olly, and sense of humor. The main conflict is resolved in a few brief pages and reflects an overall tendency for things to happen a bit too easily. Even so, this is an easy romance to get caught up in. Ages 12–up. Agent: Sara Shandler and Joelle Hobeika, Alloy Entertainment. (Sept.)
From the Publisher
“Gorgeous and lyrical.” --The New York Times Book Review

"[A] fresh, moving debut."--Entertainment Weekly, A-

"YA book lovers, your newest obsession is here."--MTV.com

★ "This heartwarming story transcends the ordinary by exploring the hopes, dreams, and inherent risks of love in all of its forms." —Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

"Everything, Everything is wonderful, wonderful."—SLJ, Starred Review

“I give all the stars in the sky to Nicola Yoon's sparkling debut. Everything, Everything is everything, everything—powerful, lovely, heart-wrenching, and so absorbing I devoured it in one sitting. It’s a wonder. The rare novel that lifts and shatters and fills you all at once.” —Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places

 “With her stunning debut, Everything, Everything, Nicola Yoon has constructed an entirely unique and beautiful reading experience. Gorgeous writing meshes with original artwork to tell a love story like no other. You’ve never read a book like this.” —David Arnold, author of Mosquitoland
 
Everything, Everything has everything . . . romance, heart, and intelligence. Nicola Yoon's book and voice stayed with me long after I finished reading.” —Danielle Paige, New York Times bestselling author of Dorothy Must Die

“There's a quiet beauty about Everything, Everything that kept me captivated from start to finish. Olly and Madeline's love story stole my heart.”--Katie McGarry, author of Nowhere But Here 

"This extraordinary first novel about love so strong it might kill us is too good to feel like a debut. Tender, creative, beautifully written, and with a great twist, Everything, Everything is one of the best books I've read this year." --Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times Bestselling author of Leaving Time

"A do-not-miss for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell (aka everyone)."--Justine Magazine

"A vibrant, thrilling, and, ultimately, wholly original tale that's bound to be an instant hit."--Bustle.com

"This is an easy romance to get caught up in."--Publishers Weekly

"Deeply satisfying."--The Bulletin

"Nicola Yoon’s first novel will give you butterflies."--Seventeen

“Not only was I totally hooked  . . . by the end I was totally blown away.”—Arun Rath, NPR Weekend’s All Things Considered

 “Heartwarming and inventive.”—Mashable.com

“Readers will root for the precocious Maddy as she falls hard for the boy next door . . .  teens in search of a swoonworthy read will devour.”--Booklist

 “It’s tempting to drop everything everything once you’ve begun . . . it’s hard not to be consumed by this tale of doomed love.” The Times, London

"I just couldn't put it down . . . If you’re a fan of The Fault in Our Stars, If I Stay or Before I Die, then this book is for you."--TheGuardian.com

**

Named one of the Best Books of the Year by:
Amazon
B&N Teen Blog
Hudson Booksellers
The Miami Herald
School Library Journal
 
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens

An Indies Introduce selection

Selected as one of the Best Multicultural Books of the Year by the Center for the Study Multicultural Children’s Literature

Children's Literature - Sarah Maury Swan
Madeline Whittier is sure she has read more books than anybody else on the planet. What else can she do in her white room in her sterile house? She cannot leave her house since she is allergic to the outside world. Her only physical visitors are her nurse, Carla, her mother, and just one of her tutors. At seventeen, she has accepted her life. But things change in Maddie’s soul when Oliver—Olly—moves in next door, along with his rebellious younger sister, enabling mother, and abusive, alcoholic father. Olly sees Maddie at her window watching him and starts communicating through sign language, pantomime, notes and, eventually their electronic devices. It does not hurt that he’s drop dead gorgeous and compassionate. As their relationship deepens, Maddie secretly begins to break the rules by which she has lived, doing things and taking risks she never would have imagined. Olly is resistant at first; but Maddie, now eighteen, feels she can make her own choices. This leads to a remarkable discovery about herself and her mother, and Maddie has to deal with the aftermath of this revelation. This is a fantastic read. Reviewer: Sarah Maury Swan; Ages 12 up.
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2015-06-29
Suffering from "bubble baby disease," Madeline has lived for 18 years in a sterile, sealed house with her physician mother. Madeline is a bright, witty young woman who makes the best of life with a compromised immune system by playing games with her mother, studying with online tutors, and writing brief spoiler book reviews on Tumblr. Her life is turned upside down when a troubled new family moves in next door and she sees Olly for the first time. Olly, a white boy "with a pale honey tan" and parcours moves, wants to meet her, but Madeline's mother turns him away. With the help of an indestructible Bundt cake, Olly perseveres until he gets her email address. Madeline—half Japanese, half African-American—chronicles her efforts to get to know Olly as she considers risking everything to be with him. She confides to her wise and understanding nurse, Carla, the truth she keeps from her overprotective mother: that it's painfully hard to be a teenager with a crush, yearning to venture outside and experience the world. Spot art by the author's husband, occasional lists in Madeline's handwriting, emails, and instant-messaging transcripts add a lively dimension to Madeline's quirky character. In her debut, Jamaican-American Yoon gives readers complex characters and rich dialogue that ranges from humorous to philosophical. This heartwarming story transcends the ordinary by exploring the hopes, dreams, and inherent risks of love in all of its forms. (Fiction. 12-17)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780553496673
Publisher:
Random House Children's Books
Publication date:
03/07/2017
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
122
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x 0.75(d)
Age Range:
12 - 17 Years

Videos

Meet the Author

NICOLA YOON is the number one New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything. She grew up in Jamaica and Brooklyn and lives in Los Angeles with her husband, who created the artwork in these pages, and daughter, both of whom she loves beyond all reason. Everything, Everything is her first novel. Her second novel, The Sun is Also a Star, will be available on November 1, 2016.