Murder in Honolulu (A Skye Delaney Mystery) [NOOK Book]

Overview

MURDER IN HONOLULU is an island mystery novel set in Hawaii.

Skye Delaney is a private investigator, security consultant, and ex-cop who lives in Waikiki. When her ex-husband and former prosecutor turned businessman, Carter Delaney, asks her to find out if his new wife Darlene is having an affair, Skye reluctantly agrees to take the case. Little does she know that it will ...
See more details below
Murder in Honolulu (A Skye Delaney Mystery)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

MURDER IN HONOLULU is an island mystery novel set in Hawaii.

Skye Delaney is a private investigator, security consultant, and ex-cop who lives in Waikiki. When her ex-husband and former prosecutor turned businessman, Carter Delaney, asks her to find out if his new wife Darlene is having an affair, Skye reluctantly agrees to take the case. Little does she know that it will turn out to be far more than infidelity.

Skye confirms that Darlene is not only having an affair but also doing drugs. But before Skye can tell this to Carter, she finds him dead in her Jacuzzi bathtub with an apparent suicide note stuffed in his mouth.

Did he really take his own life with so much to live for? Or was Carter murdered?

The one thing she knows for sure is that her German Shepherd Ollie bit an intruder who happened to have AB negative blood. As did Carter. Coincidence?

Skye’s current love interest is Ridge Larsen, a homicide detective for the Honolulu Police Department, who also happens to be assigned to this case once it becomes official that Carter Delaney was murdered.

As Skye continues to get deeper and deeper into the investigation of Carter’s death, it becomes apparent to her that it her ex had many secrets and just as many enemies, making him a marked man. These included working for the Honolulu Prosecuting Attorney as a consultant on a case involving a crime syndicate, being a gambling addict, and being in debt to a loan shark.

While the bodies continue to pile up, Skye puts her neck on the line to find out the truth and nail a ruthless killer who has targeted her for death; even as she tries to maintain her professional objectivity and balance it with her private and romantic life.

MURDER IN HONOLULU is the first book in an exciting new mystery series, featuring Skye Delaney.

PRAISE FOR R. BARRI FLOWERS

"Murder in Honolulu is an exquisitely rich and masterfully constructed mystery . R. Barri Flowers now lays fitting claim to the beautiful island paradise as his territory, owning it in the same way Robert Parker owns Boston and Lawrence Block New York. A savvy, smooth, and sumptuous read that's as hot as Waikiki beach sand." --Jon Land, bestselling author of Strong Vengeance

"Gripping, tightly woven tale you won't want to put down. Author neatly contrasts natural beauty of tropical paradise with ugliness of murder and aftermath."--John Lutz, Edgar winner and bestselling author of Mister X on MURDER IN MAUI

"A police procedural of the highest order, mixing equal parts Sue Grafton and Jeffrey Deaver with a sprinkling of Patricia Cornwell."--Jon Land, bestselling author of Strong Justice on MURDER IN MAUI

"Flowers once again has written a page-turner legal thriller that begins with a bang and rapidly moves along to its final page. He has filled the novel with believable characters and situations."--Midwest Book Review on STATE'S EVIDENCE

"A gripping account of the murders committed by husband-and-wife serial killers Gerald and Charlene Gallego. Compelling reading."--Gary C. King, author of Blood Lust on THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS

"A model of crime fiction.... Flowers may be a new voice in modern mystery writing, but he is already one of its best voices."--Statesman Journal on JUSTICE SERVED

"An excellent look at the jurisprudence system...will appeal to fans of John Grisham and Linda Fairstein."--Harriet Klausner on PERSUASIVE EVIDENCE

"It gets no better than this! Guaranteed to hold onto its readers! It was so gripping that I forgot to breathe a couple of times!"--Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews on DARK STREETS OF WHITECHAPEL

"An interesting blend of classic film noir and rough, modern cinema.... Quick action and tight dialogue make it a jolting thriller, but it's also got the psychological tightness of a good mystery puzzle."—Robert A. Sloan, author of Raven Dance on DEAD IN THE ROSE CITY
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940014342346
  • Publisher: R. Barri Flowers
  • Publication date: 5/27/2013
  • Series: Skye Delaney Mysteries , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 630,591
  • File size: 365 KB

Meet the Author

R. Barri Flowers is a bestselling, award winning author of more than fifty books, including mysteries, thrillers, romance, young adult, true crime, and criminology. Recent mystery fiction titles include MURDER IN MAUI: A Leila Kahana Mystery, DARK STREETS OF WHITECHAPEL: A Jack the Ripper Mystery, DEAD IN THE ROSE CITY: A Dean Drake Mystery, KILLER IN THE WOODS, STATE'S EVIDENCE: A Beverly Mendoza Leal Thriller, JUSTICE SERVED: A Barkley and Parker Mystery, and teen mysteries, DANGER IN TIME and GHOST GIRL IN SHADOW BAY.

Recent true crime titles by the author include SERIAL KILLER COUPLES, THE SEX SLAVE MURDERS, and MASS MURDER IN THE SKY: The Bombing of Flight 629.

Mr. Flowers is the recipient of the Wall of Fame Award from Michigan State University's renowned School of Criminal Justice. He has appeared on the Biography Channel's Crime Stories and Investigation Discovery's Wicked Attraction series.

The author is busy at work on his next mystery novel, SEDUCED TO KILL IN KAUAI.

Connect with R. Barri Flowers online through Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, LinkedIn, MySpace, CrimeSpace, and at www.rbarriflowers.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    MURDER IN HONOLULU is an excellent mystery novel with a gorgeous

    MURDER IN HONOLULU is an excellent mystery novel with a gorgeous setting in Hawaii. Skye Delaney is a private investigator who is hired by her ex husband and former prosecutor, Carter Delaney, to spy on his current wife, Darlene, suspecting her of having an affair. When Carter ends up dead in Skye's bathtub, her investigation becomes one of murder with plenty of suspects, twists and turns. This crime novel, the first in a new series, will keep you guessing and turning the pages till the very end! Highly recommended for mystery and Hawaii lovers!!!

    Also recommend the author's other Hawaii based mystery novel, MURDER IN MAUI: A Leila Kahana Mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)