Pumpkin Pumpkin

Overview

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed in the spring and, after watching it grow all summer, carves a face in it for Halloween! But best of all, he saves some seeds that he will plant again next spring. "Truly a book for all seasons."—Horn Book.

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed and, after watching it grow, carves it, and saves some seeds to plant in the spring.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$6.99
BN.com price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (25) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $3.45   
  • Used (12) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed in the spring and, after watching it grow all summer, carves a face in it for Halloween! But best of all, he saves some seeds that he will plant again next spring. "Truly a book for all seasons."—Horn Book.

Jamie plants a pumpkin seed and, after watching it grow, carves it, and saves some seeds to plant in the spring.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
PW praised the ``exquisite drawings in this luminous documentation of a pumpkin's evolution; ``the quality is breathtakingly soft and expressive.'' Ages 4-8. (Sept.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 2 Softly colored pencil illustrations in a realistic style effectively communicate Jamie's pride as a very young gardener. He plants a seed, then grows and harvests a pumpkin from which he saves seeds for next year. The large, detailed drawings capture Jamie's anticipation and pleasure just right. The garden creatures appearing on every page and grandpa, whom we catch sight of now and then, are a delightful supporting cast. Nonreaders can easily follow the story in pictures alone. Very large, clear print on facing pages makes the simple narrative inviting for beginning readers, too. Libraries serving young children shouldn't miss this satisfying book in the tradition of Ruth Krauss and Crockett Johnson's The Carrot Seed (Harper, 1945) and Bijou Le Tord's Rabbit Seeds (Four Winds, 1984). The strong sense of the cycles of nature and a youngster's accomplishment make for a winning combination. Anna Biagioni Hart, Sherwood Regional Lib . , Alexandria, Va.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780688099305
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 9/28/1990
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 24
  • Sales rank: 441
  • Age range: 4 - 8 Years
  • Lexile: 260L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 9.87 (w) x 8.00 (h) x 0.00 (d)

Meet the Author

In Her Own Words...

"It was never my plan to become a writer and illustrator of children's books. Although I knew from the age of ten that I wanted to be an artist, it took a long time to discover just what kind of an artist I would be.

"When I was in art school, first at Pratt Institute and then at Portland School of Art, I was a painting major. To be honest, though, I was classified as a painting major because no one could figure out where else to put me. At that time I was making Joseph Cornell-like box constructions, with collage, found objects, and drawings. Graduation from art school left me unable to afford a large enough living space to store all the wonderful junk necessary for my constructions, so I devoted myself almost completely to my drawing.

"After exhibiting my work several times during the next few years, I was encouraged by a friend familiar with publishing to try my hand at illustration. On a whim I made a completely unorganized trip to New York, then Boston. Despite the fact that I did everything all wrong, I managed to get my first job illustrating a children's book. I've been illustrating ever since, and now, with the help and encouragement of Susan Hirschman, I am writing children's books as well.

"I grew up in Maine and still summer there, but I presently live and work in Houston, Texas, with my daughter, Anna, and son, John Gabriel. I love what I do and feel truly blessed in the life I have.

"An important reason why I love what I do so much is that it combines so many of my interests: art, of course; language; fairy tales and mythology; day and night dreams; the world of the child. The last, "the world of the child," is a deeply personal interest for me; I think, in a way, that I have never grown up. I guess I hope I never will."

In Her Own Words...

"It was never my plan to become a writer and illustrator of children's books. Although I knew from the age of ten that I wanted to be an artist, it took a long time to discover just what kind of an artist I would be.

"When I was in art school, first at Pratt Institute and then at Portland School of Art, I was a painting major. To be honest, though, I was classified as a painting major because no one could figure out where else to put me. At that time I was making Joseph Cornell-like box constructions, with collage, found objects, and drawings. Graduation from art school left me unable to afford a large enough living space to store all the wonderful junk necessary for my constructions, so I devoted myself almost completely to my drawing.

"After exhibiting my work several times during the next few years, I was encouraged by a friend familiar with publishing to try my hand at illustration. On a whim I made a completely unorganized trip to New York, then Boston. Despite the fact that I did everything all wrong, I managed to get my first job illustrating a children's book. I've been illustrating ever since, and now, with the help and encouragement of Susan Hirschman, I am writing children's books as well.

"I grew up in Maine and still summer there, but I presently live and work in Houston, Texas, with my daughter, Anna, and son, John Gabriel. I love what I do and feel truly blessed in the life I have.

"An important reason why I love what I do so much is that it combines so many of my interests: art, of course; language; fairy tales and mythology; day and night dreams; the world of the child. The last, "the world of the child," is a deeply personal interest for me; I think, in a way, that I have never grown up. I guess I hope I never will."

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)