The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #2)

The Crown of Embers (Girl of Fire and Thorns Series #2)

4.6 155
by Rae Carson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

She does not know what awaits her at the enemy's gate.

Elisa is a hero.

She led her people to victory over a terrifying, sorcerous army. Her place as the country's ruler should be secure. But it isn't.

Her enemies come at her like ghosts in a dream, from foreign realms and even from within her own court. And her destiny as the chosen one has not yet been

See more details below

Overview

She does not know what awaits her at the enemy's gate.

Elisa is a hero.

She led her people to victory over a terrifying, sorcerous army. Her place as the country's ruler should be secure. But it isn't.

Her enemies come at her like ghosts in a dream, from foreign realms and even from within her own court. And her destiny as the chosen one has not yet been fulfilled.

To conquer the power she bears, once and for all, Elisa must follow a trail of long-forgotten—and forbidden—clues, from the deep, hidden catacombs of her own city to the treacherous seas. With her go a one-eyed spy, a traitor, and the man whom—despite everything—she is falling in love with.

If she's lucky, she will return from this journey. But there will be a cost.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Carson’s sequel to her debut, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, is a superb fantasy built around an exceptional heroine. Just months after leading her adopted country to victory against the sorcerers of Invierne, 17-year-old Queen Elisa has to deal with spies, a possible traitor in the palace, and pressure from her own council to marry or cede power to a regent. Additionally, the Inviernos are back, and they want her to sacrifice herself willingly to them, or they will rain destruction and death on her people. Dodging attempted assassination and kidnapping, Elisa is pulled by the mysterious Godstone embedded in her navel to find the zafira, the soul of the world and the source of its magic, embarking on a gripping journey that ramps up the tension and sets up the finale. Carson avoids the dips that often haunt bridge books: expert pacing and well-drawn characters are masterfully integrated with Elisa’s continued growth as she deals with the shifting political situation, resulting in a dramatic and gratifyingly romantic novel that smoothly follows its predecessor. Ages 13–up. Agent: Holly Root, Waxman Leavell Literary Agency. (Sept.)
Booklist
Praise for The Girl of Fire and Thorns:William C. Morris Award FinalistAndre Norton Award Finalist“Romantic, lush, and thought provoking.”
USA Today
“Rae Carson has proved she’s a master and has shaken up the YA genre. . . . Nothing is held back.”
Rachel Hawkins
“There are books you like, and books you love, and then there are the ones that make you go past ‘love’ and straight into, ‘I think I may need to marry this book.’ The Crown of Embers was that type of book for me. I adored it.”
VOYA - Susan Allen
Elisa is now the reigning queen after defeating the animagus who seek to regain the power they have lost. In this sequel to The Girl of Fire and Thorns (Greenwillow, 2011/VOYA December 2011), Elise's saga continues. At seventeen, she is attempting to gain the respect of the county's highest ranking officials, rebuild a country that has used its resources to fight the just-ending war, and find a way to keep her people from losing faith in her and her ability to rule. On top of all this, there have been many attempts to kill her. Her Royal Guard and their leader, Hector, have foiled the attempts. Elise is still trying to understand and control the fire that her Godstone appears able to provide. From one of the Enemy she learns of the zafira, the power that rests just below the earth's surface and is the power that the Godstone uses. A quest to find this almost mythical place ensues, with danger, intrigue, and romance as her companions. The fantasy world in which Elisa lives continues to draw in the reader. The zafira is plausible, and the struggles of a seventeen-year-old girl to fit into an adult world of politics, greed, and intrigue are totally believable. Like the first of the trilogy, this volume will be read and the final installment of Elisa's story will be eagerly awaited. Reviewer: Susan Allen
Kirkus Reviews
Intelligent and thoughtful Elisa must negotiate diplomacy, religion and personal desire. Her Majesty Queen Lucero-Elisa became sole ruler of Joya d'Arena through luck (both good and bad), wise strategic decisions and the holy magic of the Godstone embedded in her navel (The Girl of Fire and Thorns, 2011). Keeping her kingdom, on the other hand, will require diplomacy, political acumen, mercy--and deception. Elisa must fight everything from assassination attempts to rioting mobs, all while defending her country against the terrifying foreign sorcerers with "pale peach" skin and "hair the syrupy gold of honey," who only recently brought fiery destruction on her nation's capital. Elisa, deeply pragmatic and deeply religious, is required repeatedly to make intelligent, unselfish choices for the good of her nation. The lush details of this magical world are thoroughly intertwined with the profound religious faith of both heroes and villains, where each revelation leads to a crack in Elisa's worldview. Those who find no YA fantasy complete without a steamy romance will be thrilled by Elisa's growing passion for her best friend and closest adviser--who is, of course, completely off-limits. Though this series entry moves somewhat slowly, newly discovered mysteries about this fantasyland's history--not to mention the torments of unresolved sexual tension--will have readers clamoring for volume three. (Fantasy. 13-16)
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up—In this sequel to The Girl of Fire and Thorns (HarperCollins, 2011), several months have passed since Elisa, through the power of her Godstone, destroyed the invading animagi sorcerers. Although the forces of Invierne were successfully driven back, the outer perimeter of the city still burns. Elisa is now queen of Joya d'Arena, and the crown is proving to be a heavy burden in more ways than one. The Inviernos still seek to capture her to manipulate the power of the Godstone she bears. There is massive civil unrest, and there are those at court who seek to undermine her rule. Although her husband has only been dead a few months, she is being pressured to remarry to secure an alliance with one of the noble houses in the kingdom. After several attempts are made on her life, she sets off on a perilous quest that is part of the fulfillment of her destiny as the bearer. As in the first book, Elisa's narration conveys a sense of immediacy. Carson has created vivid, palpable settings and complex multifaceted characters, and delivers a fast-paced novel that is emotionally charged, suspenseful, and filled with plot twists. The cliff-hanger ending will leave readers eagerly anticipating the next installment of this series, which will especially appeal to fans of Kristin Cashore and Tamora Pierce.—Francesca Burgess, Brooklyn Public Library, NY

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062026514
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
09/18/2012
Series:
Girl of Fire and Thorns Series, #2
Pages:
416
Sales rank:
124,888
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.40(d)
Lexile:
HL730L (what's this?)
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >