The Green Trees Beyond: A Memoir

The Green Trees Beyond: A Memoir

by R. D. Lawrence
     
 

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Readers who enjoyed Lawrence's The North Runner and Secret Go the Wolves will welcome these memoirs of his active, adventurous life. Son of an English father and a Spanish mother, he spent his childhood in Spain. At 15, during the Spanish Civil War, he enlisted in the Republican Army and fought in the infantry. Lawrence escaped to France in 1938, returning to England to enlist in the British Army. He was evacuated at Dunkirk, then transferred to the 7th Royal Tank Regiment, saw action in the desert and, in June 1944, was severely wounded in Normandy. After a long convalescence, he studied biology at Cambridge and found his way into journalism. Dissatisfied with life in postwar England, Lawrence went to Canada in 1954, to homestead in western Ontario. He was totally unprepared for a Canadian winter, and deeply grateful to his neighbors for their help. Relating events of his life in Canada, his love of the North and its wildlife, Lawrence pens a fitting postscript to his other books. Photos. (June)
Library Journal
An author of more than 20 books (e.g., White Puma, LJ 4/15/90), Lawrence is best known for his writings about wildlife and wilderness conservation and especially about wolves. Now in his seventies, he turns his observations inward, telling his own story. Some of the passages here have appeared in other works. The first several chapters, covering Lawrence's childhood in Spain through his service in World War II, read like journal entries featuring lots of action but very little emotion or reflection. The second half of the book is almost lyrical in its descriptive passages, and the narration of his life's events are paced with a storyteller's ear. Here Lawrence reveals the emotion behind his ambition and reflects upon his chosen path. Told with modesty, gentle humor, and an honest perception of one man's place in the world, Lawrence's memoirs are a pleasure to read. Because of his reputation, libraries with environmental collections will want to consider, as will libraries strong in biography and nature writing.-Denise Sticha, Carnegie Lib. of Pittsburgh
Theresa Ducato
Ron Lawrence was born in the province of Catalonia, son of a British father and a Spanish mother. At 15, he enlisted in the Spanish Republican Army and was later badly wounded in World War II. He went to England after the war but was unable to settle down in the postwar's strained economy. In 1954, along with his wife and young son, his convalescence over, Lawrence sailed for Canada. He put down roots in northern Ontario, where in succeeding years he worked as a freelance journalist and published several books on Canadian wildlife and animal behavior. This memoir also details his involvement in monitoring government-sponsored wolf-kills in the Yukon and British Columbia. Lawrence also nursed injured wolves back to health, only to release them once again to the wild. A remarkable man and one any reader would like to know.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780805012972
Publisher:
Holt, Henry & Company, Inc.
Publication date:
05/03/1994
Pages:
318

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >