The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery
  • Alternative view 1 of The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery
  • Alternative view 2 of The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery

4.5 37
by Maryrose Wood, Jon Klassen
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs now.

Overview

The second book in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place—the acclaimed and hilarious Victorian mystery series by Maryrose Wood, perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket and Trenton Lee Stewart—has a brand-new look.

Thanks to their plucky governess, Miss Penelope Lumley, Alexander, Beowulf, and Cassiopeia are much more like children than wolf cubs now. They are accustomed to wearing clothes. They hardly ever howl at the moon. And for the most part, they resist the urge to chase squirrels up trees.

Yet the Incorrigibles are not entirely civilized, and still managed to ruin Lady Constance's Christmas ball, nearly destroying the grand house. So while Ashton Place is being restored, Penelope, the Ashtons, and the children take up residence in London. As they explore the city, Penelope and the Incorrigibles discover more about themselves as clues about the children's—and Penelope's own—mysterious past crop up in the most unexpected ways....

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Heidi Hauser Green
When repairs to Ashton Place take longer than planned, Lady Constance decides to move the entire household to London. Miss Penelope Lumley, governess to the Ashton's three young wards (Alexander, Beowulf and Cassiopeia), is excited by the change of scenery. She is eager to make use of the city's wealth of educational opportunities—museums, theaters, historical sites—and to visit with Miss Mortimer, her former headmistress at the Swanburne Academy for Poor Bright Females. However, the governess and her charges face many challenges in London, from navigating the city streets to fending off a pickpocket, dealing with Lady Ashton's social pressures to confronting an unusual Gypsy fortune teller, keeping the children from attacking the palace guards' bear hats to distracting them from the city's many pigeons. Sure to remind the reader of Lemony Snicket's series, the Harry Potter novels, and N.E. Bode's The Anybodies, this unusual tale—with its Victorian setting, governess and boarding school elements, references to mythology and horror creatures, and authorial digressions—is sure to capture readers' imagination. Expect the unexpected from this fifteen-year-old governess and her once-feral charges, and you won't be disappointed. Book two of "The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place" series, sequel to The Mysterious Howling. Reviewer: Heidi Hauser Green

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061791123
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/22/2011
Series:
Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place Series, #2
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
630,281
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.20(d)
Lexile:
960L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Maryrose Wood is the author of the first five books (so far!) in this series about the Incorrigible children and their governess. These books may be considered works of fiction, which is to say, the true bits and the untrue bits are so thoroughly mixed together that no one should be able to tell the difference. This process of fabrication is fully permitted under the terms of the author's Poetic License, which is one of her most prized possessions.

Maryrose's other qualifications for writing these tales include a scandalous stint as a professional thespian, many years as a private governess to two curious and occasionally rambunctious pupils, and whatever literary insights she may have gleaned from living in close proximity to a clever but disobedient dog.

Jon Klassen grew up in Niagara Falls, Canada, and now lives in Los Angeles, California. He is the Caldecott Award-winning author and illustrator of I Want My Hat Back and This Is Not My Hat, as well as the illustrator of Sam and Dave Dig a Hole and Extra Yarn by Mac Barnett; The Dark by Lemony Snicket; House Held Up by Trees by Ted Kooser; Cats' Night Out by Caroline Stutson; and the first three books in the Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place, Book 2: The Hidden Gallery 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 36 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is hard to say too little or too much for this book is a must buy and to remember. The three Incorrigables are loving and humorous! One thing is that new friends and old teachers can be helpful. If you are wondering if you want to buy thrs book, look further. If you are courious see what I have to say. BUY AND ENJOY THE BOOK! Read the book and you will see the meaning of my words. If the book is noot suitible for in the first few chapters, keep reading! This book is a truely aamazing story and a happy cliff-hanger!!! Trust me. Read and see. Tell me what you think about it when your done. I want biig boned sentences with lots of details!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved the first book so id thlnk id love the 2nd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have already read the first book! I really want to read the next book so that I can learn more about Penelope and the three children's life! I really want to know who it is living in the wall. Is it a wolf? A cat?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
How many pages are thre
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
To be raised by wolves would be wierd. Not being able to talk to anyone else and having to eat raw meat. Ewwwwww!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
when i read the first i knew i just had to buy the 2nd one. I totally give this a A++++
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This wad an amazing book it has alot of detail and agreat plot. Compliments to Maryrose Wood and Jon Klassen for a wonderful book and pictures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is awesome!!!!!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love how the kids have progressed from the first book and what a vacation!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A+
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fantastic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Slow at first, but then the book speeds up. If you get bored do not stop reading! Great new characters too.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is worth every penny that you pay! So wonderfully written with a great amount of "wow" moments! Great bok!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
silvia sorensen More than 1 year ago
I've thoroughly enjoyed the first two in the series.The language is well chosen and expressions explained. We received it as a gift for my six year old son. He was bored with the early chapters of the first book and Iam glad, because as an adopted child he might have found th rest of the book rather terrfying.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Kaitlin Steiger More than 1 year ago
Awsome book! I read them all and loved tthem! Hope athor writes more.