The Meryl Streep Movie Club

The Meryl Streep Movie Club

3.7 18
by Mia March
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the bestselling tradition of The Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, three women find unexpected answers, happiness, and one another, with Meryl Streep movies as their inspiration.

Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch’s inn on the coast of Maine for a

…  See more details below

Overview

In the bestselling tradition of The Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, three women find unexpected answers, happiness, and one another, with Meryl Streep movies as their inspiration.

Two sisters and the cousin they grew up with after a tragedy are summoned home to their family matriarch’s inn on the coast of Maine for a shocking announcement. Suddenly, Isabel, June, and Kat are sharing the attic bedroom—and barely speaking. But when innkeeper Lolly asks them to join her and the guests in the parlor for weekly Movie Night—it’s Meryl Streep month—they find themselves sharing secrets, talking long into the night . . . and questioning everything they thought they knew about life, love, and one another.

Each woman sees her complicated life reflected through the magic of cinema: Isabel’s husband is having an affair, and an old pact may keep her from what she wants most . . . June has promised her seven-year-old son that she will somehow find his father, who he’s never known . . . and Kat is ambivalent about accepting her lifelong best friend’s marriage proposal. Through everything, Lolly has always been there for them, and now Isabel, June, Kat—and Meryl—must be there for her. Finding themselves. Finding each other. Finding a happy ending.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Art imitates art in March’s impossibly romantic debut about lost-and-found love and a frayed family repairing itself with the help of platitudes plucked from Streep’s prolific oeuvre. Streep’s films are as “good as a chicken soup, a best friend, a therapist, and a stiff drink,” Maine bed-and-breakfast owner Lolly Weller insists, regarding the regular viewings she holds at Maine’s quaint Three Captains’ Inn, where she raised daughter Kat, now 25, and nieces Isabel, 31, and June, 28 (the three trade narration duties), after a car crash on New Year’s Eve killed Lolly’s husband, sister, and brother-in-law. Fifteen years after the accident, Lolly summons the women to tell them she has cancer. By now, each is struggling with her own heartache: Isabel’s failed marriage to her childhood sweetheart, Edward; single mom June’s search for her son’s dad; and baking artisan Kat’s ambivalence about marrying her best friend, Oliver. Streep’s films have answers for all, including Lolly, who has a secret of her own to work out. There are no surprises, no problems too tough, nor men too insensitive, in this paean to Streep and happy endings. Consume with a bowl of popcorn and plenty of hankies. Agent: Alexis Hurly, Inkwell Management. (June)
From the Publisher
A heartwarming, spirit-lifting read just in time for beach season.
Kirkus Reviews

March’s debut is a treat for movie lovers an fans of meaningful women’s fiction. The main characters have their flaws, but are easy to relate to, and one can’t help but root for their success in life and love.
Romantic Times Book Reviews

Consume with a bowl of popcorn and plenty of hankies.
Publishers Weekly

In the tradition of Friday Night Knitting Club and The Jane Austen Book Club, this debut novel also has a healthy dose of Meryl Streep thrown in.
USA TODAY

"March’s first novel is a touching story of self-discovery and the strength of family."
Booklist

"Mamma Mia! Any romance that offers life lessons from Meryl wins on style points alone."
–USA TODAY

"In March’s debut novel, three cousins come together in the quaint Maine inn where they grew up to find solace and comfort in Streep’s oeuvre of films after each finds her life in disarray. The movies work their magic as each woman repairs her heartache in this emotional and heartwarming read."
Woman's Day

"March's debut novel is a romantic, heartfelt read, one that will likely be pulled out of beach bags from California to the coast of Maine this summer season."
BookReporter.com

Kirkus Reviews
When Lolly Weller summons her daughter and nieces home to The Three Captains' Inn, her announcement that she has been diagnosed with cancer is just one of many life-changing secrets to be told. March's debut novel uses the films of Meryl Streep to illuminate these women's lives and to drive away the shadows that dim their happiness. After their mother and father die in a car crash, Isabel and June Nash are taken in by their Aunt Lolly, who lost her own husband in the same crash. Lolly's daughter, Kat, gains instant sisters, but grief tinges the familial bonds. Now grown up, gathered back under Lolly's roof, and drafted into Friday Movie Nights, these young women begin to reconsider the choices they have made--and the opportunities ahead. Like the heroine of Heartburn, Isabel is reeling from her husband's affair. Handsome veterinarian Griffin might know the sting of infidelity, as well, and Isabel is certainly drawn to him for more than their shared pain. Kat has been all but betrothed to Oliver since they were toddlers, but she's not sure if she is more ready to marry Oliver or to run off to a Paris patisserie. Defending Your Life makes her wonder if the real shame is in missing the opportunities life offers. Perhaps the exotic Dr. Matteo Viola is such an opportunity. Like the daughter in Streep's Mama Mia!, June's son, Charlie, has never known his real father. To help Charlie finish his family tree project, June agrees to once more search for John Smith, but maybe Henry Books is a truer father for Charlie. And she can't deny her own attraction to him for much longer. But which movie mirrors Lolly's past? What secret does she hide still? And why has she watched Out of Africa only once in her life? A heartwarming, spirit-lifting read just in time for beach season.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451655391
Publisher:
Gallery Books
Publication date:
06/19/2012
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
758,978
Product dimensions:
5.36(w) x 8.06(h) x 0.92(d)

Meet the Author

Mia March lives on the coast of Maine, the setting of her debut novel, The Meryl Streep Movie Club.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Meryl Streep Movie Club 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Similar to Friday Night Knitting Club with the character development of a Kristin Hannah novel - if you like Kate Jacobs' and Kristin Hannah, you will enjoy Mia March.
Two2dogs More than 1 year ago
HIGHLY RECOMMEND I really enjoyed this book. Family is so important especially during the difficult times in our lives. Loved how this book showed the importance of Femail Friendship too. Now I need to rent all the Meryl Streep movies I have not seen! I sent this book to my sister as a gift in the hopes that it lifts her spirits and lets her know how important family is in our lives. Good book.
moxienicole More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! An interesting story, characters I cared about-it's a great summer read! I was sad that there aren't any other books from this author yet, but I'll be checking on her in the future.
Avid_Reader79 More than 1 year ago
A beautiful, uplifting novel of family, love and hope. I loved every page. You won't want to put it down!
Heidi_G More than 1 year ago
3.5 stars Two women return to an inn on the coast of Maine, summoned by the aunt who raised them after the tragic deaths of the sister's parents and their uncle. Their cousin, Kat, still lives at the inn. The four relatives were never close when they inhabited the house 15 years prior and an uncomfortable time is ahead for them now. Isabel is hurt and angry after finding her husband half-naked in another woman's house; June is trying to track down the father of her son (at the boy’s request), and Kat wonders if a life in Maine is all that she can hope for. The weekly Movie Night features Meryl Streep films, and each of the women come to find comfort in the theme of at least one movie. Viewing the movies is not mandatory for readers, as the story tells of each movie and the women’s discussion will give the reader a good idea about movie content. Another good summer read with romance, loss, anger, and sorry. I see a movie coming from this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Its a good read. Interesting premise, and the characters take some unexpected turns. I would recommend this, don't let the title put you off thinking it is all about the star, she plays a very small part.
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
The title, premise and of course the cover made me want to read this. Also it's like the second or third book I read that had one of the characters working at a bookstore and the mention of a beach or something like that. Anyway, this was really good, sad but good. You have stories revolving around Lolly, Kat, June and Isabel. I thought I'd like one story over the other. But no, with this I liked all their stories, especially June and Isabel. Although with Kat's I was thinking OMG will you talk with Oliver then with the whole marriage or no marriage thing. The writing style and descriptions, especially the movie nights was good. Soon as I got this, I started reading right away, wanting to know if it ends okay. A surprising, at times, frustrating but still really good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is such a sweet story about relationships, reconciliation, and sisters & a cousin raised together coming together with a common purpose and understanding.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
WyoReaderCC More than 1 year ago
A mindless, simpering, shallow read. I felt cheated to have paid good money to read this.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book! Emotional, and heartfelt. Heartwarming story about family and sticking together in tough times. I love Meryl Streep and enjoyed it. Could really relate to the charcters. Made me laugh and cry. Will read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book! It was a nice light summer read. The characters were all likeable. Fun!!
LyndaLaidback More than 1 year ago
This is a great book about women, relationships,etc. It has no (or very little) vulgar language, believable characters, and a very satisfying ending. I loved it!