4.7 8
by Andrea Colt

View All Available Formats & Editions

Cheerleader Rose Whitfield's senior year goes up in smoke when she's framed for arson. Sure that the culprit is her neighbor Paxton, with whom she's been feuding since middle school, she sets out to clear her name and take Paxton down hard--not necessarily in that order.

Visit to read the first few chapters for free!  See more details below


Cheerleader Rose Whitfield's senior year goes up in smoke when she's framed for arson. Sure that the culprit is her neighbor Paxton, with whom she's been feuding since middle school, she sets out to clear her name and take Paxton down hard--not necessarily in that order.

Visit to read the first few chapters for free!

Editorial Reviews

The Bookish Babes blog - Bookish Babes
"With its well-developed, funny, and engaging characters, surprisingly sweet romance, and a mystery that doesn't wrap up until the very end,Torched is a book that delivers the much-loved elements of a great YA story."
The Starry-Eyed Revue blog - Jen .
"... fun and sexy and perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally's Catching Jordan/Hundred Oaks series. This sweet contemporary romance is being hailed across the blogosphere and with good reason."
Bewitched Bookworms blog - Danny .
"It was fun, it had twists, turns and two characters that were just sizzling with chemistry!"

Product Details

Andrea Lynn Colt Books
Publication date:
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Sales rank:
File size:
939 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Torched 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a great book and I must admit, I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning to finish it as I simply couldn't put it down. I was impressed with the continual character development throughout the book as well as the mystery of who the culprit was. It was easy to slide into Rose's head and share her experiences and her personal growth as the story progressed. Andrea Colt did an excellent job with this book! I highly recommend it. There are a lot more reviews for this book on amazon's website and I encourage you to read those as well, but you can't go wrong with this book. Happy Reading!
Lost_in_Literature More than 1 year ago
Torched definitely caught me off guard.  After being contacted by the author, I added it to my ever-growing review pile.  It took quite a while to come up for review, but while sitting in line I kept looking at it again.  There was something about the cover... I was really eager to start reading it.  It's too bad it took me this long... but I'm SO happy I finally read it! High school senior, Rose, has the ideal life... she's the beautiful head cheerleader, dating the gorgeous soccer player everyone drools over, and BFFs with THE most popular girl in school that basically owns the place.  What could go wrong with a life this perfect?  Ummm... one night at 2 am you get arrested for arson.  An arson that you didn't commit.  Okay, so someone framed her... but who?  Who would hate her so much that they want her to go to jail for a crime she didn't commit?  Could it be her childhood "friend" and neighbor that she continuously has a prank war with?  Maybe another student that hated her for her perfect life?  Someone who wanted to steal away her boyfriend? And that's where the mystery in this story begins.  I was constantly guessing at who the culprit was.  Just think: YA contemporary mixed with a chick lit mystery book.  It was so fun!  I was so sure I knew who it was (even telling my husband to set my guess in stone), only to come across another twist.  I must have changed my guess four times... and still I was completely thrown for a loop at the end. If you're looking for a YA read with suspense, fun, and a mystery twist, this is your book!  I would definitely recommend Torched.  With wonderfully-developed characters you will love... and love to hate... this is one you don't want to miss!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I had a great time reading this book. Typically I'm not a YA reader, but I was looking for an engaging travel book a couple months back and a friend suggested that I pick this up. Boy was I glad they suggested it, because I couldn't put it down. Not only did it just make the airplane and car rides fly by, but it was a really fun book and I really got into it. I think I read the second half of the book in a single sitting, because I couldn't put it down -- I had to find out who framed Rose and if she and Paxton were going to get together. And I certainly didn't see the plot twist coming. Anyway, I definitely recommend picking up this book -- particularly if you're looking for something to suck you in and really make the time fly by (which is the quality I certainly look for when reading while in transit). I'd say that this would be a great book for around age 13 and up (I'm 28). Check it out!
majibookshelf More than 1 year ago
I am really glad that Andrea Lynn Colt contacted us regarding this book. I was immediately interested in getting into the story. First of all, I love how the cover is related to the actual story, unlike many other books out there. It's amazing how they got the heart which is because of the romance, and the fire because of the mystery in the book. Anyways, this story does talk about something being torched, or burnt down. The main protagonist, Rose, leads a great life. Part of the popular crowd, captain of the cheerleading squad, a perfect boyfriend and top grades. You can probably say that Rose leads a normal life, apart from her famous prank war with Paxton Callaway. Rose and Paxton have been constantly pranking each other since the eighth grade. Despising each other, they always try to find new ways to make the other suffer. One day, the police wake up Rose in the middle of the night, claiming her guilty of arson. Not knowing anything, Rose is sure someone out there is framing her, Paxton Callaway being her number 1 suspect. It was crazy how well the crime was planned, and Rose had no way to prove that she was innocent, but it was great to see her not willing to give up to clear her name.  What's shocking is that when Rose talks to Pax, it turns out he was in the hospital that day with an ankle injury. I don't want to spoil anymore things, but somehow, Rose allowed Paxton to help her find out who framed her. There were many confusing things in the book. Rose's boyfriend Ryan, her best friend Alina, even her parents. I loved how we got to know so many characters. I think the reason why Torched felt so realistic was because for once, there were many characters involved! The parents, the neighbors, the friends, the friends sisters and brothers, it was all so awesome! One of the other things I loved in Torched, was the character development. Everyone was involved in the book, and you got to hear so many opinions, and so many characters changed during this journey. Rose and Paxton's relationship was so fun to read about! Especially since they were best friends when they were young. Also, the mystery was not disappointing, because it was not predictable (YAY)!!! I never even once predicted who the culprit was, and that's what always makes a mystery book awesome. I really recommend Torched to all young adult readers out there! It's a bit of fun, romance, and mystery! I will keep an eye out for future books by Andrea Lynn Colt.
TheAutumnReview More than 1 year ago
What a fun read! Seriously. I had fun reading this book. It has a little bit of romance, a little bit of mystery, and really sends a good message.  Rose was a bit snobby. She had a pretty good life; she's popular, and has a great boyfriend. One night, everything changes. She gets arrested for arson, but she's being framed. To top it off, it appears that her loving boyfriend has cheated on her. Could her life get worse? Yes. It could. Her best friend turns her back on her and her parents are less than supportive. What starts off as a perfect fairy tale life, ends up being a train wreck with several life lessons.  Rose learns not only who her true friends are, but sees her parents in a different light. I have to say that her parents really ticked me off. Her dad was so focused on pleasing her mom, rather than helping his daughter though a major crisis. Then, her best friend really made me mad too. If it were me, I don't know if I could have moved past that betrayal. Rose also learns that her behavior in the past was less than stellar. She wants to turn a new leaf and not treat people the way she used to. I admired that and felt that it was a good message. Showed growth in her character. In the light of all this turmoil though is Paxton.  Paxton was, at one time, her best friend, but has since become an enemy. They've played pranks on each other for years. Rose suspects that Paxton is the one who has set her up, but he ends up helping her find the real arsonist. I really really loved Paxton.  The story kept me on my toes. I had so many different theories about "who done it" the whole time. I had a list in my head of all the suspects, but one kept coming up in my mind. Only because it's usually someone you least expect. Was I right? I was on the right track, but wasn't positive until right near the end.  Torched was kind of a surprise for me. I knew I'd like it based on the description and the reviews that I've read, but it really did capture my attention. I'd defintely recommend it to my YA readers. It's fun, flirty, and overall enjoyable. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago