When Love Comes My Way

When Love Comes My Way

3.7 4
by Lori Copeland
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

From bestselling author Lori Copeland, When Love Comes My Way is a love story about redemption, forgiveness, and renewed spiritual awakenings set against the backdrop of scenic Upper Peninsula, Michigan, in the days when pine was king.

Michigan, 1873?As Tess Wakefield wakes from a frightening wagon accident, she discovers she has lost her memories. In

…  See more details below

Overview

From bestselling author Lori Copeland, When Love Comes My Way is a love story about redemption, forgiveness, and renewed spiritual awakenings set against the backdrop of scenic Upper Peninsula, Michigan, in the days when pine was king.

Michigan, 1873?As Tess Wakefield wakes from a frightening wagon accident, she discovers she has lost her memories. In her recovery, she loses her heart as well to handsome lumberjack Jake Lannigan. It's not a two-way street, though. Jake thinks he knows exactly who she is?the spoiled Wakefield Timber heir?but he believes the accident provides the means to show her that she has a responsibility to replant the trees and not to merely invest her inheritance opening another of her silly millinery shops.

Then he slowly he begins to fall in love with her. Jake wants to tell Tess the truth, but before he can her true identity is uncovered, and then both of them find the emotional stakes too high. Will God intervene and show this headstrong couple that only He in His wisdom could have paired them together?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
In 1873 Michigan, Tess Wakefield has lost her memory after a wagon accident. Lumberjack Jake Lannigan is convinced she is the heir to the Wakefield Timber fortune. Tess begins to fall for Jake, but he wants to convince her to spend her inheritance replanting trees. What will happen when Tess's true identity is revealed? VERDICT This heartwarming story shows Copeland ("The Dakota Diaries" and "Brides of the West" series) doing what she does best, writing inspirational historical romances. A good choice for fans of Lori Wick and Lauraine Snelling.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780736930215
Publisher:
Harvest House Publishers
Publication date:
06/01/2012
Series:
Dakota Diaries Series, #4
Edition description:
Expanded
Pages:
304
Product dimensions:
5.58(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.76(d)

Related Subjects

Videos

Meet the Author

Lori Copeland is the author of more than 100 titles, including A Kiss for Cade and Under the Summer Sky. Her beloved novel Stranded in Paradise is now a Hallmark Channel Original Movie. Her stories have developed a loyal following among her rapidly growing fans in the inspirational market. She lives in the beautiful Ozarks with her husband, Lance.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

When Love Comes My Way 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
RtBBlog More than 1 year ago
Reviewed by JoAnne Book provided by the publisher for review Review originally posted at Romancing the Book This is an inspirational historical romance that takes place in the 1870′s that kept my interest from beginning to end although I wasn’t sure at the start that it would. It took about 25 pages before I felt the pull into the storyline and my attention totally captured. Once I got past the scene setting and background information it was an easy read that had all the elements I like – great character and plot development, friends, romance, love, and adventure. There was some sadness and tears but also laugh out loud moments along with several happily ever afters. Since this was an inspirational story there were references to God along with many prayers to him for various reasons but it enhanced the plot and didn’t detract from it. The descriptions of the logging camp and surrounding areas were so vivid I felt I was there. Tess wasn’t very likable in the beginning especially when learning about her society life in Philadelphia and desires through her letters to Jake Lannigan, the foreman at the timber company she owned in Michigan. She also wasn’t very endearing on the wagon ride to the camp. Once I got to “know” her, her strengths came out and she wasn’t the air headed socialite I thought she was. She and Jake had immediate chemistry and fought like cats and dogs but they both resisted it until the very end although there were signs of weakening on both sides earlier on.  The epilogue gave nice closure, but I would have loved a few more chapters. I haven’t read books by Copeland before but if this is her caliber of writing with a light hand on the inspirational side I will be adding her to my TBR pile. Favorite Quote:  “It is true, why is it so hard for you to understand why building a new schoolhouse is important to me? I won’t be here forever, but like your dream, I want to leave something for future generations It’s important to me!” She was a dismal failure at teaching, so she had to leave something behind to prove that she’d been there.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
weatherlover1 More than 1 year ago
Jake is in charge of the lumber company that Tess owns. He had been good friends with her grandfather before he died. Now Tess wants to sell the company so she can buy more hat stores. Tess is coming to the Lumber camp in the U.P of Michigan to close the sale and Jake is not happy. On the way to the camp along with the new school teacher there is a bad wagon accident and Tess is the only survivor. Tess can not remember who she is and since she did not tell Jake when she was coming many thing she is the school teacher. Jake keeps it to himself that she might be Tess and tells her she is the school teacher and does not treat her very nice. Even though Tess does not like all the things Jake has her do she does them with out complaining and slowly Jake finds himself falling in love with her. But when Tess’s old life comes front and center will they find true love or will their differences keep them apart? This was a fun book to read. I live in the U.P of Michigan so it was neat to read a book based here. What I liked: I enjoyed the fact this book took place close to where I live. Made it more interesting. I really liked how Jake and Tess interacted. I found myself laughing at their antics a lot. What I did not like: This book was slow getting going. Thankfully it picked up about half way through. I also felt the way Tess and her fiancé handled things was kind of unbelievable. I expected a little more excitement from that storyline. The other thing I really did not like was the cover. I just did not feel the guy and lady where Jake and Tess. He does not even look like a lumberjack and they don’t look like people from the late 1800’s. Over all I did enjoy the book and found myself really drawn into it the last quarter of the book. I just wish the first 75% had been a little more exciting. But the fun banter between the characters helped me give it a higher rating.
wfnren More than 1 year ago
Tess Wakefield is on her way to Michigan in 1873 to close down the Wakefield Timber camp that she inherited from her Grandfather. She left the camp at a very young age with her Mother, a few years later her Mother died and Talbot Wellington-Kent, a family friend, became her guardian until she became of age. Tess was more interested in staying in Philadelphia running her hat shop and opening more, this is with encouragement from Talbot, who is now her fiance, he also agrees that she should sell the timber camp. After going as far as she could by train she boards a rickety old wagon along with Fedelia Yardley, who is to be the new schoolteacher at the camp, and a few men. On the way the wheel came off of the wagon and everyone was thrown into the icy river, two people managed to survive, Tess and the driver. Jake Lannigan, the camp foreman called Big Say by everyone, knowing the new schoolteacher was to arrive on that wagon, assumed that was the survivor. He did know that Tess was scheduling a trip but didn't know when to expect her. Fedelia was unconscious for a while and lost her memory. The only luggage found was Fedelia's and the woman didn't have an engagement ring on, further assuring Jake that this was Fedelia, although in his mind he really didn't think so, he felt it was Tess. Upon awaking, everyone around her told her she was Fedelia, she knew the name sounded strange, but didn't know anything so she accepted it. Several days later she was shown her 'tiny' room in the corner of the bunkhouse for the 200 or so jacks. Oh she had privacy, it was enclosed, but it was tiny! Even though she still hadn't regained her memory she started teaching school, but she couldn't figure out why she would become a schoolteacher when some of the kids seemed to know more than she did. Tess spent almost as much time, if not more, studying for her lessons as the children did after she assigned them. And the kids, they were ruffians! Tess didn't give up though, she even learned a lot about the timber business and soon loved where she was in her life, even if she did think she was Fedelia. Not only did she love her life, she was falling in love with Jake and he was falling in love with her. Will she ever remember who she is and will Jake ever be sure of who she is? If the truth is ever known will she hate Jake for not being honest with her and return to Philadelphia and Talbot? Has Talbot just forgotten her so he can live in comfort with her money or will he go to Wakefield Timber camp looking for her? Lori did not disappoint, she pulled me in and I had to read late into the night. You will find yourself laughing and loving this book. Highly recommended. Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the NetGalley book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”