Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of Uglies

Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of Uglies

by Scott Westerfeld, Craig Phillips

Paperback(Original)

$8.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 23

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of Uglies 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 91 reviews.
MissPrint More than 1 year ago
Sometimes, when a book series gets really popular, writers will try to cash in by writing unauthorized guides to the story or books about the "science" behind popular fantasy titles. Then, rarely, you get a book like Bogus to Bubbly: An Insider's Guide to the World of Uglies (2008) that was actually written by the ultimate insider: Scott Westerfeld. Uglies is a series of books (one trilogy and a companion book) about a world in the future where in order to prevent war and strife everyone gets plastic surgery to be beautiful and live long. Everyone else, by contrast, is ugly. That is the super, super short explanation of the series which is more complex. I don't recommending reading this guide before the series because it contains spoilers and, truth be told, unless you know you like the books this guide will not be that interesting. Westerfeld explains a lot of things in this book. He discusses where the idea for the story came from, as well as how he thought of skintennas and the Rusties. Parts of the book also explain technology, history, and culture surrounding the worlds created in the Uglies series. What I liked about the book was that it mentioned a lot about the writing process. While Westerfeld himself notes that it's hard to trace the origin of ideas, this book does try. It's interesting to read how a dentist visit inspired several aspects of the book while, thankfully, we are not the entire inspiration behind the Rusties. Explanations of names and slanguage were also very informative and interesting. I was less enthralled by the technology information. It was fun to hear about the science of beauty, but the information about magnetic levitation, hoverboards and inventions got a bit, well, technical. Although I fully admit that could be me since Uglies is one of the few straight sci-fi series I read (I usually go in for fantasy which, having dragons and what not, is guaranteed to be less technical). There is also a bit of repetition with the books revealing much of what Westerfeld puts together in Bogus to Bubbly but that is probably inevitable with an insider's guide like this. Aside from content, I liked the book's organization. It's written like a real guide with cross-referencing between sections and an index. The book also includes illustrations and maps which helped a lot to visualize the city as it was meant to be seen. While the entire book might not be read-worthy for every fan, it's very likely at least one nagging question about the series will be answered in this book. Mine, for instance, being whether belly sensors were indeed belly button rings or not. Readers will also leave the guide with a new insight into how the writing process might work. On top of that, Bogus to Bubbly also includes a preview of Westerfeld's new series Leviathan. My only serious regret is that the Awesome Librarian Clique only warranted passing mention (though since they didn't factor in the books at all, perhaps that is to be expected).
JessicaDay More than 1 year ago
This was an awsome book! I enjoyed reading it and it has a lot of fun info from Uglies!
Mrs.JasperWhitlock-Hale More than 1 year ago
This book was pretty helpful for understanding the world of Uglies better. I learned a lot, and really enjoyed Bogus to Bubbly. Good job, Scott!
Guest More than 1 year ago
I can't wait to get my hands on this one! Scott Westerfeld is an amazing writer, and I totally recommend all of his titles! I have no idea how I'm gonna wait for October!
emma-bear_ More than 1 year ago
Bogus to Bubbly by Scott Westerfeld, was the complete guide to the world that Tally and Aya live in. I recommend that you read the series, then this. This will answer all of the questions that you have about the gadgets, surgery, and the whole world itself. This is a good book, but you absolutely have to read the entire Uglies series first.
smokesignls More than 1 year ago
Perhaps I read this out of order... I read all four of the books from the series, and THEN bought Bogus to Bubbly. It may be fun for a pre-teen to have when going through the series, but after you've read the series, it doesn't add much. There were a few cool things about the writer's though process, notes on the cover pictures, etc. Would have liked more along those lines, less about how to hoverboard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For all of you who botherd to open this page i accually really liked this book and you it should be zane. Swewxw
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The only thing that's bad is the size/quality of the pictures. I learned a lot about the Uglies world.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was interesting to read. It was nice to dive deeper into the world of pretties, uglies, and extras. What I found most interesting was the science behind being "pretty". You should definately check this out if you loved the Uglies series!
Maplepie98 More than 1 year ago
Everyone whoever read a good book always wannts more like it and this series was so great anyone who read it would be constantly trying to find a book half as good as the series. But Scott Westerfeld had to make it even more impossible to find a book even an eighth as good when adding Bugus to Bubbly to end the most fantastic series. This book was full of all the right information, just great.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I first read the preveiw of the book on my nook. I was utterly dissappointed when I realized I wouldn't be able to finish my "Guide to My Series 9 Hoverboard" until I bought the book... so I did! Yup, it's tatally worth it (If you're totally intrigued) Once finished learning how to work a hoverboard I took a history class on ourselves, (the Rusties) and learned of our "big crash". I have to say, if it weren't for this book the Uglies, Pretties, Specials, and Extras would have been wasted on me. I DEFINITEELY reccomend this!!!!
Ravenclaww More than 1 year ago
In this guide by Scott Westerfeld, it explains how the Uglies world came to be and it made sense because if you think about it, it is where we are headed right now. But putting the depressing end of the world aside this small guide taught us a lot about the world in 300 years. It gave a short summary of what happened in the novels to refresh our memories along with some interesting facts that were not in the novels. It came with some extra stuff like Extras but from Hiro's point of view and how a hoverboard works and how some of their inventions are beginning to come to life in our actual time. It is a great read for the day when you want to snuggle up, having read the series before of course, and learn some interesting new things. The way he wrote was very witty and made engeneering and science sound exciting.
The_Shadow412 More than 1 year ago
new look at uglies. shows you all the gadgets and stories behind the characters and covers. like it.
aidyn_loves_miguel More than 1 year ago
In this readers guide to the bestseller series, UGLIES, you can see the inside story of everything from the crash of the rusties to the mechanics of the ever envied hover board. Scott Westerfeld informs us of all the little details we coulodn't read between the lines in the series and keeps you just as enticed from cover to cover in this guide as he does in his ever adored Uglies series.
Avid_Reader101 More than 1 year ago
I think that by making a guide, that is deffinitely a great way to end the series. This book shows you secrets from Tally's city to Japan in Aya's city. It has all the secrets of science and beauty and magnetism. It has all the cliques and a little surprise. (The first draft of Extras. INCLUDING HIRO NOT AYA!!) Read this book it you want more from Uglies and if you have ALOT of questions! They all get answered right in this 213 page Uglies guide.
CoalPaw on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
To be perfectly honest, I wish I hadn't gotten this book. It might be more worth-reading if I was more interested in technology (which was basically what the whole thing was about), but in actuality I thought it was extremely long-winded for such a little book. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone not extremely into sci-fi. Also, I got the impression more than once that Scott Westerfeld was a woman. I don't know why, but it definitely seemed that way.P.S. : Don't let this sway anyone from the Uglies series. Those books were really good.
skstiles612 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
One of my all time favorite series is Scott Westerfeld's "Uglies". I was so thrilled that I bought a set for our morning school book club. I am now down to four books because students have loved them so much they have kept them. In Bogus to Bubbly, Westerfeld answers all of those questions we had as we read the series. How did he come up with the names and the slang words he used in his books? How did he create the science based items in his book and what are the chances that we will see them in the future. All of these questions and more are answered in this book. It is a definite for anyone who loves the "Uglies" series.
bluesalamanders on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm classifying this as non-fiction even though it's about half non-fiction and half fictional non-fiction. In Bogus to Bubbly, Westerfeld talks about how he came up with the idea for his Uglies series and for various things in the books, including the slang, the names, and the technologies. He also includes "instruction manuals" for some technologies, like the hoverboards, and "history" passages, such as how future generations would view what happened in the books. It was an interesting, if quick, read.
terriko on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A companion volume to the Uglies series, this is a fun insight into the creation of the world and the people in it.
KeFu0718 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This book helps to understand all the other ugly books. There are puictures that help ease the reading too!
drinalu on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This was a cool insite into the author's mind. I liked reading about how he got some of the ideas, also he pointed out things I didn't quite catch while reading the series, so I'm glad I read this book. But once is enough.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Yeah and for the People who like Zane click yes. For thoughs who like David click No. ( I personally thing Zane's the cute one) ~Lil Mermaid~
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Page
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago