Forever My Hero

Forever My Hero

by Sharon Sala

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, May 30

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Forever My Hero 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
gaele 4 days ago
AudioBook Review Stars: Overall 4 Narration 4 Story 4 There’s a hurricane menacing the small town of Blessings, and everyone is frantically working to ensure their own (and their neighbors) survival and safety. Like small towns everywhere, Blessings has its own cast of ‘characters’ who appear regularly and add that sense of community and constancy to the series, even as they also reinforce the ‘everyone knows your business’ vibe. And that’s not unusual for this little town, it seems to be a place where the grieving and wounded come to heal, and often they find more than simple hope and peace here. Such is the case for the couple highlighted in this story. Dan came to Blessings and left his high-powered legal career in the rear-view mirror when his wife and son were killed in a car bomb meant for him. He’s not interested in relationships, and while his own sense of honor (and job as a property manager) won’t allow him to remove himself from the day-to-day interactions, he’s determined to keep them superficial. He’s not going to have someone he loves ripped away from him again. Surprisingly, a bomb played a large part in Alice’s relocation to Blessing with her children. Her dead husband blew up their house (it was an accident of his own making) and his family dumped her and the children in the town. After her years with his addictions, while arriving penniless and homeless with children in a new town wasn’t ideal, it was a chance for her to ‘make up’ for their early lives and point them all toward a new future. With a job in the local hardware store and the kids settling in to school and friends, she’s got reason to be thankful that Blessings was the end of the journey with her former in-laws, and things are starting to look up. She’s not really interested in anther relationship, but Dan is intriguing and their friendly interactions when he comes to the store make her smile. The hurricane (and Alice’s injury) bring them closer together than one would expect, and the friends to more vibe is strong. Of course, it’s a small town and the gossip is rife, resulting in Alice’s daughter being bullied at school, and the kids are still feeling the loss of their father and the terrible way in which they came to town. Here is where Dan seems to excel – not pushing but allowing them their moments to ‘feel’ everything that confuses them, angers them and even gives them the space and place to feel without worrying what others will think. What emerges is Dan making the ‘moves’ to rescue Alice and her family from the dangers around them (hurricane, in-laws and bullies) when he wasn’t able to save his own. And Alice, despite her determination to make it on her own, is intrigued and sees the possibilities, even if she’s not sure she’s interested. Fortunately for them both (and the story) Alice is upfront about her concerns, desires and dreams - forcing Dan to do the same and honestly discuss the possibilities and their growing attraction. With several insets from other characters that are familiar from earlier books, a bunch of moments where breath is held and outcomes aren’t always clear, the story provides a realistic-feeling path to a second chance for them both. A bit over-reliant on head-hopping that isn’t always clearly delineated, it frequently took a few lines before a moment was ‘clear’, but overall, this fits the mold that Sala has created for this series. Narration for this story is provided by Amy Rubinate, and I was pleasantly s
LEH0644 1 days ago
When Dan Amos lost his family, he left Texas and his memories behind and moved to the small town of Blessings, Georgia. He met a young widow there who brought laughter and joy back into his life. The fact that she had two great children was an added bonus. When Blessings gets clobbered with a killer storm, Alice and her children take shelter in Dan’s house. He realizes he wants the house to echo with the children’s laughter and asks Alice to marry him.
Evampire9 4 months ago
The people of Blessings, Georgia are faced with Hurricane Franny as she barrels down on the coast and two widows find their way to each other. Dan Amos lost his family when they inadvertently got in the way of a death threat meant for him and Alice has been disillusioned by marriage. As the town prepares for the worst, Dan opens his heart and his home. This sweet and emotionally gripping romance is a truly inspirational read that readers can really sink their teeth into as it moves them tears or to smile as it warms their heart. The characters are strong, compelling and easily draw readers into the story as they Dan and Alice hearts begin to heal and accept that they can still love and have a future. The relationship is quite emotional and readers can’t help but empathize which causes a few tears as well as a few chuckles and smiles. Alice has two children – a boy that surprises readers and a little girl that delights readers as they both charm their way into hearts. The plot is steady paced and spotlights all of the happenings in the town as they prepare for the storm which gives readers a well-rounded and fully informed view of how weather the natural disaster. This is truly inspiring as townsfolk come together to help each other while it also shows how Karma can be quite spiteful. Readers are held hostage throughout this heartwarming romance as Dan and Alice get a second chance at love.
MLH438 7 months ago
Don Amos and Alice Conroy have both known their share of tragedy and heartache. Don lost his wife and son in a car explosion that had been intended for him. Alice's husband was handling meth and was killed in an explosion that blew up their home. Both have come to Blessings, Georgia for a new start. Forever My Hero is another installment in Sharon Sala's Blessings, Georgia series but, while I've read and enjoyed many of her books, this wasn't one of my favorites. It has a lot going for it, but the romance takes a back seat to the rest of the story about an impending hurricane and its affect on the town and its inhabitants. The romance between Don and Alice was palpable, and I enjoyed the development of Don's relationship with Alice's children. However, the constant switching to what was happening to other characters made for a disjointed reading experience. I received a copy from the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
MTCKMason 7 months ago
Sharon Sala has brought us back to Blessings, Georgia. It centers around Danner Amos and Alice Conroy. The town has a mystery to solve with the Elliot Graham was found hurt near Gray Goose Lake. It is hampered by the lack of evidence and the impending hurricane. Dan and Alice find purpose again after tragedy strikes them both. They are more drawn to each other as events put them together when Alice hurts her hand and her daughter gets lost during a school field trip. We see familiar faces from Blessings and how they each react to the hurricane. Sharon has given us a glimpse into the lives of the people of Blessings, Georgia. She delights her readers with tales from the familiar characters from past stories and we get to catch up with them. She cleverly intertwines the story between her main characters with everyone else who lives there and how their actions affect each other. It was nice to see and remember everyone and their stories. I look forward to reading about the people of Blessings, Georgia. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own. I would like to thank NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca for this privilege.
Barb-TRC 7 months ago
Forever My Hero by Sharon Sala is the 7th book in her Blessings, Georgia series. Having read all the books in this series, I looked forward to reading this book, and to no surprise, I loved it. Sharon Sala always gives us wonderful feel good romances and a sweet couple we root hard for. Alice Conroy, our heroine, has had a rough time, especially when she first moved to Blessings, Georgia with her two children, Charlie and Patty. Her husband was killed in an explosion making meth, and his family tossed her and the children out in Blessings, with no financial help. Alice has since found a home, and now works at the hardware store, and the children go to the local school. Dan Amos, our hero, moved to Blessings, after his wife and child were killed in a car explosion meant for him, as Dan was a prosecuting attorney at that time. He now oversees rental properties, ensuring people are taken care of. Since he does handyman work, he visits the hardware store where Alice works often. In a short time they will become friends, especially after Alice injures her hand, and Dan is the one who takes her to the hospital. When Alice’s daughter, Patty gets hurt while on a school outing, Dan is the hero, saving Patty, as well as the Conroy’s dog. This continues to push them closer, as they have a similar tragic history. When Alice learns the Patty was being bullied, she steps up to protect her daughter, and when the other children’s family comes to apologize, it is Dan who stands up to them about bullying and the threats if they do not deal with this situation with their children. With a major hurricane about to hit the entire town of Blessings, Dan makes sure that Alice, the children and another local resident move to his properties, which is safer and has a generator. It was fun to watch Dan and Alice falling hard for each other, and both getting past the tragedies that followed them to Blessings. What follows is a heartwarming & emotional story that touched our hearts on many levels. I loved Dan, who was a wonderful, sweet, loving and understanding man, as well as being wonderful with the children. It was a joy to see them have a second chance at love in Blessings, Georgia. Sharon Sala writes another fabulous story that had us hooked from the start. She amazes me that she continually gives us such great couples that we become invested in, with each and every book. Forever My Hero was a sweet romance, with a great couple, wonderful secondary characters that we love. If you enjoy a pure romance, wonderful characters, great couples, and a small town atmosphere, then you should be reading this series. Forever My Hero was a wonderful read, written so very well by Sharon Sala.
Cali-Jewel 7 months ago
Could not get enough of this emotionally thrilling, heartwarming and action packed romantic journey for two very wounded hearts that found healing arms even though they were not looking for them...... Such an uplifting and engaging story that had me rapidly turning pages and lost in the world unfolding before me.
boclairedesigns 7 months ago
It was great to return to Blessings, Georgia and catch up with all the townspeople. The book jumps around a bit checking in on different people from previous stories in the series which makes it a bit disjointed. It took a while to get to Dan and Alice's story. However, once it did I thoroughly enjoyed it. Both Dan and Alice's spouses died as a result of explosions, and they have a lot of history to accept and start a new relationship. I love Me Sala's descriptions of the town. You can imagine walking down Main St and seeing the businesses which helps focus on the story. I would have preferred the characters were woven into Dan and Alice's story rather than having chapters dedicated to them. It would have raised my rating to 4 stars! I received a free ARC eBook from Netgalley and the publisher for an honest review.
Bette313 7 months ago
This was a heartwarming small town romance that returned us to Blessings, GA as the townspeople prepare for the arrival of a hurricane. There is a lot going on in this story and you bounce around from character to character but the core of the story involves Dan Amos and Alice Conroy. Both of these characters have been hit hard by life but as they become friends they slowly help the other heal and learn to live and love again. It's beautiful to watch as their relationship begins to evolve. The book is very well done and I think everyone will enjoy. Definitely a recommended read.
paytonpuppy 7 months ago
What a truly wonderful addition to the Blessing, Georgia series. There are so many heartfelt moments in this story that it is hard to pick one. Such a “blessed” community that takes care of their own. Alice Conroy was dropped off in Blessing with her two children and only the clothes on their backs, by her husband’s family, after the death of her husband. She was fortunate that she was able to find a job and a place to live for her little family. Dan Amos, former lawyer, is now taking care of rental properties for Aidan Payne and has seen Alice around town. He has not been interested in a relationship since his wife and son were murdered by someone who was trying to kill him. As he steps in to help Alice and her children, when they are in need, he finds himself wanting to be there for them…all the time. When a hurricane heads their way, Dan will protect not only Alice and her family, but other town members as they pull together to try to stay alive. Ms. Sala writes such wonderful stories and characters, characters that you wish you knew and lived in your town. I received an advance review copy at no cost and without obligation for an honest review. (by paytonpuppy)