I Owe You One

I Owe You One

by Sophie Kinsella

Paperback(Reprint)

$13.60 $17.00 Save 20% Current price is $13.6, Original price is $17. You Save 20%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

I Owe You One: A Novel 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 60 reviews.
KMorgan73 More than 1 year ago
My Not So Perfect Life was the first book from Kinsella that I read. And very minor issues aside I loved it. Then along came Surprise Me, which I didn't love. Now there's I Owe You One which falls somewhere in between. While the book wasn't close to perfect it wasn't horrible either. Fixie Farr is a fixer. If anyone has a problem or there's something she see's as a problem she's there to fix it. I guess this is a good quality to have but at times it seemed as if Fixie just went too far or was just too oblivious to the fact that you can't fix everything. Name in point: Ryan. This character was an absolute jerk and I'm not sure why nobody could see this. I was sick of this character soon after he made his appearance and couldn't wait for him to be done with. On the other hand, I liked Seb and liked the chemistry between him and Fixie from the beginning. I liked how their relationship progressed and how genuine he was. He seemed the most genuine and normal person in the book. As to the story itself I found myself liking it from the start and didn't want to put it down. Then I found it a bit tedious to read. The actions of Jake and Nichole, Fixie's siblings, got on my nerves and I didn't really feel connected to them at all. This made the story a bit boring at times and sometimes the dialogue seemed to border on rambling. The premise of the story seemed to be a good one but in my opinion the book could have been edited down a lot and been just as good, if not better. So with three Kinsella novels on my "read" list, I've decided she's a hit-or-miss author for me. If you've never read anything by her don't start with this book, it's not her best. Grab a copy of My Not So Perfect Life. You may even find that you owe me one. I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley and was not required to write a review. All opinions are mine.
MamaHendo 4 months ago
Fixie Farr has always been a fixer. Have a problem with your coffee maker? Fixie will fix it. Need help convincing your husband of something? Fixie will fix it. Have a crooked vase in your office? Fixie can't help but fix it. No problem too big or small. Only question is who is helping Fixie sort out the things in her life? A chance encounter at a coffee shop brings a handsome man into Fixie's life. After she steps in to solve a problem for him he gives Fixie an IOU, something she can cash in at any time for anything. When Ryan, Fixie's life long crush, returns to London after losing everything he had in Hollywood she is determined to fix things for him and win his heart for good this time. Fixie's brother Jake suggests she should cash in her IOU to get Ryan's life back on track but could a small favor in a coffee shop really be equal to getting someone a job? Will Fixie finally learn to put herself before others or is she bound to live by the Farr "family first" motto for life? "I Owe You One" is another fun and refreshing read by Sophie Kinsella. In true Kinsella fashion, Fixie begins as a disheveled heroine but evolves into a stronger, more confident version of herself. Who doesn't love a feel-good, happy ending? Kinsella fans, this is one for the TBR list.
LC112648LC 4 months ago
I Owe - You Owe .... Light, airy reading - perfect for kick back enjoyment. It kept me wanting to go on to what was going to happen next. Not as much funny parts in this book which is a trademark for Sophie Kinsella. A little deeper than her normal books. However, I enjoy everything she writes.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Very cute story
Anonymous 6 months ago
This was my first novel from Sophie Kinsella and I have to be honest, it didn't make me want to run out and by every novel she's written. While the summary on the back cover certainly enticed me to read, once I started the novel, it was a little challenging to get through. Fixie, the main protagonist, of the novel spends the majority of the story being walked all over by her family and the dialogue between her and her family members was sometime hard to get through, as it comes across as rambling. Also, the various scenarios with her family members became very repetitive. If I hadn't purchased this novel in an airport bookstore, I would've returned it to the store for something else. However, I was satisfied with the ending which is why I'm giving 3 stars instead of 2.
AnnaLincoln More than 1 year ago
Every main character in Sophie Kinsella's books starts out as an actual mess, but then they grow and are able to get their lives together (+pick up a nice man on the way). I honestly was recluctant to pick up this book, but it was so much fun and made me realize how much I have missed Sophie's books. This book is funny and Fixie, despite being very naïve in the beginning, becomes aware of this. It was very frustrating seeing everyone walk all over her, but that made the ending that much better. *Thank you to NetGalley for an eARC in exchange for an honest review*
AdelineMirren More than 1 year ago
This was such a fun read. All the characters are well-developed, and Fixie is an adorably quirky main character, who is very realistic and likable. You really get to see her grow and develop throughout the book. The first half of the book is a little slow to get going, but once you get the middle, the plot really advances. I loved the cute development of Fixie and Seb's relationship. Overall, a really interesting read that kept me turning the pages.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sophie Kinsella has written many novels but this is the first book of hers that I have read. I give it a solid 3.5 stars. The story is about relationships including those with friends, family and romantic partners. Main characters include the three Farr siblings; there is self-centered Jake, dreamy and unfocused Nicole and the main protagonist, Fixie, who earned her nickname by, you guessed it, always wanting to fix things. But can she? How much should she fix for others and how much for herself? Early in the novel, Fixie fixes something big for Seb. She saves his work computer from a flood. He, in return, writes an IOU on a coffee sleeve, vowing that he will do something for her. A big favor is asked for. There is a lot of score keeping as other favors occur. Because of this, over the course of the novel, the author asks the reader to consider how transactional relationships should or should not be. Even if you know the answer, you may enjoy following the story of Seb and Fixie. A major setting in the book is Fixie's family business, a housewares store. I am pretty sure that as you read the novel you will wish that you had access to the goods and could shop there. I enjoyed this novel. I found myself reading more quickly the closer I got to the end. The Farr siblings change and grow over the course of the book and, even though you know how it will end, getting there is entertaining. If you enjoy light fiction, you might want to give this one a try. Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher for this read. All opinions are my own.
lghiggins More than 1 year ago
I have read and enjoyed a number of books by Sophie Kinsella who is perhaps most famous for her Shopaholic series. Then I read one that just didn’t have the same zing and humor, so I entered I Owe You One with some trepidation. I am pleased to report that Kinsella’s latest book lives up to her standards and my expectations. At first I was a little concerned there would be too much predictability. The main character’s name is Fixie, derived from her penchant for fixing things ranging from the placement of objects to personal relationships. OCD is definitely in play as she struggles not to rearrange things or declare her every thought. As Fixie’s high school heartthrob reenters her life, the reader is watching a foreseeable train wreck: “No, Fixie, don't do it!” The plot leaves the anticipated pathway soon after with lots of surprises in store. It does not focus solely on Fixie’s love life. Fixie also struggles with family relationships which are closely tied with the family business. You will like Fixie if for no other reason than she tries so hard in everything she does. She feels like a failure, is loaded with unwarranted guilt, and carries the torch for making everything turn out right and keeping everyone happy—a big burden for one person. There are many other interesting major and minor characters you will meet, but not all of them are likable, of course. The setting is West London where the denizens range from scruffy to posh. The book flows nicely with lots of humor and is a fast and enjoyable read. I would like to extend my thanks to netgalley.com and to Dial Press for giving me the opportunity to read this book in exchange for an honest review.
readinggal609 More than 1 year ago
Fixie is know for her compulsive need to fix things and following their family motto family first. Her family is Farr from perfect and everyone has some kind of issue that they need to overcome. Fixie has issues standing up for herself especially when it comes to her family and to her long time crush Ryan ( her brothers best friend). Things start out with a stranger asking Fixie to watch his laptop and Fixie saves it from being destroyed. He is grateful and writes her an IOU which they pass back and fourth a few times. They start a relationship and things fall apart abruptly which causes her to reevaluate some things and she becomes Ninja Fixie. This were the story takes off for me and I finally got into the story. I really had a hard time with the first half of the book but did have strong feelings for all of the characters just not positive. The second half of the book was a lot better and I am glad I pushed through and finished it.
Mamato5Chickies More than 1 year ago
FINALLY the Sophie Kinsella I know and love is back! I have been a fan for years and years but I hate to admit that I have not been a fan of recent books. I am so happy to say that I Owe You One was fantastic! Kinsella is the queen of writing characters you fall in love with (despite their faults and because of their quirks) and this book is no exception. Fixie can't help fixing things. She tries her best, but she just can't stop. But what if she is what needs fixing? What if she's stuck in a rut and her life needs a little shaking up? This book is full of an entertaining and memorable cast of characters. From Nicole, Fixie's sister- who TOTALLY reminds me of Alexis from Schitt's Creek- to a store clerk with a dirty mind...this book made me laugh out loud. It also frustrated me in equal measures. Fixie needs a backbone- stat! I'm happy to say that by the end of the book I was literally cheering her on. Especially when she BURNS Briony with that zinger. GO FIXIE! If you just want to simply feel good and enjoy a book, snag this one. I'm so happy that my love for Sophie Kinsella has been reinstated! 4 stars. This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher, provided through Netgalley and Dial Publishing. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Thank you Net Galley and Random House for the opportunity to read an advanced copy of I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella, but it wasn't for me on a few levels. Although well crafted, the female characters were doormats and the men were jerks. I also didn't like the casual approach to sex with the main characters and the "other significant others" in their lives. Still, fans of Sophie Kinsella might enjoy Fixie Farr and her Rocky romance with Sebastian Marlowe.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
As entertaining as it is, Ms Kinsella ' s novel is all according to formula. A new heroine who has low self esteem (maddeningly low) but wondrous natural talent, a few plot twists and problems are solved, a true love is found and everyone lives happily ever after. Frankly, her heroine's supidity infuriates me. No one can be that blind, naive or clueless.
Twink More than 1 year ago
Sophie Kinsella's books are the perfect antidote for dreary days. Light, fun and fluffy. I Owe You One is newly released and it happily kept me company over the course of a very cold, gray winter's Sunday afternoon. Fixie Farr, her mom and her two siblings run the family business, a housewares store. Well, it's pretty much Fixie - the relationships between her and her brother and sister are fractious to say the least. But, as her father always said - family first. And Fixie has lived by that tenet. Where did she get that name? She wasn't born a Fixie, but she can't help fixing things for almost everyone. Except herself..... Fixie is a wonderfully engaging lead character. You can't help but like her and root for her. But the more she tries to fix things, the worse things get. Handsome strangers, old flames, misunderstandings, missteps, family quarrels - and of course the will they/won't they romance plot. The supporting cast is lots of fun as well. The 'negative' characters are easy to spot. (and very easy to dislike) I laughed out loud many times at the antics and dialogue of the shop assistants. And yes, the outcome is pretty much a given, but it's the journey there that is so much fun to read. Kinsella's books are engaging, entertaining, humourous and a perfect pick me up.
whatsbetterthanbooks More than 1 year ago
Sweet, comical, and delightfully uplifting! I Owe You One is a charming, heartwarming read that takes us into the life of the thoughtful Fixie Farr as she struggles to keep her family’s home goods shop thriving while juggling an on-again/off-again relationship with her high school crush, two overbearing, older siblings, and a back-and-forth IOU with a handsome businessman. The prose is well turned and light. The characters, including all the supporting characters, are unique, amusing and reliable. And the plot is a smart, engaging tale full of quirky mishaps, tricky moments, awkward situations, delicious chemistry, romantic drama, self-reflection, and the intricacies of familial relationships. Overall, I Owe You One is another light, refreshing, entertaining read by Kinsella that's perfect for fans of insightful, witty, contemporary romance novels.
dkrmwiz More than 1 year ago
Received an ARC from Netgalley for an honest review of this book. This one sure has the mixed up everything! I really like Fixie (horrible name, but better than her given one), she just needed to stand up for herself. The brother and sister are perfectly horrible and self centered, totally useless to her. I like her mom, and wish I could have known the dad as he seemed like an awesome guy. I don't like to give spoilers when I write reviews, I think it's tacky. With that said, this is a really fun book. I was happy with all of the parts and people in it, and while I wanted more at the end, I know it has to end somewhere. If you want a quick, fun read, then pick this up when it comes out. I really enjoyed it!
LulusReviews More than 1 year ago
I loved meeting Fixie, the main character in I Owe You One by @KinsellaSophie - a quirky former caterer working in her family's shop, Fixie's life takes a sharp turn when she rescues the laptop of a coffee shop patron, who had stepped outside to take a call, just in time from being drenched from a burst pipe in the ceiling. He repays her with a favor, which she cashes in on a job offer for her long time family friend and secret crush, Ryan. I smiled and laughed out loud - if you are looking for your next light read, this is it! Thanks to #NetGalley for the opportunity to preview #IOweYouOne by Sophie Kinsella!
LisaMDay More than 1 year ago
Oh this book! I loved it and kinda hated it at the same time. It made me so frustrated but I also couldn’t put it down and I couldn’t wait to see how it ended. Fixie’s siblings were so self-absorbed and selfish that I had a very strong emotional response to the mess they made of everything and how they walked all over Fixie. I was cheering for Fixie to grow a back bone through the whole book and stand up for herself and make things right! I was so happy with the way it ended. My love for the book definitely out weighs the anger I had at it :) Thanks to NetGallery and the publisher for an advanced copy in return of my honest and unbiased feedback.
catherinemarie More than 1 year ago
I have a love/hate relationship with the characters — although I have to admit that most of that hate comes from the fact that I am, in many ways, just like Fixie (minus the incredible naive side of her personality). Many times throughout the book, I found myself wanting to step into the storyline and either shake some sense into her or simply to give her a hug. The whole process of exchanging their IOUs is cute and frustrating at the same time. On one hand, it brings certain comfort and security. Fixie knows that if something goes wrong, Seb will fix it because he owes her. On the other hand, his feelings are a mystery to her — are his actions driven by love or obligation? I really appreciate Sophie’s take on family matters as well. Fixie’s mom and siblings are very important to her, yet, they are the main source of all her troubles. Yes, blood is thicker than water … but it can also be very slippery! Though not my most favourite of Sophie’s books, I really enjoyed reading I Owe You One. It’s a perfect read for those cold, rainy days ahead of us. Disclaimer: I received an ARC of this book in exchange for my honest opinion!
JChris More than 1 year ago
Fixie is a person that cannot let things be if she sees something that needs to be done. This is a complex personality trait that is both a blessing to others and often a disability to herself. At first, I thought her family nicknamed her Fixie as a negative thing, but as the story unfolds I found out that Fixie prefers this to her real name and it definitely suits her more. This is a bit of a Cinderella story. She is the workhorse of her family’s business taking the model of her parents and is happy in that role. Her siblings take advantage of her and she lets it go, since that is her personality. She voices her feelings to herself and does not often let them out. She is often a doormat and lets things go without speaking up for herself. Fixie has been head over heels in “love” with her brother’s friend Ryan since she was 10 years old and he was 15. This plays into the story. Ryan is another person in her life that accepts Fixie’s gift of wanting to make everything wonderful for her family and friends. She is in a coffee shop and is asked to watch the laptop of a person at a nearby table while he goes outside to take a phone call. She notices water dripping from the ceiling and senses that danger is on the horizon. She jumps into action and saves the laptop from a flood of water coming down from the ceiling as it collapses. Once again being a “fixer” for someone else, and not caring what position that leads her in. She saved the laptop and was then soaked with dirty water from the downpour. The grateful owner, Sebastian, give her an “I Owe You” that he writes on a coffee sleeve. While Fixie is still blindly attracted to Ryan and lets him guide her to do things she doesn’t want to, a friendship develops with Sebastian (Seb), who has an awful girlfriend (sad for Seb, great for Fixie!). The story flowed so easily, was heartwarming and realistic. The characters are expertly developed. I loved most of them and of disliked a few, which shows how well they were formed for the book. My heart was attached to Fixie almost immediately. I have that same tendency to want to fix everything also, so I felt a connection to her in the first paragraph. I also wanted to pull her out the book and try to talk some sense into her at quite a few points in the story. This was a fantastic story! I enjoyed the journey of Fixie becoming the person she was meant to be. I love that she grew but never lost any of her core personality and goodness. I high recommend reading this book! I want to thank NetGalley.com and the publisher, Random House for allowing me to read the advanced reader's copy. I am happy to post my review freely and it is totally my true opinion.
Coffee_in_the_Mountains More than 1 year ago
I know it is cliche (and I promise I don't normally say this about any book) but I could not put this book down! I found myself squeezing in a few extra pages anywhere I could- 5 minutes before work; 10 minutes until my husband gets home; etc. I love the bits of outlandish comedy thrown in- not too much of it- just a bit to make you smile or laugh out loud. This book was a great mood booster as it never gets too glum. It's a bit long at ~400 pages, but in a GOOD WAY- you don't want to let go of these characters! I was about half way through and thought "Wow, I'm glad I still have a bit to go!" I received an advance reader's copy from the publisher through Goodreads but these thoughts and feelings are entirely my own.
3900980 More than 1 year ago
Let me first say although I had heard of author Sophie Kinsella, I had never read one of her books. But I am here to tell you better late than never! I Owe You One is the charming, funny story of Fixie Farr the "fixer" of all her family's problems. Family is very important to Fixie and more so since her dad died. She is everyone's caretaker. The book begins as Fixie is in a coffee shop and saves the computer of Sebastian, the very handsome owner of an investment firm from serious damage. He is so appreciative that he writes her out an IOU to be used if she ever needs anything. On the family front, Fixie's family owns a cooking store named Farrs. After their dad's passing their mom took over the store, but due to a health scare she decides to go on an extended vacation and leaves the three children Fixie, Jake and Nicole, along with their Uncle to run things. They all seem to have different ideas as to the future of the store. And their personalities are oil and vinegar...and Nicole...oh my goodness...the dialogue had me laughing out loud! To add to the confusion, Fixie's old crush Ryan returns from the United States, jobless and fixing to fix his sights on Fixie... Add the IOU and the very dashing Sebastian and chaos ensues. Lessons are learned, especially by Fixie whose main purpose in life had always been just to make her family proud. I Owe You One is a sweet story with snappy dialogue. I didn't want the book to end! It was such a happy, very humorous story! And rest assured I have already ordered a few more Sophie Kinsella books!
bookluvr35SL More than 1 year ago
Fixie got her nickname when she was just a toddler and she went around wanting to fix things. She still fits the name, but right now she has a plethora of things she wants to fix but can't. Her older brother Jake is trying to turn the family business into something it is not, her older sister Nicole is flaky and self-absorbed and absolutely no help with the store, and their mom had a health crisis on her birthday and has gone abroad for a few months to rest. When she left, she made everyone promise to keep the family business running and profitable and to stay close as a family. When it feels like everyone is working against her, how is Fixie supposed to fix this? I really enjoyed this book. It was a captivating story, and there were both characters to root for and characters to hate. It was a very fun book, and as always there was a romance thrown in. I recommend this to anyone who likes chick lit or just general fiction.
Bosco2579 More than 1 year ago
#partner Thank you Dial Press, Random House and Sophie Kinsella for the finished copy of I Owe You One. I loved this book. I wanted the main character Fixie to be my best friend. Fixie like so many of Kinsella's characters was quirky in a good way. She lacked a little confidence, tried to help everyone over herself and she was all about family. I just wanted to wrap up Fixie in a giant hug and tell her that guy sucks and believe in yourself. Kinsella knew how to throw tuff subjects into her book but still keep it lite. She will always keep you laughing with her timely jokes and quirky characters. I know I have said this already but Kinsella created a character in Fixie that made me want to be her best friend. She also created a store in Farr's that I want to visit every day. I love a hometown store with character. Pick up I Owe You One. You will laugh and maybe even cry a little. All opinions are my own.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love anything by Sophie Kinsella. She is one of the best at quirky rom coms. This book is no different. Fixie is aptly named, as she always feels she has to fix everything. Her family is used to that and seem to take advantage of this fact. A lost romance from the past and a possible new romance keeps Fixie on her toes, as well as taking care of her parent's shop. I enjoyed this book and if you love British chick lit (which I adore), then this book is for you.