Mrs. Mike (Mrs. Mike Series)

Mrs. Mike (Mrs. Mike Series)

by Benedict Freedman, Nancy Freedman

Paperback(Reprint)

$14.40 $15.00 Save 4% Current price is $14.4, Original price is $15. You Save 4%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, July 26

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Mrs. Mike 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 62 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
one day i was lonley and walked to the libary. i came across this old worn book. once i started to read mrs. mike i couldn't put it down. i checked it out of the libary so many times i can't count, not knowing a few years later i would also lose a little girl. believe it or not mrs. mike inspired me to go on.i knew if she could, so could i. when i think of my daughter, i think of katherine. i would like to know more about her. thankyou c.a.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I started reading this book as a teenager and have read it almost yearly in the last thirty five years. I went to Grouard this summer but could find nothing about Mrs. Mike. I continue to search for more information about this family. It is a wonderful book.
bell7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
In the early 1900s, sixteen-year-old Katherine Mary moves to Canada to live with her uncle, hoping that the air will help her pleurisy. She meets Sergeant Mike Flannigan, a Mountie. He makes her mad with her teasing, but as she confides in her new friend, Mildred, "he has eyes so blue you could swim in them." When they marry, duty calls him to the North, where there are few white women and being a Mountie isn't so much being a policeman as it is peacemaker and doctor.This was a sweet, sad, but hopeful tale. I enjoyed Kathy and Mike and their growing relationship as the years pass and they go through various experiences in their married lives. Having just read The Egypt Game and The Summer of My German Soldier, I couldn't help but notice how this book from the 1940s dealt with race. "Mrs. Mike" lives in a territory where there are primarily trappers and Indian women, and her opinions include historically accurate generalizations, such as when she wonders about introducing strikes to the Indian women, but concludes that they're "savages and wouldn't understand." Yet the portrayal of some of the individual characters, especially when compared to some of their white counterparts, give a much more nuanced picture. Though Kathy's spoken opinions never say as much, one can see a difference in the way she responds to characters in given situations as she continues to live and work with Indians and half-Indians. This is a story I would definitely read again, and I'm going to look for the sequels as well.
RidgewayGirl on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Mrs. Mike, a vintage tale (first published in 1947) is about an Irish-American girl sent out to Alberta a hundred years ago for her health and how she met and married a mountie and moved up into the wilderness 700 miles north of Edmonton on the Peace River where she was the only white woman for hundred of miles. Later, her husband was reassigned to a small settlement, but life was always wild and dangerous. I was surprised to discover how good the writing is; here are the first two paragraphs of the book:The worst winter in fifty years, the old Scotsman had told me. I'd only been around for sixteen, but it was the worst I'd seen, and I was willing to take his word for the other thirty-four.On the north side of the train the windows were plastered with snow, and on the south side great clouds of snow were whipped along by a sixty-mile gale. There was snow on top of the train and snow under the train, and all the snow there was left in the world in front of the train, which was why we were stopped.
cbl_tn on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Some books combine character, place, and story in a way that draws readers completely into its world, and stays with us long after the last page is turned. For me, these books are often coming-of-age stories about young women, like Catherine Marshall's Christy, Gene Stratton-Porter's A Girl of the Limberlost, and L.M. Montgomery's Anne of Green Gables. Now I can add Mrs. Mike to the list. If Katherine Mary O'Fallon knew what waited for her when she married her Mountie, Mike Flannigan, she might have had second thoughts. It's hard not to admire her courage and stamina as she discovers the beauties and hardships of the Canadian wilderness and learns to live in it. I'm grateful for all of the LibraryThing members who brought this book to my attention. Highly recommended!
momofthreewi on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not sure how it's possible that I never knew about this book, but I'm so glad I learned about it here on LibraryThing. What a beautiful story! The setting of the harsh Canadian wilderness came to life and I could almost feel the bitter cold winters as I read the story. At times heartbreaking and agonizing, the story is also filled with hope, survival and joy as well. You root for Kathy and Mike throughout the story, in awe of their strength and their ability to do what is needed during so many difficult situations.The secondary characters added so much to the story, as they did to the life of Mrs. Mike and her wonderful husband. I found myself reflecting on all the luxuries and comforts I take for granted in my daily life that so many have done without.Mrs. Mike is a wonderful combination of love story and survival/adventure story. Originally published in 1947, it's a story that has definitely stood the test of time. Highly recommended.
thornton37814 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Kathy leaves her Boston home at age 16 to travel to her uncle's home in Calgary to recover from her pleurisy. She meets Mike Flanagan, a Mounty, who marries her and takes her to his home in the north. The majority of the book is set in Grouard where Kathy copes with the hardships of living in such a lonely and desolate place. Have a few tissues handy! A great read!
DeltaQueen50 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
A book to be treasured, Mrs. Mike by Benedict Freedman is a true to life story of the trials, tribulations, joys and love found by Katherine Mary O¿Fallon when she meets and marries Sergeant Mike Flannigan of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police. In the year of 1905 they set out from Edmonton on dog sleds and three months later arrive at their first posting together at Hudson¿s Hope, B.C. Their time there ends sadly as a huge forest fire sweeps through destroying much of the town and many of the townspeople.Next they canoe north, up along the shores of Alberta¿s Great Slave Lake to the town of Grouard, and here they set about putting down roots, having a family and making life-long friendships. The years run anything but smoothly for the Flannigans but throughout it all their love for each other keeps them strong and allows them to build a life in this remote and desolate wilderness. Told in a simple, direct style this story of two people coming together and enduring both physical and personal hardships was quite simply a touching and inspiring read, This is not an overly sweet account of love in the Canadian north, but a starkly real look at the maturing of a relationship as it weathers both time and tragedy. A beautifully written love story.
Readermom68 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This reminds somewhat of Jane Austin in it's style and elegance of ideas. Kathy is a wonderful heroine and she's not perfect. It's not racy or face paced. It certainly isn't policitally correct in how it references the people of the First Nations of Canada; it's historically correct, however. It's heartbreaking, and uplifting and at times too predictable but it's a great read.
Sengels on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This is a sentimental favorite. I've reread it several times (which is quite unusual for me). The Story of Katherine Mary Flannagan who is sent to Arctic Canada to recover from an illness. She falls in love with a RCMP, and decides to make home with him in the wilderness. Lots of sad things occur, she learns a lot about life...etc
Meemo_B More than 1 year ago
I’m not sure how I got through 50+ years of being a book lover without reading Mrs. Mike - written in 1947, I’ve been aware of it for many years, but somehow never had read it. I’m glad I finally got around to it - I very much enjoyed this sweet, sad, charming and inspirational love story. It’s a dual love story that centers around building a marriage, but is also about learning to love a harsh and unforgiving wilderness. In 2017 it’s difficult to imagine being a girl of 16, marrying a man you barely know and settling in an unfamiliar country that’s so different from all you’ve known and so far from all your family. But in 1907, this wasn’t nearly so foreign a concept, and it’s just what happens when Katherine Mary O’Fallon from Boston meets and marries Sergeant Mike Flannigan of the Canadian Mounties. Together they build a life in a harsh and unforgiving land. It has beauty and tragedy and humor and most of all, underneath it all, love. I loved it, and highly recommend it. Copy provided by Netgalley and Berkley in exchange for an unbiased review.
Heidi_Reads More than 1 year ago
I'm a fan of stories with a pioneering spirit, and the harsh climate and living conditions of the north Canadian wilderness showed the growth and strength of the people who live there. The romance at the beginning was sweet, even though Katherine is young and somewhat immature, and I enjoyed seeing her and Mike grow closer together throughout their marriage and the trials they faced. Her relationships with the Native people in the community brought depth and emotion to the story.
corkyANDme More than 1 year ago
Interesting wonderful story
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book as a child when I ordered it from Scholastic books - and I've read it several time since as well as recommending to many friends for them and their children.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love this book. The fact that it is a true story makes it even better. I have seen the movie almost as many times as I have read this book but the movie is such a small part of the book. I read this book every year since I first found it in 1970 when pregnant with my first child. I laugh, I cry, I get very emotional when reading it. I recommend this book to anyone who loves a good romance that actually happened. I sure would like to see it added to the Nook library.
VirtuousWomanKF More than 1 year ago
Mrs. Mike was chosen for the Lit-Chix's Classic read for 2013. I was excited to read this book due to the amazing reviews and personal recommendations. It is a love story, one that by today's standards would have never lasted. It is well written but at some points very slow. It felt as though the story was historically accurate and during those slow times it was probably very much so for the characters living it. The courage that it would take for a young, Boston girl to traverse to the wild, frigid frontier is somewhat unrealistic but never say never. I did learn some about the Indian customs and the frontiers way of life and found it to be very interesting. Liked this book just didn't love it.
shareleann More than 1 year ago
These authors are amazing. I was drawn into the story right from the start. I loved the descriptions of the land and the people. Beautiful!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Still a HUGE fan after 25 years...I plan to share my copy with my daughters as well. Awesome tale of love, loss, and persistence.
brandt618 More than 1 year ago
There are very few books that I reread; Mrs. Mike is a haunting story, however, that I have read again every few years since I first read it in about 1970. I still have my original paperback copy! I was hoping to replace it on my Nook! :( Whenever someone complains about burned toast I think of this story. I think it influenced my attitudes toward life more than a little.
DTBrennecke More than 1 year ago
Like so many others, I first read Mrs. Mike when I was a young teenager, about 1970 or so, and fell in love with it. It was an old book then, having been first published in 1947. I read it many times, until somewhere along the line I lost my copy of it. Years later, I was thrilled to find another copy and read it again. I'm now 56 years old now, and still enjoy the book. Just read it again. It's like returning to an old friend. I always recommend this book to teenage girls and have yet to find one who didn't love it as well. I'm happy it seems to have become something of a classic. Even though books are always better than the movies made of them, I wish someone had made a movie of this book, so more readers would become familiar with it. You won't regret adding this book to your collection, or to that of a teenage girl near and dear to you! Heartwarming, romantic, dramatic, and bittersweet story.
Lydia_Justine More than 1 year ago
I first found Mrs. Mike on my grandmother's bookshelf. I read it the first time because I had nothing else to read at the moment.I have read it almost every year since then just for the sheer joy of being with Katherine as she travels to the North West Territory and womanhood. I still have my grandmother's copy, and bought a new one so that I could introduce my daughter to Katherine. She carried that copy around in her backpack and read it until it was ragged. She bought me a new copy and The Search for Joyful. Now I am impatiently waiting for it to come to the Nook. Please read this amazing book, give it to your daughters and granddaughters. It is a story of the quiet beautiful strength to be found in each of us.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
JAC0314 More than 1 year ago
one of my favorite books EVER!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Elinor_D_Ferrars More than 1 year ago
Mrs. Mike was recommended to me by a friend, and I bought it having little infomation about its contents. The romance between Katharine Mary O'Fallon and Sergeant Mike Flannigan was delightful, and some of the story's passages were most beguiling. A good deal of the story, however, candidly exposes the heart-wrenching tragidy that befell many in the Canadian wilderness.