The Cellar

The Cellar

by Natasha Preston

Paperback

$9.34 $10.99 Save 15% Current price is $9.34, Original price is $10.99. You Save 15%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, June 24

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Cellar 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 170 reviews.
LiederMadchen More than 1 year ago
This book grabbed me immediately, tugging my emotions this way and that. It starts very simply, with an ordinary girl on an ordinary evening. She feels safe in her ordinary world, with her ordinary friends and family. The sheer normality of it is part of what makes the story so powerful; if this could happen to her, it could happen to you. Summer is kidnapped and taken to the titular Cellar, where she is locked away with three other girls. She is renamed Lily, and forced to conform to a madman's vision of the perfect family. If she fights back, a terrible fate awaits her, but is it a worse fate than losing herself completely? The story is told with three points of view; Summer's, Clover's and Lewis'. While Summer fights to retain her sanity, it is clear that Clover lost his long ago. The author did an absolutely brilliant job with him, with the complexities of his twisted mind. Despite the terrible things he does, I felt sorry for him at times. I could understand his motivations, even as he sent shivers down my spine. I loved Lewis. He is such a straightforward, no-nonsense kind of guy, the perfect foil to the psychological intricacies of Summer and Clover's points of view. He is loyal to a fault and stubborn as a mule. Knowing what he is feeling, and seeing through his eyes what Summer's family is going through, gives the story greater dimension. The writing style was very simple, almost sparse, throughout. The lack of detailed descriptions actually gave some things more impact than I would have thought. The atrocities Clover commits are all the more horrifying for not being graphically described, which gives them a surreal, almost nightmarish quality. The ending was not entirely resolved, but in a way that felt realistic. It also seemed like it might be open to a sequel, but that may be wishful thinking on my part. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers and doesn't mind developing a certain paranoia about walking alone in their own neighborhoods. I received an advance e-copy of this book through NetGalley and Sourcebooks as part of a blog tour in exchange for a fair and honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I remember reading this boom years ago back when it was just an unedtited stoty on wattpad (a free writing sharing website) I have read it countless times since then on the website and am now overjoyed to see it published. This book is so powerful and movinhg, I highly reccomend it. It is a fabulous combination of horror/romance/drama and is a book I will love until the day I die (hopfully not at the hands of a certain cerial killer.) Natasha preston, you are my absolute favorite author, and I applaud you for this great work, and all of your other fabulous books. Happy reading everyone!
chapterxchapter More than 1 year ago
This book was like watching an episode of Law & Order: SVU (Special Victims Unit).  I honestly, could not tear myself away.  It was so intriguing to me to read the sides of the captor, the captive, and the effects of the abduction on family and loved ones. The story revolves around sixteen year old Summer who adores her boyfriend, but also wants to be her own person…which is why she refused to have him walk with her to meet her friend.  Unfortunately for Summer, this is the night that crazyass Colin Brown aka Clover is on the hunt for his next perfect flower…Lily…and his search leads him to Summer. Summer now has to learn how to live the crazy life that Clover wants to have in his cellar, and must somehow survive his irrational and erratic behavior that his caused him to kill others in cold blood.  But as time goes by, Summer’s hunger to get away is still strong, but she knows she can’t do it alone…but whom among her new “family” can she trust?  And will she survive long enough to even get a chance to try. Lewis, Summer’s boyfriend, will stop at nothing to find the love of his life.  Even if it meant risking his own safety.  But will his frantic searches and wild ideas get him closer to finding Summer, alive?  Or will it all lead to a dead body that he can only pray doesn’t belong to his true love. Tormented by his past, Colin/Clover’s goal is to have a perfect family.  And by that he means finding the perfect “flowers” to keep in his cellar and take care of.  But memories from his past and the pressures of the present take it’s toll and Clover must work even harder to keep the family, or will one wrong move risk everything he’s worked so hard to keep a secret. Clover is oneeeeeeeeeeee crazy dude!  I could easily picture this creep in my mind as I was reading…and I was seriously freaking myself out!  The Cellar by Natasha Preston is easily a parent’s worst nightmare come to life. As your reading, you know what’s going to happen.  But you can’t help but get caught up in the moment as the events occur.  My heart literally started to beat faster, and my hands were getting a little sweaty.  The way in which the fear and other emotions would easily come out in the writing was what made this a truly enjoyable read for me. I just wish that more of Clover’s past was revealed.  I wanted to know why he was so f’d up!  We get little snippets here and there of what happened in his past, and just how messed up things were.  But there wasn’t enough details to give me a picture of what caused his downward spiral to cray cray town. Fans of thriller type reads will really enjoy The Cellar by Natasha Preson.  I recommend reading it in the evening with very little light…set the ambiance and settle in for a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Creppy but good all at the same time! Crying and wanting to scream because you have so much emotion is what you want to feel while reading a book! Great (one day) read! I recomende this to teens everywhere!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
When I first read the story on Wattpad, I thought that it was gonna be a bit amateur-ish, but was proven wrong. What drew me in to actually read the summary was the cover, and to read the book was the summary. I know that the cover of the book is now different, but still. This book is not a waste of time and will definitely keep you on your toes.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
first off, just let me say wow. I have never in my life written a review but after reading this book in record breaking time I felt a very strong need to share this. This book follows a girl who has been abducted and forced to live in a cellar with a number of others who have suffered the same fate. The women are forced to play roles as loving houswives to a highly unstable psycopath. You're along for the ride as you watch these girls cope in their own unique ways, as well as watch how the main characters family and loving boyfriend handle her sudden and mysterious absence. I always read reviews before buying books and after reading the reviews for this one I wasn't sure I was going to like it. But I fell in deep and maddening love with this story. I found myself wrestling urges for pee breaks because I simply did not want to waste one second of my time on anything but this story. I HAD to know what happened next. I tend to stay away from this type of genre being I never seem to get a satisfying ending. Do not worry your pretty little mind because the ending freaking delivers! Your going to find yourself sobbing like a big ol baby and smiling like a goober by the time your through. But you might also find youself with your hand across your mouth in horror at some of the things that this psycopath does. The characters were amazingly built. The story is beautifully written, and after its all over it leaves you asking youself... "what would I have done?" and it reminds you bad things don't always happen to "other people" and might be the reason you call your loved ones and profess how much u love them while you have the chance. five stars for my new favorite book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ive read in a while. A real page turner. Very good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely loved this book! It was a page turner & the ending was great! If you are looking for a great story, this is the book to read!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I have read this book twice now and both times frothe moment i opened it till i closed it i didnt put it down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldnt but this down it was great
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book hadmy attentionfrom page 1! It was intense, gritty and AMAZING! I do admit near the end I felt it was a little rushed but I am glad Summer and Poppy akaBecca were saved. I am a little curious on what happened to Rose. I think this author did an amzing job telling the story from multiple points of view...hopefully we will see maybe a prequeal in the near future about the how and why. In the end I gave 5 stars for the simple fact it was a great book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was expecting a normal mystery that would be back on the bookshelf the second I read the last sentence. I was wrong! Not once did I put the book down! It was amazing! This high class thriller and mystery, made my toes tingle! This book is mainly about a girls life trapped in her kidnappers cellar. She goes through many obstacles, and learns to adjust to her new life with three other girls. I liked this book because it always kept me busy and intrigued! I would never put it down. Even after I finished the book, I reread my favorite chapters! I also love how the characters develop, and how the book in general unfolds. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes mystery, fun, and a touch of romance. You should consider the swearing before you buy the book. But everything included in this book ties it together!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book. One you don't want to put down. A quick read. A bit creepy but definately worth the time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this back when it was on wattpad and hve loved it since
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wish there would be another book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I could not put this down, and everybody i recommended it to loved it as well
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was so good! Very entertaining, it had me clinging to the edge of my sest. I never wanted to put it down hoping to find out the fate of the characters. Would probably reread and still enjoy it just as much as the first time!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this book in 3 days. I have never read anything like this before, so I tried something new. It is amazing how the author gives the readers flashbacks and different points of view. It is just so riveting and exciting. With Clover's need to keep his "perfect family", Summer's need to be with her real family again, and Lewis' need to find his love.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure how I would like it because I have a low tolerance for creepy things sometimes, but I'm soooo glad I got this book!!! The detail was great just enough to keep you guessing on his(the creeper) backstory but that you don't feel lost. Also the detail of his acts was not so much that you feel sick, but enough so that you can imagine the horror that must have felt at witnessing it. Overall just an amazing book that's impossible to put down!! I recomend it highly!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I finished this book in one day and could not put it down ! Its sad to know things like this happen on a daily basis - books like this need to be written they are sort of like a wake up call to remind us there are really sick people out there and to be smart and aware of our surroundings !!!! Great book I will definetely recommend and purchase more books by this author though .
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was an interesting read, although it became super repetitive and the ending was extremely predictable. Nothing about this was a psychological thriller, just a little dull and over done. I also didn't think the writing was exceptional either, reminds me of a story some freshman in high school wrote. Overall, dull and predictable. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
After reading the first chapter on wattpad I rushed to my local barnes and noble. This story took me on an emotional roller coaster. It was such a wonderful story. I Love it and forever will!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read this a while ago on Wattpad and I loved it then, but now, with a physical copy in my hands, it's unbelievable. After a bit of changing, it's even better than before and genuinely one of my favorite books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read it on wattpad a year or so ago and it's GREAT!!