1 Kings 12 to 22: The Kingdom Divides

1 Kings 12 to 22: The Kingdom Divides

by John MacArthur


Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, September 27?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details


1 Kings 12 to 22: The Kingdom Divides by John MacArthur

Under King Solomon the Israelites had been a united people, but that all changed when his foolish son Rehoboam came to power. In the days that followed, the nation divided into two separate kingdoms. The reigns of these kings were turbulent, marked by a succession of ungodly monarchs in conflict with the Lord’s prophets. Among these rulers, perhaps none stood out more than Ahab and Jezebel, who not only led the northern nation of Israel into idolatry but actually conspired to murder a man simply because they wanted his garden!

In this study, John MacArthur guides readers through an in-depth look at this historical period, beginning with the split between Judah and Israel, continuing into the remarkable events that occurred during the prophet Elijah’s ministry, and concluding with the death of the ungodly King Ahab. Studies include close-up examinations of Elijah, Ahab, Jezebel, Asa, and others, as well as careful considerations of doctrinal themes such as “the Sin of Syncretism” and “Being Faithful to God’s Word.”

The MacArthur Bible Studies provide intriguing examinations of the whole of Scripture. Each guide incorporates extensive commentary, detailed observations on overriding themes, and probing questions to help you study the Word of God with guidance from John MacArthur.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780718034733
Publisher: Nelson, Thomas, Inc.
Publication date: 05/31/2016
Series: MacArthur Bible Studies Series
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.30(d)

About the Author

John MacArthur has served as the pastor-teacher of Grace Community Church in Sun Valley, California, since 1969. His ministry of expository preaching is unparalleled in its breadth and influence. In more than four decades of ministry from the same pulpit, he has preached verse by verse through the entire New Testament (and several key sections of the Old Testament). He is president of the Master’s University and Seminary and can be heard daily on the Grace to You radio broadcast (carried on hundreds of radio stations worldwide). He has authored a number of bestselling books, including Twelve Ordinary Men, and One Perfect Life.

For more details about John MacArthur and his Bible-teaching resources, contact Grace to You at 800-55-GRACE or gty.org.

Table of Contents

Introduction v

1 Israel Splits in Two 1

1 Kings 12:1-24

2 The Fears of Jeroboam 13

1 Kings 12:25-13:34

3 The Sin of Syncretism 25

1 Kings 14:1-20

4 The First Kings of Judah 37

1 Kings 14:21-15:8

5 The Kingship of Asa 49

1 Kings 15:9-24

6 The Kingship of Ahab 61

1 Kings 16:1-17:7

7 Elijah and the Widow 73

1 Kings 17:8-24

8 Elijah's Challenge 85

1 Kings 18:1-46

9 Elijah's Escape 99

1 Kings 19:1-21

10 A Wicked Partnership 111

1 Kings 21:1-29

11 The Death of King Ahab 123

1 Kings 22:1-40

12 Reviewing Key Principles 135

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews