48 States

48 States

by Evette Davis
48 States

48 States

by Evette Davis

Paperback(Advance Reader Copy ed.)

$14.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Best Indie Books of 2022 (Kirkus Reviews)

"An adept and chilling cautionary tale-the narrative equivalent of brass knuckles to the skull." -Kirkus, Starred Review

Perfect for fans of Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel, California by Edan Lepucki, and Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins, 48 States is a fast-paced dystopian thriller about the dangers of extremism and the power of love and forgiveness.

In 2042 the United States is recovering from a series of terrorist attacks that upended the government, rewrote our civil liberties, and erased two states from the map. River, a widow, single mother, and veteran of the Caliphate Wars works as a waste hauling trucker in Energy Territory No. 1, formerly known as North Dakota. Living in a dingy motel room with nothing but her books and a semiautomatic pistol for company, she is weeks away from the end of her contract and returning to her young daughter. Finn Cunningham, a hydrologist with the United States Geology Survey (USGS) in Montana, is suspicious of environmental changes he's seeing in nearby western waterways and decides to investigate. His decision sets him on a collision course with River, sending them both on the run. One a fugitive, the other a reluctant participant, they develop an affinity for each other, sharing stories of past loves, loss, and hardship. 48 States is a one-of-a-kind dystopian thriller about the dangers of extremism and the power of love and forgiveness.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798985813302
Publisher: Flesh & Bone Publishing
Publication date: 06/21/2022
Edition description: Advance Reader Copy ed.
Pages: 236
Sales rank: 1,117,522
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.59(d)

About the Author

Evette Davis is the author of WOMAN KING and DARK HORSE, the first two installments of the Dark Horse Trilogy. She will be releasing the final installment along with a new stand alone novel in 2022. When she's not writing novels, Davis dispenses advice to some of the country's largest corporations, non-profits and institutions as a consultant and co-owner of BergDavis Public Affairs, an award-winning San Francisco-based public affairs firm.In 2014 Davis founded Flesh & Bone, an independent publishing imprint. In 2015 DARK HORSE garnered an honorable mention at the San Francisco Book Festival. In 2017, Friends of the San Francisco Public Library named Davis a Library Laureate. Her work has also been published in the San Francisco Chronicle and Book Country. Most recently, she was a finalist in the San Francisco Writers Conference's 2021 Writing Contest. A piece from her upcoming novel, 48 States, is featured in their anthology.Prior to establishing her firm, Davis worked in Washington as a press secretary for a member of Congress, and as a reporter for daily newspapers in the San Francisco Bay Area. She splits her time between San Francisco and Sun Valley, Idaho with her husband, daughter and dog.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews