69 Love Songs

69 Love Songs

by Magnetic Fields
5.0 3


$38.67 $39.99 Save 3% Current price is $38.67, Original price is $39.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Get it by Thursday, October 26 ,  Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Delivery during checkout.


69 Love Songs

What you see is what you get with this sprawling concept set -- sort of. Magnetic Fields main man Stephin Merritt (whose other projects include the 6ths, Future Bible Heroes, and the Gothic Archies) has indeed written 69 songs on the topic of love. He's also made the three CDs (available individually or as a limited-edition box set) a varied listen by utilizing four vocalists in addition to himself and by employing a variety of styles. Some songs are finely crafted show tunes, some are goofy asides, and some are straight-ahead, wistful pop songs that are in heavy radio rotation -- in some fair, parallel universe. Throughout the collection, Merritt's wordplay is either artful, touching, or both, revealing why he's often called the Cole Porter of the underground. On "Love Is Like Jazz," Merritt casts his subject this way: "It's divine/ It's asinine/ It's depressing/ And it's almost entirely window dressing/ But it'll do." The instrumentation, both organic and synthetic, is simple and complements each song's style: chiming guitars here, new wavey keyboards there, and occasional touches of cello, ukulele, violin, or flute. Merritt initially conceived of 69 Love Songs as a traveling revue performing 100 modern love songs. In fact, 69 will do.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/1999
Label: Merge Records
UPC: 0036172946921
catalogNumber: 29469
Rank: 77630


Disc 1

  1. Absolutely Cuckoo
  2. I Don't Believe in the Sun
  3. All My Little Words
  4. A Chicken With It's Head Cut Off
  5. Reno Dakota
  6. I Don't Want to Get Over You
  7. Come Back from San Francisco
  8. The Luckiest Guy on the Lower East Side
  9. Let's Pretend We're Bunny Rabbits
  10. The Cactus Where Your Heart Should Be
  11. I Think I Need a New Heart
  12. The Book of Love
  13. Fido, Your Leash Is Too Long
  14. How Fucking Romantic
  15. The One You Really Love
  16. Punk Love
  17. Parades Go By
  18. Boa Constrictor
  19. A Pretty Girl Is Like
  20. My Sentimental Melody
  21. Nothing Matters When We're Dancing
  22. Sweet-Lovin' Man
  23. The Things We Did and Didn't Do

Disc 2

  1. Roses
  2. Love Is Like Jazz
  3. When My Boy Walks Down the Street
  4. Time Enough for Rocking When We're Old
  5. Very Funny
  6. Grand Canyon
  7. No One Will Ever Love You
  8. If You Don't Cry
  9. You're My Only Home
  10. (Crazy for You But) Not That Crazy
  11. My Only Friend
  12. Promises of Eternity
  13. World Love
  14. Washington, D.C.
  15. Long-Forgotten Fairytale
  16. Kiss Me Like You Mean It
  17. Papa Was a Rodeo
  18. Epitaph for My Heart
  19. Asleep and Dreaming
  20. The Sun Goes Down and the World Goes Dancing
  21. The Way You Say Good-Night
  22. Abigail, Belle of Kilronan
  23. I Shatter

Disc 3

  1. Underwear
  2. It's a Crime
  3. Busby Berkeley Dreams
  4. I'm Sorry I Love You
  5. Acoustic Guitar
  6. The Death of Ferdinand de Saussure
  7. Love in the Shadows
  8. Bitter Tears
  9. Wi' Nae Wee Bairn Ye'll Me Beget
  10. Yeah! Oh, Yeah!
  11. Experimental Music Love
  12. Meaningless
  13. Love Is Like a Bottle of Gin
  14. Queen of the Savages
  15. Blue You
  16. I Can't Touch You Anymore
  17. Two Kinds of People
  18. How to Say Goodbye
  19. The Night You Can't Remember
  20. For We Are the King of the Boudoir
  21. Strange Eyes
  22. Xylophone Track
  23. Zebra

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
highly recommend this great album. all three cds are playful, innovative, sometimes sad and nearly always strangely funny with wonderful lyrics and catchy, stylized tunes.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I love this album! It's so different than what you'd normally hear. The songs are humorous and catchy. I highly recommend this album.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago