A Bit Much: Poems

A Bit Much: Poems

by Lyndsay Rush
A Bit Much: Poems

A Bit Much: Poems

by Lyndsay Rush

Paperback

$18.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on September 17, 2024
  • PICK UP IN STORE

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


Overview

The debut poetry collection from Lyndsay Rush (aka @maryoliversdrunkcousin) is a humorous and joyful celebration of big feelings, tender truths, and hard-won wisdom, for fans of Maggie Smith, Kate Baer, and Kate Kennedy.

At long last, a book of poetry for people who didn’t even know they liked poetry. And they’re in good company: author Lyndsay Rush didn’t know she liked it either. That is, until she embarked on an internet experiment under the Instagram username @MaryOliversDrunkCousin that turned into a body of work that struck a chord with women across the country; thanks to her signature wordplay, witticisms, and—against all odds—wisdom.

With titles like "Shedonism", "Someone to Eat Chips With", "It’s Called Maximalism, Babe", and "Breaking News: Local Women Gets Out of Bed", Rush’s debut collection of poetry uses humor to grapple with the female experience—from questioning whether or not to have children, to roasting the patriarchy, to challenging what it means to "age gracefully"—and each piece delivers gut-punching truths alongside gratifying punchlines. Readers walk away from Lyndsay’s work feeling seen, celebrated, and wholly convinced that joy is an urgent, worthwhile pursuit.

With over 140 convention-bending poems—most of which are never-before-seen—this book is quite literally A Bit Much.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250323460
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Publication date: 09/17/2024
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 35,171
Product dimensions: 5.38(w) x 8.25(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Lyndsay Rush is a comedy writer, co-founder of the branding agency Obedient, and the poet behind the popular Instagram account @maryoliversdrunkcousin. Her work has been featured in Reductress, McSweeney’s, New York magazine, and the New York Times. Lyndsay spent most of her adult life freezing in Chicago, IL but currently swelters in Nashville, TN with her husband and young son.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews