A Case of Redemption

A Case of Redemption

by Adam Mitzner

NOOK Book(eBook)

$4.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781451674811
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 05/14/2013
Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 69,938
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Adam Mitzner, a lawyer by day, is the author of Losing Faith, A Case of Redemption, and A Conflict of Interest. He lives with his family in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Case of Redemption 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 24 reviews.
SteveCapell More than 1 year ago
A Case of Redemption is the second book that I've reviewed for Adam Metzger and he has proven once again that his literary skills are sharp, intriguing, captivating, and suspenseful. Adam's novel starts out early with a verse of a song: Gonna stop you when you sing, gonna give it till you scream; don't like what you said, gonna go A-Rod on your head. Legally Dead, "A-Rod" From the song "A-Rod," lyrics and music by Legally Dead. The composer of this song, Legally Dead, finds himself arrested for murder ... a murder committed just like the lyrics of his song. Metzger is able to keep a gossamer veil over the innocence or the guilt of Legally Dead throughout the twisting tale of motives and deceptions. This adds to the suspense and kept me turning the electronic pages throughout the night. At times I thought Legally Dead was the evil murderer and then I would feel he was nothing more than a scapegoat for the crime. This back and fourth dilemma between innocence and guilty was like a fast paced ping pong tournament only played out in this captivating who-done-it mystery novel. Adam is able to bring the characters to life with descriptive language and personal faults that allow the characters the leap off of the pages into the gray matter of my mind. Adam stated at the end of this novel that this novel was more difficult to write because he knew more people would be reading this one other friends and family and for that reason he felt the pressure. I assure you that Adam may have felt pressure and he may have found this one more difficult to write, but if that is what it takes to bring to life a superbly written novel then I hope Adam feels more pressure to keep turning out novel after novel as I am hungry to read his next one.
DarkAngelCT More than 1 year ago
Dan Sorensen is living the life of a dead man for all intensive purposes his wife is dead his daughter is dead in a fatal car accident, he left his high profile lawyer career and now wallows in his misery with a good scotch! When he meets Nina Harrington and promises her to meet Legally Dead a rap artist who's on trial for murder. Things arise that make Dan question whether his client is guilty or innocent. Did he really kill his girlfriend with a baseball bat as his hit song claims or is he innocent as he claims? Mixed in with this book is watching Dan overcome his grief and move on from his late wife. He's becoming more in control of his drinking and doing somewhat more normal things than he was in the beginning of the book. No longer seeking scotch to make things better, he actually can get through the day without wallowing in his heartache. This book had so many twists and turns and points where the defense was headed no where in reality it was all over the place, and I couldn't have predicted that ending at all, what a great story teller Mr. Mitzner is this is the second book I've read by him and again he had me guessing up til the end! Well Done!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A Real Page Turner . . . Loved it!  I had read Adam Mitzner’s first book (A Conflict of Interest) so it was a no brainer when A Case of Redemption came out.  It was a good mix of sympathetic and “love to hate” characters. The story was like a luge of twists and turns, and it kept me hooked until the ending (do not read ahead) which I have to say, I did not expect.  Kudos to Mitzner again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for the next book. Gives Grishom a lot of competition. Well done, Adam Mitzner!
Atthebeach More than 1 year ago
Read this right after reading Mintzner's first book----both really great legal thrillers. Might even like this one a little better than the first, but both great reads. Good plot, mystery, blind curves, surprises at the end. Does a good job of explaining how trials really work. Love his treatment of the judge, jury selection, etc. Not just a good beach read, it's a really good read.
Anonymous 5 months ago
Sorry the story ended
Anonymous 6 months ago
This is his second book that I have read. Nicely written although some of the legal terms didn't need complete explanation ( I.e. Voir dire) but then again, I read legal thrillers so perhaps some new to this genre may not be as quick to catch the terms. For his scone book, he did a nice job and recommend both novels. I look forward to his next one.
Anonymous 7 months ago
So so
AMA001 More than 1 year ago
Wonderful Reading! Could not put it down. In fact, read it in one day. My first book by Adam Mitzner and it will  not be my last. This not a thriller or edge-of-the-seat reading material, it just keeps you focused on what it takes to reach the outcome. And the outcome was a surprise to me. Most enjoyable and recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Patarma6 More than 1 year ago
An interesting view of the difficulties that the legal profession sometimes has to deal with. The ethics of espionage and duplicity in the legal profession is facinating.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first Mitzger book l've read, and I couldn't put it down! It reminds me of Grisham in his early books.
JJCross More than 1 year ago
Nice. This was a great book. If you like Court Room Drama stories this is a great read. Kept your interest and had an ending you don't see coming.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it. However, I don't see any redemption here for the main character. I felt his behavior at the ending was very unethical. I will read other books by this author but will not likely read one with this particular main character again. Kat
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grammar mistakes, super short chapters, and not enough detail. Eh. 3/5.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is jut one of two really terrific novels by Adam Mitzner. Another great story line, more fantastic characters and totally entertaining material made this novel - and the one before - a great read. So happy to have found another great writer. Genuinely looking forward to reading more from Adam Mitzner!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Continue. Don't care about gramer. Do me longer and moee descriptive
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But can you try to me the chapters longer and more descriptive?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good read. Several surprising twists.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Decent twists throughout the latter half. Sped by some details once the "attorney" aspects picked up. Worth it for under $10
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Dan Sorenson was a high profile attorney at a big New York firm spending 12-16 hours a day working. Then the unthinkable happened. His wife and daughter were killed in a horrifying auto accident.  He quits the law firm and spends 18 months wallowing in his grief. Drinking so much that he blacks out and forgets hours of time. At a party he meets someone who can give him the opportunity of a lifetime, a way to start over, but first he has to have them explain the whole idea again as he barely remembers the meeting. An up and coming rapper has been accused of killing his pop star “girlfriend”. He swears he is innocent but the press has the story on every front page  so defending him will be an upward climb. He is not sure he is ready just a huge case. He also realizes this could be his last chance to get his life back on track. In a way he needs this client as much as his client needs him. Oh this story is like a ride on a tilt-o-whirl. Full of twists and spins and plenty of excitement. I love the way Mitzner creates characters readers will love even the ones we love to hate. Defending L.D. takes over Sorenson’s life. Nina was the calming influence he needed. J. D. has a past that has to be clarified and clarified again. The prosecuting attorney was a strong woman just doing her job. The trial judge adds a little humor to the story. Told from Sorenson’s point of view readers have the “you are there” feeling.  The story builds and builds at a perfect pace leading up to the trial but I can’t tell you more you have to read it for yourself. Just know the pages  will be flying. Fans of Grisham and Turow will love Mitzner. With just two books out he is definitely an author to watch. I can’t wait until his next book. Will Dan Sorenson pop up again? I sure hope so!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I breathed in the ash and cried. &#1492 N&sigma<_>! N&sigma<_>v&alpha<_>, ge&tau &alpha h&sigma<_>l&delta &sigma<_>f &gamma&sigma&upsilon<_>rself! Y&sigma&upsilon &eta<_>ee&delta &tau&sigma ge&tau &sigma&upsilon&tau &sigma<_>f &tau<_>his b&upsilon<_>s! Y&sigma&upsilon c&alpha&eta<_>. <br> I pushed myself up and dug through my backpack, pulling out my lunch, it was the only food I had, and since the intire social network was down, I figured I wouldn't be calling food anytime soon. <p> Fire was everywhere, and everyone who survived was fighting over what little food we could rummage. Right now, an entire lunch box must've been considered gold. The sky was entirely black and the satalite rain had stopped, but the sky was swirling with darkness. Black mist wrapped around everything, chocking you with claustrophobia. <p> I gasped, shivering. I ran to my home, passing each street... yes! NE, 112th avenue was still intact. Well, mostly. <p> I turned the corner, even for a dead end road, there were a lot of cars crashed everywhere. My house looked shaken and beat up, but sorta intact. I entered, to see my mother, lying silently, coldly, breathlessly, on the floor. <p> &tau&omega&sigma &gamma<_>esses f&sigma<_>r &eta<_>ex&tau ch&alpha<_>p&tau<_>er!