A Gentleman's Murder

A Gentleman's Murder

by Christopher Huang

Paperback

$14.39 $15.99 Save 10% Current price is $14.39, Original price is $15.99. You Save 10%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Thursday, October 25?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.
    Same Day shipping in Manhattan. 
    See Details

Overview

A Gentleman's Murder by Christopher Huang

Now in development for television with Endeavor Content

"An auspicious debut mystery." Booklist

"Recalls the best of Golden Age detective fiction." —Andy Lewis, The Hollywood Reporter

"Dorothy Sayers is alive and well and writing under the name of Christopher Huang." —Rhys Bowen, New York Times -bestselling author of The Tuscan Child

"A must read for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charles Todd, and Anne Perry." —Daryl Maxwell, Los Angeles Public Library

"Will please fans of both Agatha Christie and Gillian Flynn." —Sarah Nivala, Book Soup

The year is 1924. The cobblestoned streets of St. James ring with jazz as Britain races forward into an age of peace and prosperity. London's back alleys, however, are filled with broken soldiers and still enshadowed by the lingering horrors of the Great War.

Only a few years removed from the trenches of Flanders himself, Lieutenant Eric Peterkin has just been granted membership in the most prestigious soldiers-only club in London: The Britannia. But when a gentleman's wager ends with a member stabbed to death, the victim's last words echo in the Lieutenant’s head: that he would "soon right a great wrong from the past."

Eric is certain that one of his fellow members is the murderer: but who? Captain Mortimer Wolfe, the soldier’s soldier thrice escaped from German custody? Second Lieutenant Oliver Saxon, the brilliant codebreaker? Or Captain Edward Aldershott, the steely club president whose Savile Row suits hide a frightening collision of mustard gas scars?

Eric's investigation will draw him far from the marbled halls of the Britannia, to the shadowy remains of a dilapidated war hospital and the heroin dens of Limehouse. And as the facade of gentlemenhood cracks, Eric faces a Matryoshka doll of murder, vice, and secrets pointing not only to the officers of his own club but the very investigator assigned by Scotland Yard.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781942645955
Publisher: Inkshares
Publication date: 07/31/2018
Pages: 352
Sales rank: 144,407
Product dimensions: 5.80(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Christopher Huang grew up in Singapore, where he served his two years of National Service as an Army Signaller. He moved to Canada where he studied Architecture at McGill University in Montreal. Huang currently lives in Montreal. A Gentleman's Murder is his first novel.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

A Gentleman's Murder 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
PeterRyan 6 months ago
A Gentleman’s Murder is a locked-room murder mystery that is both complex and compelling. Christopher Huang has created a protagonist who is both a classic insider through upbringing, while never quite being accepted as equal due to his mixed Chinese/English heritage. Eric Peterkin has a sharp mind and a grim determination to succeed in a situation where others want to maintain the status quo. Set against the backdrop of post Great War Britain, a time of changing values, Huang’s A Gentleman’s Murder is an old-school murder mystery with a contemporary feel.
MariWatson1 7 months ago
Christopher Huang, writes a mystery set in a brooding post -War London of 1924. It is the aftermath of World War I- still for most of the Soldiers. Lt. Eric Peterkin is an Officer, who has returned to England, and all the things he loves about it. He associated his Club with all the other Peterkin's who came before him- as well as his Father. He follows a code of honor that dwells on and would be expected by his family. The last place he expected a Murder was at his Club, the Britannia- catering to Gentlemen who fought. Why should the bet from one Officer to a new Member lead to death? A large cast of Characters, revolve around the Britannia Club, allowing Lt Eric Peterkin quite a bit of scope in solving the mystery. Then- a body is found buried in the Woods around a former Hospital for wounded, military men. It is that of a female and she died violently. This touch added a gothic moment to the Book which I liked. But this is a case where murder will continue and we can only wonder why. The half -Chinese Character and his Sister allow for an unusual twist in the 1920's. However, it is the moody quality of the book touching on the scars, internally and externally of the returning men that add depth. Peterkin, is very like his Father, and determinedly carries on through prejudice, lies, interference,and a complex social- system that rules England during that period. I found the story an interesting twist and the strength of it Holmesian. I will continue on with the series and the next adventure. My thanks to Netgalley
Vesper1931 7 months ago
It's 1924 and Lieutenant Eric Peterkin is a member of a prestigious soldiers-only club in London, like all previous generations of his family. One evening a gentleman's wager is accepted but it results with a member stabbed to death. The previous evening the victim had said that he intended to right a wrong. Peterkin decides to investigate when he believes that he cannot trust the police officer in charge. Problems arise because Peterkin is half Chinese, and many of his suspects suffer to varying degrees from shell shock. An interesting mystery, well-written with well-rounded characters. It also seems to capture the English way of life after the Great War very well. I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this book. All thoughts and opinions are my own