A Song for You

A Song for You

by Steve Tyrell
A Song for You

A Song for You

by Steve Tyrell


$15.19  $18.99 Save 20% Current price is $15.19, Original price is $18.99. You Save 20%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Celebrating 13 years of performances at New York's renowned Cafe Carlyle, vocalist Steve Tyrell delivers 2018's A Song for You. As with many of his past albums, A Song for You showcases the soulful crooner in a set of some of his most beloved pop favorites. Notably, the album also features some of the final work of longtime Tyrell collaborator Paul Buckmaster, the Grammy Award-winning arranger who passed away in 2017. Along with the Leon Russell-penned title track, included here are such nuggets as Van Morrison's "Someone Like You," the Otis Redding favorite "Try a Little Tenderness, and the country music standard "Always on My Mind." Elsewhere, he puts his distinctive mark on songs by Jackie Wilson, as well as composing teams like Victor Young and Edward Heyman, Harold Arlen and Johnny Mercer, and others. Bridging the gap between time-honored Great American Songbook standards like the 1930 staple "Them There Eyes" and more contemporary classics like the Joe Cocker ballad "You Are So Beautiful," Tyrell nestles into the songs, making each of them his own. ~ Matt Collar

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2018
Label: Atlantic / Elektra / New Design / Warner Music
UPC: 0093624907817
Rank: 133308


  1. Someone Like You
  2. Come Rain or Come Shine
  3. Try a Little Tenderness
  4. A Song for You
  5. Sunday Kind of Love
  6. When I Fall in Love
  7. Come Live With Me
  8. You Are So Beautiful
  9. Them There Eyes
  10. To Be Loved
  11. The Good Life
  12. Always on My Mind

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steve Tyrell   Primary Artist,Vocals
John Guerin   Drums
Lou Marini   Saxophone
Plas Johnson   Sax (Tenor)
Darryl Tookes   Vocals (Background)
Will Lee   Bass
Judith Hill   Featured Artist,Vocals (Background)
Kevin Winard   Drums,Percussion
Jim Sapporito   Drums
LaTanya Hall   Vocals (Background)
Charles Berghoffer   Bass
John "J.R." Robinson   Drums
John Robinson   Drums
Budapest Scoring Orchestra   Strings
Bill Cantos   Piano
Kevin Osborne   Trombone
David Mann   Flute,Soloist,Sax (Tenor)
Bob Mann   Piano,Guitar
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Leland Sklar   Bass
John Gilutin   Piano,Fender Rhodes
Matt Fronke   Trumpet
Nick Lane   Trombone
Trey Henry   Bass
Henry Hey   Piano
Tom Kubis   Saxophone
Alan Pasqua   Piano
David Finck   Bass
Will Galison   Soloist,Harmonica
Jon Allen   Vocals (Background)
Bob Magnusson   Bass
Allan Schwartzberg   Drums
Andy Ezrin   Piano
Clint DeGanon   Drums

Technical Credits

Felice Bryant   Composer
Edward Heyman   Composer
Leon Russell   Composer
Bruce Fisher   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Darwin Best   Recording
Jimmy Campbell   Composer
Mari Falcone   Arranger
John "J.R." Robinson   Recording
Jack Reardon   Composer
John Robinson   Recording
Sunny Nam   Mastering
Janine Sharell   Executive Producer
Stan Rhodes   Composer
Paul Buckmaster   Arranger,String Arrangements
Steve Sykes   Recording
Steve Tyrell   Producer
Berry Gordy, Jr.   Composer
Harold Arlen   Composer
Bill Schnee   Mixing,Recording
Bill Cantos   Arranger
Billy Davis   Composer
Bob Mann   Arranger,Producer,Recording,String Arrangements
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Jackie Wilson   Composer
Barbara Belle   Composer
Doris Tauber   Composer
Wayne Carson   Composer
Johnny Christopher   Composer
Maceo Pinkard   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Louis Prima   Composer
Sacha Distel   Composer
Mark James   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Reginald Connelly   Composer
Alan Broadbent   Arranger
Anita Leonard   Composer
Woody Woodruff   Recording
William Tracey   Composer
Billy Preston   Composer
Tom Kubis   Arranger,Horn Arrangements
Harry Woods   Composer
Jon Allen   Mixing,Producer,Recording
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews