After: The Battle Has Just Begun

After: The Battle Has Just Begun

After: The Battle Has Just Begun

After: The Battle Has Just Begun

Paperback(3rd Revised with New Award Seals on Cover and Additional Edits ed.)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, March 8
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Meet eight combat-injured men who sustained life-altering injuries. Read eight inspiring stories of heroism and the re-building of independent, productive and fulfilling lives after seemingly impossible circumstances.

This project looks at the struggles of these incredible men to reshape their lives after combat. It also sets these stories within the context of current veteran healthcare; injury, suicide, and disability statistics; and looks briefly at the impacts on the caregivers who support these men. Being face-to-face with combat-injured veterans has given me an insight that all Americans should have. Veterans of the Vietnam era began the process of opening our eyes to the grim realities that await veterans both psychologically and physically. These men’s stories show how much more we have to accomplish.

This book isn't about war or politics - it is about figuring out what it takes to move forward AFTER the war. I wrote this book to raise awareness of what our warriors need most when they return, what the government does and doesn't provide and why there is a high demand for private non-profits to fill the gaps. Make no mistake - we are in this period of recovery and rehabilitation for decades to come. It also introduces the non-profit organization Warrior Foundation~Freedom Station which has taken on the task of helping our combat-injured men and women make the daunting transition from military to civilian life. 100% of the proceeds benefit them in this much-needed labor of love.

It's not about the war. It’s about the warrior.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780996623544
Publisher: Rj Belle Books
Publication date: 05/09/2016
Edition description: 3rd Revised with New Award Seals on Cover and Additional Edits ed.
Pages: 160
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.37(d)

Table of Contents

1: Final Flight

2: A Different Type of After

3: The Statistics

4: Defining a Hero

5: Defining the Need

6: Warrior Foundation ~ Freedom Station

7: The Stories

8: For Those I Love

9: The Scientist

10: The Mechanic

11: The Student

12: What Level Are You?

13: Doc Schneider

14: A Note for Caregivers

15: The Basketball Star

16: Secret Squirrel

17: Gunny

18: The Volunteers

19: After by Ed Hanson

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews