All Systems Down

All Systems Down

by Sam Boush

Paperback

$14.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

24 hours.

That’s all it takes.

A new kind of war has begun.

***

Pak Han-Yong’s day is here. An elite hacker with Unit 101 of the North Korean military, he’s labored for years to launch Project Sonnimne: a series of deadly viruses set to cripple Imperialist infrastructure.



And with one tap of his keyboard, the rewards are immediate.



Brendan Chogan isn’t a hero. He’s an out-of-work parking enforcement officer and one-time collegiate boxer trying to support his wife and children. But now there’s a foreign enemy on the shore, a blackout that extends across America, and an unseen menace targeting him.



Brendan must do whatever it takes to keep his family safe.



In the wake of the cyber attacks, electrical grids fail, satellites crash to earth, and the destinies of nine strangers collide.



Strangers whose survival depends upon each other’s skills and courage.



For fans of REVOLUTION and Tom Clancy, ALL SYSTEMS DOWN is a riveting cyber war thriller that presents a threat so credible you’ll be questioning reality.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Sam Boush has created a story that feels so real and timely that it reads like terrifying nonfiction from the near-future. You'll be thinking about this novel long after you've raced to its heart-pounding conclusion." -- Boyd Morrison, # 1 NY Times Bestselling Author

"A tightly plotted tale." -- Kirkus Reviews

"An exciting, and riveting tale that at many times seems just all too real." -- Journaling on Paper

"Boush’s novel reads like something between a slap in the face and a punch in the gut…with civilization itself hanging in the balance. This should be made into a movie. In the meantime, wake up and read the novel." -- Paul Levinson, Author of Cyber War and Peace

"With his debut novel, Sam Boush proves that he deserves to be listed with the likes of Tom Clancy, David Baldacci and Dan Brown. Right from the beginning, readers are in for a thrill ride as the lives… a must read." -- SA Examiner

"A tightly written and tense cyber-thriller that will have you on the edge of your seat. Boush imagines a nightmare scenario that’s so plausible, it’s downright terrifying. A gripping page-turner from start to finish." -- Dylan H. Jones, Amazon Bestselling Author of Anglesey Blue

Kirkus Reviews

2018-01-22
In Boush's debut thriller, a North Korean cyberattack cripples America's infrastructure, sparking chaos and leaving the country vulnerable to a military invasion.Brendan Chogan first senses trouble afoot during his job interview for a security-guard position at a Portland, Oregon, robotics company. A computer virus is apparently affecting the building, which then loses internet access. A report comes in by phone that the internet is down across the country. It's merely the beginning of a North Korean strike against U.S. systems, and soon citizens nationwide lose their cellular service and electricity. Panic ensues, and Brendan realizes that he, his wife, Vailea, and their 8-year-old twin daughters may not be safe. Meanwhile, hacker Xandra Strandlien's boss at U.S. Cyber Command sends her to Oregon. Intelligence on Chinese-Russian joint military exercises has led to a fear of a post-cyberattack armed invasion, and the Oregon area, which has no military bases nearby, is a potential target. As Brendan and Vailea struggle to secure their home and stockpile food and water, they encounter allies, including Xandra and a couple of U.S. Navy fighter pilots who lost contact with their supercarrier. When an invasion indeed materializes, this small group works together on a mission to upload malware to the enemies' servers. Despite the fact that the attack is nationwide, Boush concentrates on the characters in Oregon, who later include vacationing campers from Los Angeles. It's a wise choice, as the story mixes smaller battles (such as characters fending off would-be intruders at the Chogan house) with large-scale ones; Xandra's plan, for example, entails jumping from a low-flying plane into a river. The author also richly details the cyberattack's chaotic aftermath; for instance, Vailea gets a workout in a grocery store that's besieged by a horde of frenzied shoppers: "She gasped for breath, muscles straining like treading water." Interestingly, the most striking character is a relatively minor one: Sierra Eigelb, a random survivor who first appears about halfway through the novel. Her newfound affinity for killing turns her into a terrifying villain. The story's swift pace leads to a surprisingly thorough wrap-up.A tightly plotted tale with characters that could energize a planned series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780994451279
Publisher: Lakewater Press
Publication date: 02/08/2018
Series: Cyber War , #1
Pages: 240
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.55(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews