Alone

Alone

by Scott Sigler

Paperback(Reprint)

$11.45 $12.00 Save 5% Current price is $11.45, Original price is $12. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 19?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Alone by Scott Sigler

In the final installment of an exhilarating sci-fi adventure trilogy in the vein of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and Red Rising, Scott Sigler’s unforgettable heroine, Em Savage, must come to grips once and for all with the perilous mysteries of her own existence.

“We thought this place was our destiny—not our doom.”


Pawns in a millennia-old struggle, the young people known only as the Birthday Children were genetically engineered to survive on the planet Omeyocan—but they were never meant to live there. They were made to be “overwritten,” their minds wiped and replaced by the consciousnesses of the monsters who created them.

Em changed all of that.

She unified her people and led a revolt against their creators. Em and her friends escaped an ancient ghost ship and fled to Omeyocan. They thought they would find an uninhabited paradise. Instead, they found the ruins of a massive city long since swallowed by the jungle. And they weren’t alone. The Birthday Children fought for survival against the elements, jungle wildlife, the “Grownups” who created them . . . and, as evil corrupted their numbers, even against themselves.

With these opponents finally defeated, Em and her people realized that more threats were coming, traveling from across the universe to lay claim to their planet. The Birthday Children have prepared as best they can against this alien armada. Now, as the first ships reach orbit around Omeyocan, the final battle for the planet begins.

Praise for Alone

“Another Scott Sigler masterpiece . . . thrills on every page, shocking turns, vulnerable and powerful characters, heartbreak, and battles.”—Amy Braun, award-winning author of the Dark Sky series

“Thrilling . . . an incredible end to an incredible series.”—Bingeing on Books

Praise for Scott Sigler’s Alive

“Suspenseful . . . [Alive] lives up to its hype, packing plenty of thrills. . . . A page-turner that whets the appetite for volume 2.”Entertainment Weekly

“Fascinating and intriguing . . . a cross between Lord of the Flies and The Maze Runner and yet . . . so much more.”—Fresh Fiction

“A ripping, claustrophobic thunderbolt of a novel.”—Pierce Brown, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising

“Unstoppable and real, M. Savage is one hell of a heroine. Get ready to be left breathless.”—Kristin Cast, New York Times bestselling author of the House of Night series

“Sigler has created a wonderful and engrossing character in M. Savage. Strong and smart, but with the naïveté and misgivings of any teenage girl, she’s someone you’ll definitely want on your side when s**t hits the fan, which it most certainly does.”—Veronica Belmont, host of Sword & Laser

“The puzzle unfolds masterfully, right down to the last page.”—Phil Plait, PhD, author of Bad Astronomy

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780553393217
Publisher: Random House Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/03/2017
Series: The Generations Trilogy Series , #3
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 128,212
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.20(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range: 14 Years

About the Author

New York Times bestselling author Scott Sigler has written sixteen novels (including Alive and Alight), six novellas, and dozens of short stories. He is also the co-founder of Empty Set Entertainment, which publishes his YA Galactic Football League series. He lives in San Diego.

Read an Excerpt

Part I
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Alone"
by .
Copyright © 2017 Scott Sigler.
Excerpted by permission of Random House Publishing Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Alone 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
We start Alone off with quite a bang. The division between the faction of the Birthday Children has led to an all-out war, ships are closing in from outer space, and Em and her friends are still trying to figure out how they are going to survive on Omeyocan. And the planet has some pretty big surprises for them. Em has really grown as the trilogy progresses, and now we get to see her as a true leader that has the best interests of the people at hurt. We see her as a person hurt emotionally by betrayal and loss. We see her as a person learning to trust all over again. And this trust is going to be critical. As the ships move closer, she will have to learn to trust her instincts (and the instincts of those around her) to put the ancient city back together again and figure out just what is going on. What's going on? Well, I can't tell you, but it was a big "what the hell" moment when it all came together. I never saw it coming. And Scott Sigler revealed all the bits and pieces of the puzzle perfectly. A unique creation that I haven't run across in science fiction before, it was nice to see an inventive plot twist turn out so well. In the end, we have epic battles between aliens of all sorts, battles in space, people sacrificing themselves for all sorts of good (and sometimes not so good) reasons. This has been an epic series. I sort of hope he decides to keep going. I would love to see what space has in store for Em and the survivors of Omeyocan.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read and a satisfying and unexpected ending....i was happy to be surprised.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very good read. Hard to put down. Always wondering (what next)
toReadistoEscape More than 1 year ago
I received a copy of this book courtesy of NetGalley and Lake Union Publishing in exchange for an honest review. They had me at Hunger Games. It was also similar to Maze Runner. As I read my mind was conjuring up creatures from Avatar. The story line is amazingly creative. It was so engaging I could not put it down. The main character’s self-talk was somewhat cheesy at times. But I realized the necessity to convey the emotions and thoughts. By the third book it was much less frequent. I was surprised how many twists and turn were left for the third book. Many trilogies lose a little momentum by the third book, this one did not. I loved the ending. It was very creative and fitting to the story line. I didn’t see it coming but really liked it once it unfolded. Excellent story. I highly recommend this trilogy.