Also Known as Montana Slim: Selected Sides 1933-1941

Also Known as Montana Slim: Selected Sides 1933-1941

by Montana SlimMontana Slim


$28.92 $28.99 Save 0% Current price is $28.92, Original price is $28.99. You Save 0%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Although he is little remembered in the U.S., country music singer, songwriter, guitarist, and yodeler Wilf Carter is pretty much, along with Hank Snow, the godfather of Canadian country music, and he continues to be revered in his home country. He wrote hundreds of songs, from country and western ballads to folk pieces and hobo and cowboy songs, most of which he recorded with just his acoustic guitar, and many of which were punctuated by his skilled yodeling. His sides were released in Canada under his own name, but in the States, he was credited as Montana Slim, a name he embraced as well. This expansive four-disc, 104-track box set surveys his early years, from 1933 to 1941, after which, although he remained immensely popular in Canada, his sales began to decline in the United States.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/26/2013
Label: Jsp Records
UPC: 0788065716226
catalogNumber: 77162
Rank: 77921


Disc 1

  1. Rootin' Tootin' Cowboy
  2. Yodelling Hillbilly
  3. Rescue From Moose River Gold Mine
  4. There'll Be No Blues Up Yonder
  5. The Fate Of Old Strawberry Roan
  6. Answer To Swiss Moonlight Lullaby
  7. The Cowboy's Airplane Ride
  8. Keep Smiling Old Pal
  9. There's A Love Knot In My Lariat
  10. My Little Yoho Lady
  11. Where Is My Boy Tonight
  12. The Hindenburg Disaster
  13. When The Sun Says Goodnight To The Prairie
  14. Everybody's Been Some Mother's Darling
  15. The Little Red Patch On The Seat Of My Trousers
  16. Down The Yodelling Trail At Twilight
  17. Dusty Trails
  18. By The Grave Of Nobody's Darling
  19. What A Friend We Have In Mother
  20. It Makes No Difference Now
  21. I'm Only A Dude In Cowboy's Clothes
  22. My Honeymoon Bridge Broke Down
  23. Golden Lariat
  24. Yodelling Love Call
  25. We'll Meet Again In Peaceful Valley
  26. My Dream's Come True

Disc 2

  1. Swiss Moonlight Lullaby
  2. The Capture Of Albert Johnson
  3. When I Say Hello To The Rockies
  4. Golden Memories Of Mother And Dad
  5. My Old Canadian Home
  6. Echoing Hills Yodel Back To Me
  7. Let's Go Back To The Bible
  8. Old Chuck Wagon Days
  9. My Texas Sweetheart
  10. If You Don't Really Care
  11. My True And Earnest Prayer
  12. Why Did We Ever Part
  13. I'm Thinking Tonight Of My Blue Eyes
  14. Just ONe More Ride
  15. Yodelling My Babies To Sleep
  16. Memories That Never Die
  17. He Rode The Strawberry Roan
  18. Take Me Back To Old Montana
  19. My Little Grey Haired Mother In The West
  20. A Little Log Shack I Can Always Call My Home
  21. I Miss My Swiss
  22. Sway Back Pinto Pete
  23. The Life And Death John Dillinger
  24. Awaiting The Chair
  25. Calgary Round Up
  26. Pete Knight King Of The Cowboy

Disc 3

  1. The Cowboy's High-Toned Dance
  2. I Bought A Rock For A Rocky Mountain Gal
  3. Streamlined Yodel Song
  4. By The Silv'ry Moonlight Trail
  5. My Blues Have Turned To Sunshine
  6. Sundown Blues
  7. The Dying Mother's Prayer
  8. Cowboy's Mother
  9. Smoke Went Up The Chimney Just The Same
  10. I'm Gonna Ride To Heaven On A Streamline Train
  11. The Two Gun Cowboy
  12. Cowboy Lullaby
  13. Lonesome For My Baby Tonight
  14. Hillbilly Valley
  15. Round-Up Time In Heaven
  16. Dreamy Prairie Moon
  17. Answer To It Makes No Difference Now
  18. Roll Along Kentucky Moon
  19. It's All Over Now (I Won't Worry)
  20. Rattlin' Cannonball
  21. Why Should I Be Sorry For You Now
  22. Beautiful Girl Of The Prairie
  23. What a Wonderful Mother f Mine
  24. You ARe My Sunshine
  25. You Were With Me IN The Waltz Of My Dreams
  26. When That Some Body Else Was You

Disc 4

  1. Waiting For A Train
  2. I'm Hittin' The Trail
  3. I'm Gonna Ride To Heaven On A Streamlined Train
  4. Why Did We Ever Part
  5. The Last Letter
  6. The First Love Of Mine
  7. Dreaming Of My Blue Eyes
  8. No Letter Today
  9. You'll Get Used To It
  10. Put Me In Your Pocket
  11. Old Shep
  12. My Queen Of The Prairies
  13. I Ain't Gonna Be A Hobo No More
  14. A Sinner's Prayer
  15. My Blue Skies
  16. Don't Be Mean, I Wasn't Mean To You
  17. It's A Cowboy's Night To Howl
  18. Red River Valley Blues
  19. The Two Gun Cowboy
  20. He Left The One Who Loved Him For Another
  21. My Old Lasso Is Headed Straight For You
  22. Call Of The Range
  23. It's Great To Be Back In The Saddle Again
  24. We'll Meet Again In Peaceful Valley
  25. Under The Light Of The Texas Moon
  26. I'm Still Waiting For You

Album Credits

Customer Reviews