by Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives, Marty Stuart


by Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives, Marty Stuart


$13.59  $16.99 Save 20% Current price is $13.59, Original price is $16.99. You Save 20%.
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Altitude could be a reference to how Marty Stuart and His Fabulous Superlatives spend a good portion of this 2023 album flying eight miles high, happily exploring the fusion of Bakersfield and the Byrds that they initially essayed on the 2017 record Way Out West. Stuart doesn't spend too much time venturing into new territory -- "The Sun Is Quietly Sleeping" does find him drifting into other areas of Hollywood, dabbling in the dreamy ballads of the Beach Boys, "Night Riding" ratchets up the blues -- but when a band plays their country-rock with so much style and verve, it doesn't matter that they're digging deep instead of expanding. Stuart and His Superlatives play with such vigor that it's hard to resist how they blur the boundaries between splashy showmanship and road-tested troubadours. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2023
Label: Snakefarm Records
UPC: 5401148000689
Rank: 4001


  1. Lost Byrd Space Train (Scene 1)
  2. Country Star
  3. Sitting Alone
  4. A Friend of Mine
  5. Space
  6. Altitude
  7. Vegas
  8. The Sun Is Quietly Sleeping
  9. Lost Byrd Space Train (Scene 2)
  10. Night Riding
  11. Tomahawk
  12. Time to Dance
  13. The Angels Came Down
  14. Lost Byrd Space Train (Epilogue)

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives   Primary Artist
Marty Stuart   Primary Artist,Guitar (Acoustic),Piano,Sitar,Vocals,Guitar (Electric)
David Angell   Violin
Chris Scruggs   Bass,Vocals,Slap Bass,Guitar (Steel)
Billy Contreras   Fiddle
Sam Bacco   Bowed Vibes
Harry Stinson   Drums,Vocals,Percussion
Hargus "Pig" Robbins   Piano
Sari Reist   Cello
Gary Carter   Guitar (Steel)
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle
Kenny Vaughan   Vocals,Wah Wah Guitar,Guitar (Acoustic),Guitar (Electric),Guitar (12 String Electric)
Jim "Moose" Brown   Piano
David Davidson   Violin
Kris Wilkinson   Viola

Technical Credits

Marty Stuart   Producer,Composer
Mick Conley   Mixing Engineer,Mastering Engineer
Jake Butler   Assistant Engineer
Maria Elena Orbean   Project Coordinator
Nick Gibbens   Engineer,Mixing Engineer
Roman Seyfried   Screams
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews