by Arctic Monkeys


by Arctic Monkeys

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record - 180 Gram Vinyl)

    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


If Arctic Monkeys launched a tentative retreat on Suck It & See, their first effort after being seduced by Josh Homme, the group once again forge ahead into bold new territory on AM, their fifth album. Neatly splitting the difference between the band's two personalities -- the devotees of barbed British pop and disciples of curdled heavy rock -- AM consolidates Arctic Monkeys strengths, a tricky task in and of itself, but the band pushes further, incorporating unapologetic glam stomps, fuzzy guitars, and a decidedly strong rhythmic undercurrent. At times, AM pulses to a distinctly danceable rhythm -- "Fireplace" percolates while "Why Do You Only Call Me When You're High" simmers and "Knee Socks" nearly rivals Franz Ferdinand in disco rock -- but this isn't an album made for nights out; it's a soundtrack for nights in. Too much of Alex Turner's mind is preoccupied with love gone wrong, jealousy, and general misanthropy, so even when he's singing about a "No. 1 Party Anthem," he's doing so with a nearly visible sneer. Such an undercurrent of cynicism makes AM an ideal album to listen to under the cover of darkness, but due to the Arctic Monkeys' muscular wallop and musical restlessness, it never feels like the band is wallowing in bleakness. Instead, this is vibrant, moody music that showcases a band growing ever stronger with each risk and dare they take. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Product Details

Release Date: 09/10/2013
Label: Domino
UPC: 0887828031719
Rank: 1423


  1. Do I Wanna Know?
  2. R U Mine?
  3. One for the Road
  4. Arabella
  5. I Want It All
  6. No. 1 Party Anthem
  7. Mad Sounds
  8. Fireside
  9. Why'd You Only Call Me When You're High?
  10. Snap Out of It
  11. Knee Socks
  12. I Wanna Be Yours

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Arctic Monkeys   Primary Artist
Ross Orton   Co-Producer
Alex Turner   Guitar,Vocals
Josh Homme   Vocals (Background)
Pete Thomas   Percussion
Jamie Cook   Vocals
Bill Ryder-Jones   Guitar
James Ford   Keyboards,Keyboards
Nick O'Malley   Guitar (Bass)

Technical Credits

Tchad Blake   Mixing
John Cooper Clarke   Composer,Lyricist
Arctic Monkeys   Composer
Alan Smyth   Composer,Lyricist
Ross Orton   Engineer,Producer
Alex Turner   Design,Composer,Lyricist
Ian Shea   Engineer
Geoff Barradale   Management
Matthew Cooper   Design
James Ford   Producer,Producer
Ian McAndrew   Management
Brian Lucey   Mastering
Zackery Michael   Photography
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews