An Evolutionary Leap: Colin Wilson on Psychology

An Evolutionary Leap: Colin Wilson on Psychology

by Colin Stanley


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


When the existential philosopher Colin Wilson died in December 2013, it was suggested by one perceptive obituary writer that, despite the seemingly diverse subject matter of his books, his true legacy lay in the field of Consciousness Studies. This is particularly apparent when studying his many essays and books on psychology and taking into consideration his close association with the celebrated American psychologist Abraham Maslow whose concept of "Peak Experiences"(PEs) became, for Wilson, an important link to experiencing enhanced consciousness. Maslow, however, felt that PEs could not be induced at will; Wilson thought otherwise and through his work sought to encourage his readers and students to live more vital and appreciative lives thereby paving the way toward an evolutionary leap for mankind in consciousness—indeed, a change in consciousness that would potentially change everything.

In this study, Colin Stanley, Wilson’s bibliographer and author of Colin Wilson’s "Outsider Cycle": A Guide for Students and Colin Wilson’s "Occult Trilogy": A Guide for Students, provides an illuminating essay on each of Wilson’s nine major books on psychology. Also included is Wilson’s "Notes on Psychology" to the psychiatrist George Pransky and "Remembering the Outsider", Stanley’s Colin Wilson obituary.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781782204442
Publisher: Taylor & Francis
Publication date: 09/01/2016
Pages: 140
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x (d)

About the Author

Colin Stanley was born in Topsham, Devon, in 1952 and educated at Exmouth School. Beginning in 1970, he worked for Devon Library Services, before moving to Nottingham with his wife, Gail, where he worked for the University of Nottingham until July 2005. Managing Editor of Paupers’ Press, he edits Colin Wilson Studies, a series of books and essays written by Wilson scholars worldwide. He now spends his time at the cinema and theater, listening to music, writing, editing, reading and watching cricket.

Table of Contents

Permissions , Preface , The Age of Defeat (1959) , Origins of the Sexual Impulse (1963) , New Pathways in Psychology: Maslow and the Post-Freudian Revolution (1972) , Frankenstein's Castle: The Right Brain— Door to Wisdom (1980) , The Quest for Wilhelm Reich (1981) , Access to Inner Worlds: The Story of Brad Absetz (1983) , Lord of the Underworld: Jung and the Twentieth Century (1984/1988) , The Misfits: A Study of Sexual Outsiders (1988) , Super Consciousness: The Quest for the Peak Experience (2007/2009) , Essays by Colin Wilson on psychology , Notes on Psychology for George Pransky , Remembering the outsider: Colin Wilson 1931-2013

Customer Reviews