Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Anima Æterna

Anima Æterna

by Jakub Józef Orlinski Jakub Józef Orlinski
Anima Æterna

Anima Æterna

by Jakub Józef Orlinski Jakub Józef Orlinski


$13.99 $19.99 Save 30% Current price is $13.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 19


This album by countertenor Jakub Józef Orlinski is something of a sequel to the singer's debut album, Anima Sacra, released in 2018. Both releases include 18th century sacred arias, largely unknown ones, but there should be no suspicion of a lack of new inspiration here. Orlinski finds tremendous material, and if he wants to do a third album of the same stuff, listeners who appreciate exciting countertenor singing will be lining up for that as well. He begins with two works by the still underrated Jan Dismas Zelenka, with a superbly calm, Bachian motet by Johann Joseph Fux between them. Then come pieces by the even less known Gennaro Manna, Francisco António de Almeida, and Bartolomeo Nucci; buyers of the audiophile LP release get a bonus by another unknown, Davide Perez. All of these works have splendid vocal writing that displays one of Orlinski's great strengths, namely the variety of colors he can bring to his voice. There are countertenors of greater sheer power, but few who can move so effortlessly from calm pastorals to strong operatic arias to a delicate high register. Unearthing these pieces would be enough in itself to recommend this release, but singing them in a way that brings them so vividly to life is a treasurable bonus. On top of that, the rainbow of vocal shades on the album is enhanced by the presence of another young star, soprano Fatma Said, who joins Orlinski in Zelenka's "Laetatus sum, ZWV 90" (consider the "Rogate" movement for the full effect). Backing Orlinski is the crack Baroque orchestra Il Pomo d'Oro, led here by conductor Francesco Corti. Anyone fearing that the early music revival might be running out of steam need only turn to this exciting release.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 12/10/2021
Label: Erato
UPC: 0190296743900
catalogNumber: 674390
Rank: 18556


  1. Barbara dira effera, motet for alto, 2 oboes, 2 bassoons, 2 violins, viola & continuo in F major, ZWV 164

    1. I. Barbara, dira, effera  (10:49)
    2. II. Vicit leo de tribu Juda  (00:43)
    3. III. Alleluja  (03:56)
  2. Il Fonte della salute, aperto dalla grazia nel calvario, oratorio: Aria: Non t'amo per il ciel (Il peccator contrito)

    1. Aria: Non t'amo per il ciel (Il peccator contrito)  (08:30)
  3. Lætatus sum (Psalm 121), for soprano, alto, instruments & continuo in A major, ZWV 90

    1. I. Laetatus sum (Allegro assai)  (04:00)
    2. II. Illuc enim (Allegro assai)  (03:18)
    3. III. Rogate (Andante)  (03:08)
    4. IV. Fiat pax (Larghetto)  (05:00)
    5. V. Gloria (Adagio)  (02:20)
    6. VI. Sicut erat (Allegro assai)  (03:12)
  4. La Giuditta, oratorio: Aria: Giusto Dio

    1. Aria: Giusto Dio  (07:45)
  5. Il Davide triofante: Aria: Un giusto furore che m'arde nel core

    1. Aria: Un giusto furore che m'arde nel core  (05:52)
  6. Laudate pueri

    1. I. Laudate pueri, Dominum  (04:24)
    2. II. Quis sicut Dominus  (04:03)
    3. III. Suscitans a terra inopem  (04:09)
    4. IV. Gloria  (02:35)
    5. V. Sicut erat in principio - ammen  (01:54)
  7. Settings of "Amen" /"(H)alleluja, Amen" (9), hymn for soprano, HWV 269-277  (04:33)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews