Artemis Rising

Artemis Rising

by Cheri Lasota

Paperback

$13.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Tuesday, October 23?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Artemis Rising by Cheri Lasota

What if your name was your destiny? And what if that name foretold a tragic end?

Eva must accept the tragic fate her mother has chosen for her. But Tristan, the boy she loves, has willingly chosen another destiny, one fraught with danger and sorrow. Diogo, driven by a mysterious power, will force them further apart if they cannot break the curse of their fates.

Set against the lush backdrop of 1890s Azores Islands, this YA Historical Fantasy is a seamless blend of two ancient mythologies: Tristan and Isolde & Alpheus and Arethusa.

A First Place Winner in the Chanticleer Cygnus Awards and E-book Category Finalist in the Next Generation Indie Book Awards, this Historical Fantasy novel is for readers who loved Chelsea Fine's Archers of Avalon series, Megg Jensen's Anathema, and Addison Moore's Celestra series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780985146306
Publisher: Ever-Sea Press
Publication date: 02/26/2012
Pages: 384
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.79(d)
Age Range: 3 Months

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Artemis Rising 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
s-cat More than 1 year ago
As I was thinking about what I wanted to write for this review, my brain keeps calling up that oft quoted line from Romeo and Juliet, "What's in a name? That which we call a rose By any other name would smell as sweet." But what if the name really did matter? In Artemis Rising, those who adopt these new names also adopt the fates of their namesakes. When Eva fully accepts her mother's belief system, and adopts the name Arethusa, she very quickly finds her life paralleling that of her namesake nymph. I love a good myth, but this was the first time I've come across that of Alpheus and Arethusa. Upon looking up the myth after finishing the book, I was impressed on how well the myth was translated to fit the life of a teen in the turn of the century Azores yet keep the parallels. The Tristan and Isolde legend I was more familiar with, and I found that inclusion was a bit more subtly done. The result is a love triangle and triangle of ideology. I always enjoy a lead female character who can take care of herself, even if she needs help from the guys sometimes. Eva/Arethusa certainly fills this role. All the characters are strong characters and well written. This is a great addition to the increasingly popular mythology adaptation genre. This is Lasota's first novel, and I look forward to more from her. I received a copy of this from the author for review.
ARLB-5 More than 1 year ago
Artemis Rising is an intriguing and complex tale, yet in the hands of author Cheri Lasota, the story flows seamlessly, gathering the reader into a world so real you can smell the bergamot along with Eva, feel the pitching of a storm-tossed ship, and the sweet taste of first love. Yet Eva's world, Arethusa's world, is one of magic, a place where themes of ancient myth and religious thought meet, confront, and struggle for supremacy. When Eva is shipwrecked on the Azores Islands off Portugal, she encounters Tristao, the blue-eyed boy who will fight for her against the beguiling but ruthless pursuit of Diogo. Be prepared for shocks, twists, and suspense when you read this story. Also be prepared for the exquisite Portuguese background, its culture, color, and customs. With velvety and powerful prose, Ms. Lasota lets us see, taste, smell, feel, and hear each experience as she guides us through layers of suspense, myth, magic, and romance.
Julie_R_Evans-Artist More than 1 year ago
A compelling story--two men to choose from--maybe--when life throws problems in your path—things are not so clear. In this story Eva is torn between her parents' two diverse religions (even after their death), and has chosen to follow her mother's pagen ways over her father's Catholic faith. Her mother performs a coming of age ritual with her and has her take a new name, to personify the person who will wed another mythological being that will take human form. This infuriates the father against them and they get on a ship to return home. However, a sudden storm takes the ship and her parents and she is now an orphan. Another orphan, Tristao, rescues her and takes her to the hospital orphanage. They seem to develop an appreciation for each other, friendship, and the spark of something more. Then their diverse religions and another survivor from the ship interfere. It has a lovely drama unfold and several push-pull lines of interest that kept me turning the pages eager to find out how it ends. One young man wants her to accept him as fulfillment of the myth and another....well, better read the book. It is a compelling story.
ShaneParrish More than 1 year ago
This is a genre I normally would avoid at all costs. But a friend suggested that I take a look at Cheri's book and I was caught completely off guard having read multiple chapters before I was aware that I was speeding along and enjoying every moment engrossed in her story telling manner. It is a captivating read and I highly recommend it to anyone looking for something easy to read yet powerful enough to propel a reader forward, hooked to the end. Bravo!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Took me 3 weeks just to read chapter 1. Cannot get past that. Sorry I found it extremely boring. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Omg this i now one of my favorite books of all time
Mirella More than 1 year ago
Aretemis Rising is a magical young adult novel about destiny and love. Set in the Azores in the late 19th century, young Eva Mare’s mother performs a pagan ritual to look into her daughter’s future. During her trance, she sees a man named Diogo and convinces Eva he is to be her destiny. But Eva encounters a young man of her own named Tristan who also faces a complex destiny. It is Tristan she falls in love with and it is Diogo who she disdains for his evilness. And thus begins a masterfully woven plot filled with conflict and danger and intrigue. Cheri Lasota has written a spell-binding historical fantasy about young, passionate love, skillfully tying it in with historical myths such as Tristan and Isolde and Arethusa and Alpheus. Although the novel is written for young adults, the story has a great deal of depth and is more than adequate for adults. It is a coming of age novel about self-discovery, about one’s true faith, and of triumph. A compelling read and highly recommended.
HeatherMcCorkle More than 1 year ago
A beautifully written novel that will plunge you into the depths of myth. The author has a talent for putting the reader into the world and putting the character's into their hearts. Steeped richly in the culture of the Azores people, this novel has just the right balance of action, romance, and mysticism.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice mixture of myth and legend wound together in a lovely story. Eva Mare forced to leave home by her Catholic Father for taking part in her Mother's Pagan rituals. In route to their new home their ship sinks and Eva finds herself awakened on the shore of her new home by the man she is destined to love. Nice way to spend am afternoon inthe sun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bookshelf_Confessions More than 1 year ago
I always love mythology, and it could only get better with a dose of Christianity… The story is moving and I cried along with Arethusa, I can completely feel myself being in her shoes, and all those horrible things happening to her.. I find myself surprised at each turn of the story, things which I didn’t know would fall into…I especially appreciate the ending, I was thinking the same lines all along, but I was still surprised how perfect it ended. A complex yet highly engrossing read… It’s really thrilling and horrifying what accepting other’s names would mean accepting their fate too… I really love this combinations of stories… The book is a combination of fast and slow, it got slower at the part when they are growing into maturity, it’s just it jump to a couple of years, and I really want to know what happen in those missing years. The beginning is engaging and pack of twist… the middle not so much.. but the end says it all, I even felt my breathing stops at every words I read..lol… I love how the author presents the philosophical thought between fate and choice, and how at the end, fate depends on our choice..(:D)…, the nature of true love and plain lust, and the danger of believing something and letting your mind be engulfed in things which are not true… Ms. Lasota beautifully combined Greek myth, Arthurian legend, Christianity into a wonderful tale, any romanticist would love. A book- Any reader could be carried away…Highly recommended!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago