Before the Devil Knows You're Here

Before the Devil Knows You're Here

by Autumn Krause
Before the Devil Knows You're Here

Before the Devil Knows You're Here

by Autumn Krause

Hardcover

$18.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Part dark gothic fantasy, part journey into the bizarre, this delicious blending of tall tales and Latin American surrealism will haunt you as you devour it!

"Highly imaginative and powerfully affecting."Kirkus Reviews, Starred Review

1836, Wisconsin. Catalina lives with her pa and brother in a ramshackle cabin on the edge of the wilderness. Harsh winters have brought the family to the brink of starvation, and Catalina has replaced her poet's soul with an unyielding determination to keep Pa and her brother alive.

When a sudden illness claims Pa, a strange man appears—a man covered in bark, leaves growing from his head, and sap dripping from his eyes. He scoops up her brother and disappears, leaving behind a bird with crimson wings. Catalina can’t let this man—if that’s what he is—have her brother. So, she grabs Pa’s knife and follows the bird.

Along the way, she finds help from a young lumberjack, who has his own reasons for hunting the Man of Sap. As their journey takes them deeper into the woods, they encounter strange beasts and tormented spirits. The more they uncover about the Man of Sap, the more they learn how deeply Catalina’s fate is entwined with his, planted long ago in cursed seeds.

An enchanting mixture of American tall tales and Faustian elements, Before the Devil Knows You’re Here centers a fierce Mexican American poet on a quest to save her brother. Autumn Krause’s vivid, haunting prose and rich symbolism make this a must-read for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Erin Craig.

A Kirkus Reviews Best Young Adult Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year!

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781682636473
Publisher: Holiday House
Publication date: 10/03/2023
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 30,399
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Autumn Krause is the author of the YA novels A Dress for the Wicked (Harper) and Before the Devil Knows You’re Here (Peachtree Teen/Peachtree). She received her MFA from VCFA and currently lives in Orange County, CA with her husband and three children, and can most often be found wearing a black lace dress.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews