Between Before and After

Between Before and After

by Maureen Doyle McQuerry

Paperback(Reprint)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details

Overview

A mother being dragged ever deeper into the icy waters of depression. A daughter who finds a devastating secret about a shadowy past buried in her mom’s dresser. And the key to unlocking a long-hidden family mystery that could save or destroy much more than their two lives.

Fourteen-year-old Molly worries about school, friends, and her parents’ failed marriage, but mostly about her mother Elaine’s growing depression. Molly knows her mother, who shuts herself off from human connections and instead buries herself in the lives and deaths of the strangers she writes about, is nursing her own carefully-kept secret. But in Elaine’s raw and fragile state, Molly knows not to pry too deeply.

Until her Uncle Stephen is thrust into the limelight because of his miracle cure of a young man and her mother can no longer hide behind other people’s stories. As Molly digs into her mother’s past, she finds a secret hidden in her mother’s dresser that may be the key to unlocking a family mystery dating to 1918 New York—a secret that could save or destroy their future.

Between Before and After is:

  • A riveting YA story told in dual narratives during the flu epidemic in 1918 New York City and 1955 San Jose, California
  • An historical coming-of-age novel about the complex bonds between mothers and daughters.
  • Written by award-winning poet, novelist, and teacher Maureen Mc Querry
  • Perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Laurie Halse Anderson

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310767282
Publisher: Blink
Publication date: 11/05/2019
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 375,654
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.38(h) x 0.75(d)
Age Range: 13 - 18 Years

About the Author

Maureen Mc Querry is an award-winning novelist, teacher, and sometime poet. Her novels include, The Peculiars (ALA Best Book for Young Adult Readers 2013, and winner of the Westchester Award), the MG Time Out of Time duet: Beyond the Door and The Telling Stone (Booklist top Ten Fantasy/Sci Fi for Youth) that combines, Celtic myth, shapeshifters and a secret code in a coming of age story, and the YA historical, Between Before and After (Blink/Harper Collins 2/5/2019). She lives with her husband in WA State and spends her time between the Columbia River and the Puget Sound and traveling to where ever life's next real life mystery make take her.

Customer Reviews