Boxes: The Secret Life of Howard Hughes

Boxes: The Secret Life of Howard Hughes

by Douglas Wellman, Mark Musick

Paperback(Second Edition, Second edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 21


This second edition of Boxes: The Secret Life of Howard Hughes continues the history-changing story of Eva McLelland and her reclusive life married to a mystery man she discovered was Howard Hughes. New witnesses have come forward with personal stories, additional evidence, and photographs. Hughes’s links to the murder of mobster Bugsy Siegel and the killers of President John F. Kennedy are revealed as well as the real identity of the long-haired crazy man that Hughes placed in the Desert Inn Hotel to distract the world while he escaped. Eva McLelland kept her secret for thirty-one stressful years as she lived a nomadic existence with a man who refused to unpack his belongings for fear he would be discovered and have to flee. Only her husband’s death finally released her to tell the story that had been burning inside her for decades.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608081394
Publisher: Boutique of Quality Books
Publication date: 03/01/2016
Edition description: Second Edition, Second edition
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 590,063
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.90(d)

About the Author

Douglas Wellman was born and raised in Minneapolis and studied television production at the University of Minnesota. He was an award-winning television producer-director for thirty-five years in Hollywood. Having once produced a program on Hughes, he was immediately fascinated by the story of Eva and Nik. He currently lives in Southern Utah with his wife, Deborah.

Table of Contents

1 The Ashes

2 Howard, Before Eva

3 Eva Meets "Nik"

4 Nik Returns

5 Eva, Before Nik

6 Eva, Nik, and a "Damn Liar"

7 Eva Escapes

8 The Theory

9 The Druggie Derelict and the Articulate Airman

10 Nik, Eva, and the Red House

11 "Nik, that's you!"

12 One Less Howard

13 Where There's a Will

14 The Many, Many Moves

15 The Ranch

16 Hiding in the Trees

17 Nik… Friend of Congress?

18 Friends in Goshen

19 Howard's Children-Cindy

20 Howard's Children-John

21 It's in the Blood

22 The Witness

23 Truth

24 Reflecting on Life, Eva

Time Line of Significant Events

Authors' Notes: Comparisons between Howard Hughes, Verner Nicely, and Nik

Customer Reviews