Brat: An '80s Story

Brat: An '80s Story

by Andrew McCarthy

Hardcover

$28.00
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on May 11, 2021

Overview

A beautifully written, entertaining, and emotionally honest memoir by actor, director, and author, Andrew McCarthy, that will appeal to fans of Patti Smith's Just Kids and Rob Lowe's Stories I Only Tell My Friends.


Most people know Andrew McCarthy from his movie roles in Pretty in Pink, St. Elmo's Fire, Weekend at Bernie's, and Less than Zero, and as a charter member of Hollywood's Brat Pack. That iconic group of ingenues and heartthrobs included Rob Lowe, Molly Ringwald, Emilio Estevez, and Demi Moore, and has come to represent both a genre of film and an era of pop culture.


In his memoir Brat: An '80s Story, McCarthy focuses his gaze on that singular moment in time. The result is a revealing look at coming of age in a maelstrom, reckoning with conflicted ambition, innocence, addiction, and masculinity. New York City of the 1980s is brought to vivid life in these pages, from scoring loose joints in Washington Square Park to skipping school in favor of the dark revival houses of the Village where he fell in love with the movies that would change his life.


Filled with personal revelations of innocence lost to heady days in Hollywood with John Hughes and an iconic cast of characters, Brat is a surprising and intimate story of an outsider caught up in a most unwitting success.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781538754276
Publisher: Grand Central Publishing
Publication date: 05/11/2021
Pages: 224
Sales rank: 93,023
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 1.50(h) x 9.50(d)

About the Author

Since starring in the movies he recounts throughout Brat, Andrew McCarthy has become a director, award-winning travel writer, and New York Times bestselling author. He has directed more than 80 hours of television, including Orange in the New Black, Grace and Frankie, The Blacklist, New Amsterdam, Good Girls, Gossip Girl, and many others. For a dozen years, he served as editor-at-large at National Geographic Traveler and his award-winning travel writing has appeared in the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, The Atlantic, TIME, and elsewhere. He is the author of two New York Times bestsellers, the travel memoir The Longest Way Home (Free Press, 2012) and the young adult novel Just Fly Away (Algonquin, 2017). He's also returned to acting and will appear in the upcoming seasons of 13 Reasons Why on Netflix and Good Girls on NBC.

Customer Reviews