Bratwurst Haven: Stories

Bratwurst Haven: Stories

by Rachel King
Bratwurst Haven: Stories

Bratwurst Haven: Stories

by Rachel King

Paperback(First Edition)

$19.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 18
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

2023 Colorado Book Award Winner, Literary Fiction
“An excellent collection that’s likely to appeal to fans of Alice Munro and Tobias Wolff.” —Kirkus Reviews


It’s almost a decade after the Great Recession, and in Colorado, St. Anthony Sausage has not recovered. Neither have its employees: a laid-off railway engineer, an exiled computer whiz, a young woman estranged from her infant daughter, an older man with cancer who lacks health care. As these low-wage workers interact under the supervision of the factory’s owner and his quietly rebellious daughter, they come to understand that in America’s postindustrial landscape, although they may help or comfort each other, they also have to do what’s best for themselves.

Over the course of these twelve interrelated stories, Rachel King gives life to diverse, complex, and authentic characters who are linked through the sausage factory and through their daily lives in a vividly rendered small town in Boulder County. The internal and external struggles of Bratwurst Haven’s population are immediately and intimately relatable and resonant: these people seek answers within the world they inhabit while questioning what it means to want more from their lives.
 

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781952271496
Publisher: West Virginia University Press
Publication date: 11/01/2022
Edition description: First Edition
Pages: 152
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Rachel King is the author of the novel People along the Sand. Her short stories have appeared in One StoryNorth American ReviewGreen Mountains ReviewNorthwest Review, and elsewhere. A graduate of the University of Oregon and West Virginia University, she lives in her hometown of Portland, Oregon.

Table of Contents

Railing
Visitation Day
A Friendship
A Deal
Poker Night
Childrearing
Murals
At the Lake
Strangers
Middle Age
Pavel
Bratwurst Haven
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews