Chaotic Angels: Poems in English

Chaotic Angels: Poems in English

by Gwyneth Lewis

NOOK Book(eBook)

$10.49 $12.49 Save 16% Current price is $10.49, Original price is $12.49. You Save 16%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Gwyneth Lewis was Wales's National Poet from 2005 to 2006, the first writer given the Welsh laureateship. She is a bilingual virtuoso, publishing several books in both English and Welsh. Chaotic Angels brings together the poems from her ?rst three English collections, Parables & Faxes (1995), Zero Gravity (1998) and Keeping Mum (2003). She has since published A Hospital Odyssey (2010) and Sparrow Tree (2011). 'The fact that Gwyneth Lewis writes in Welsh and English is central to the issues she addresses' Lewis is not always easy to locate as a poet, and in part this is because of her originality and her refusal to easily fall prey to current trends or trendiness. Her poetic lineage includes poets such as George Herbert, Joseph Brodsky and perhaps most prominently, W.H. Auden. And this is nowhere more evident than in her ability to resolve through poetry complex philosophical ideas, and to make the creative marriages of words and ideas that rhyme allows' - Deryn Rees-Jones, PBS Bulletin. 'She is one of very few poets to be equally probing and technically sophisticated in both languages' intuitively sensitive to the peculiarities of each' - Ruth McIlroy, Planet.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781780372020
Publisher: Bloodaxe Books
Publication date: 01/29/2015
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 188
File size: 1 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Gwyneth Lewis was Wales’s National Poet from 2005 to 2006, the first writer to be given the Welsh laureateship. Her first six books of poetry in Welsh and English were followed by Chaotic Angels (2005) from Bloodaxe, which brings together the poems from her English collections, Parables & Faxes, Zero Gravity and Keeping Mum, and by A Hospital Odyssey (2010), and Sparrow Tree (2011), winner of the Roland Mathias Poetry Award (Wales Book of the Year) in 2012. Her other books include Sunbathing in the Rain: A Cheerful Book about Depression (Flamingo, 2002) and Two in a Boat: A Marital Voyage (Fourth Estate, 2005) and The Meat Tree: new stories from the Mabinogion (Seren, 2010). Her Welsh collection, Y Llofrudd Iaith (Barddas, 2000), won the Welsh Arts Council Book of the Year Prize, and her English collection, Keeping Mum was shortlisted for the same prize. Both Zero Gravity and Keeping Mum were Poetry Book Society Recommendations. Gwyneth Lewis composed the words on the front of the Wales Millennium Centre in Cardiff, opened in 2004. In 2014 she dramatised her book-length poem A Hospital Odyssey for the BBC, broadcast on Radio 4's Afternoon Drama, and delivered her Newcastle/Bloodaxe Poetry Lectures, published in Quantum Poetics (Bloodaxe Books, 2015). She lives in Cardiff.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews