Pub. Date:
Chase/Ennea/Pure Music

Chase/Ennea/Pure Music

by ChaseChase


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.


This double-CD set is not only the best of Bill Chase's output but -- comprising all three of their albums -- virtually their complete finished studio work, before the plane crash that killed Chase and much of the group. The mastering on this Wounded Bird reissue is excellent, with a full solid bass sound topped by soaring highs on the brass and no compression to speak of. It's not as though this catalog has been overused, in terms of its master tape library -- apart from the hit "Get It On" -- but it's still good to know that the stuff has been well handled in terms of being digitalized. Additionally, the producers have reprinted Nat Hentoff's original essay about the group from their first album (and oh, for a time when college audiences could resonate to the writings of someone like Hentoff, who is now as much of a legend as a writer as the jazz people he wrote about are as musicians....); and they've also reproduced the beautifully designed back covers of each album, as well as their front cover art. It's a bargain in any language, and a fresh opportunity to hear this band's repertory beyond their one and only hit and the album it was attached to. Chase was much more than just a jazz-rock outfit looking for pop success, as those two subsequent albums reveal, in lush detail and rich textures (and bold, forceful nuances) on the second disc in this set. For not quite two hours of some of the better music to come from Columbia Records or that jazz-rock boom of the early '70s that wasn't made by Blood, Sweat & Tears or Chicago, grab it.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2008
Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On
UPC: 5017261208422
catalogNumber: 842
Rank: 26589


Disc 1

  1. Open Up Wide
  2. Livin' in Heat
  3. Hello Groceries
  4. Handbags and Gladrags
  5. Get It On
  6. Boys and Girls Together
  7. Invitation to a River: A. Two Minds Meet/B. Stay/C. Paint It Sad/D. Ref

Disc 2

  1. Swanee River
  2. So Many People
  3. Night
  4. It Won't Be Long
  5. I Can Feel It
  6. Woman of the Dark
  7. Cronus
  8. Zeus
  9. Poseidon
  10. Aphrodite, Pt. 1
  11. Aphrodite, Pt. 2
  12. Hades
  13. Weird Song, Pt. 1
  14. Run Back to Mama
  15. Twinkles
  16. Bochawa
  17. Love Is on the Way
  18. Close Up Tight

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chase   Primary Artist
Phil Porter   Organ,Keyboards
Dartanyan Brown   Bass,Vocals
Jay Burrid   Percussion,Drums
Bill Chase   Trumpet,Flugelhorn,Electric Trumpet
John Emma   Guitar
Tom Gordon   Drums
Kitty Haywood   Background Vocals
Vivian Haywood   Background Vocals
Dennis Johnson   Bass,Vocals
Joe Morrissey   Trumpet
Jim Oatts   Trumpet
Ted Piercefield   Trumpet,Vocals
Tom Radtke   Percussion
Terry Richards   Vocals
Jay Sollenberger   Trumpet,Soloist
Angel South   Guitar,Vocals
Jerry VanBlair   Trumpet,Vocals
Alan Ware   Trumpet
Wally Yohn   Organ,Synthesizer,Keyboards
Gary E. Smith   Drums
Shin G.C.   Vocals
James Peterik   Vocals

Technical Credits

Danny Long   Arranger
Murray Allen   Engineer,Quadraphonic Remix Engineer
Charlie Brent   Arranger
Bill Chase   Arranger
Michael d'Abo   Composer
Bob Destocki   Producer
George Engfer   Engineering
Mike Fusaro   Engineering
Nat Hentoff   Liner Notes,Original Liner Notes,Sleeve Notes
Mike Larner   Engineering
Ted Piercefield   Arranger
Frank Rand   Producer
Terry Richards   Composer
Roy Segal   Engineer
Angel South   Arranger
Russ Turner   Composer
Alan Ware   Arranger
John Tobler   Liner Notes
John Berg   Cover Design
Jim Charne   Original Liner Notes,Sleeve Notes
Bobby Hall   Composer
James Peterik   Composer

Customer Reviews