Cherry Bomb

Cherry Bomb

by The Creator Tyler The Creator Tyler


$7.99 $9.99 Save 20% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $9.99. You Save 20%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, November 2


It's hard not to link Tyler, The Creator's effort Cherry Bomb to Earl Sweatshirt's 2015 LP I Don't Like Shit, since these Odd Future-related albums were released less than a month apart; plus, they were both digitally leaked ahead of their official street date. Earl's leak got the wealth of attention, and being the more lean and purposeful machine, it was deserved, but Tyler's long-playing drop is still a joyful noise, kicking with plenty of kinetic energy and coming on strong with an unforgiving OCD attitude that just won't quit. The most beautiful, and meaningless, manifestation of this attitude is the way the smooth and jazzy "Find Your Wings" segues into the drill 'n' bass title track, as muted trumpets, xylophones, crunching guitars, and Atari Teenage Riot-styled compression all fly by like the creepy albums Bastard (2009) and Goblin (2011) never happened. Sillier still, "The Brown Stains of Darkeese Latifah Pts. 6-12 (Remix)" pops and locks with some added Ying Yang Twins flavor; then there's the wild experience of Kanye West ("Richer than white people with black kids") and Lil Wayne ("Son you need Jesus/But I hear he left Sunset, to go on tour with Yeezus") mixing with Tyler acting as unforgiving as ever ("Like a HIV victim, nobody F'n with me"). Lyrically, shock tactics and the rapper's returning paranoia mix with some positive vibes and '60s-flavored pop songs (check "Okaga, CA" for proof), and yet, this one could be seen as fractured to a fault. Returning customers who like Tyler the ringleader, or Tyler the producer, will find this to be too much of a good thing, and can embrace the free-form Cherry Bomb as another freaky trip worth taking.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/17/2015
Label: Sony
UPC: 0888750846426
catalogNumber: 508464
Rank: 4190


  1. Deathcamp
  2. Buffalo
  3. Pilot
  4. Run
  5. Find Your Wings
  6. Cherry Bomb
  7. Blow My Load
  8. 2Seater
  9. The Brown Stains Of Darkeese Latifah, Pt. 6-12
  10. Fucking Young/Perfect
  11. Smuckers
  12. Keep Da O's
  13. Okaga, CA
  14. Yellow

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Creator Tyler   Primary Artist
Roy Ayers   Vibes
Charlie Wilson   Vocals
Leon Ware   Vocals
Pharrell Williams   Vocals
Tiffany Palmer   Vocals
Onitsha   Vocals
Cole Alexander   Guitar,Vocals
Alice Smith   Vocals
Dâm-Funk   Synthesizer
Daniel Hardaway   Trumpet
Samantha Nelson   Vocals
Tim Davis   Vocals
Samantha Wilson   Vocals
Gaika James   Trombone
Chaz Bundick   Vocals
Syd Bennett   Vocals,Background Vocals
Shane Powers   Vocals
Kali Uchs   Vocals
Jameel Kirk Bruner   Piano
Crystal Anne Tillman   Vocals
Coco Owino   Vocals
Clementine "Clem" Creevy   Vocals
Austin Anderson   Guitar
Aaron Shaw   Saxophone

Technical Credits

Dubin   Composer
Harry Warren   Composer
Pharrell Williams   Composer
James Yost   Engineer
Kanye West   Composer
Mike Einziger   Additional Production
Gabriele Ducros   Composer
Noah Goldstein   Engineer
Tim Davis   Vocal Arrangements
Herman Weems   Composer
Angel Onhel Aponte   Engineer
Creator Tyler   Producer
Vic Wainstein   Engineer
Syd Bennett   Engineer
Tyler Okonma   Composer,Engineer,Layout
Phil Toselli   Layout
Quincy Hanley   Composer
Mike Larsen   Engineer
Jack DeBoe   Engineer
Clementine "Clem" Creevy   Composer

Customer Reviews