Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

by Tomi Adeyemi
Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

Children of Blood and Bone (Legacy of Orïsha Series #1)

by Tomi Adeyemi

Paperback(Reprint)

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$13.49  $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, March 5
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Steeped in West African mythology, Children of Blood and Bone is riddled with the kind of tangible stakes you can't look away from. Populated by dynamic characters, propulsive in plot and inventive in magic, this is the kind of book that asks a lot of important questions alongside a breakneck narrative.

An Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller
A TIME Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time
A New York Times Notable Children's Book
A Kirkus Prize Finalist
Five Starred Reviews

Now available in a deluxe paperback edition with gorgeous spray-painted and stenciled edges, Tomi Adeyemi’s groundbreaking West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.


They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.


Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

Praise for Children of Blood and Bone

"A phenomenon." Entertainment Weekly

“The epic I’ve been waiting for.” New York Times-bestselling author Marie Lu

“You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!” New York Times-bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

“The next big thing in literature and film.” Ebony

“One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of the year.” Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.


-

The Complete Legacy of Orïsha Series:


Children of Blood and Bone
(Book 1)
Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Book 2)
Children of Anguish and Anarchy (Book 3)


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250294623
Publisher: Square Fish
Publication date: 02/27/2024
Series: Legacy of Orïsha Series , #1
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 349
Product dimensions: 8.10(w) x 5.30(h) x 1.20(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Tomi Adeyemi is the #1 New York Times-bestselling Nigerian-American author of Children of Blood and Bone. After graduating Harvard University with an honors degree in English literature, she received a fellowship to study West African mythology, religion, and culture in Salvador, Brazil. When she’s not working on her novels or watching BTS music videos, she can be found blogging and teaching creative writing on her website. She lives in San Diego, California.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews