Paperback(Second Edition)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


A Dream Vision, a terrifying destiny, a journey of a lifetime—the future of an entire Peoples may rest on the shoulders of one young boy.

WINNER: Pinnacle Book Achievement Award - Best Historical Fiction

This novel of historic fiction is a must for any fan of Native American history, or seeker of knowledge, or lover of life. It is expertly crafted with vivid imagery and characters that will become beloved. If you don't know what it means to sing someone home, prepare to swallow hard. It is heart warming and moving. Truly a thing of beauty.” ~ T.W. Griffith

With much of the world still undiscovered, a small band of people live a peaceful life, until the Dream Vision of a young boy changes everything. Only nine winters old, Feather Floating in Water’s dreams turn his seemingly ordinary childhood into the journey of a lifetime. He must help his people face a terrifying destiny from which they cannot turn away. He must find a way to make his people listen.

Bright Sun Flower, the boy’s grandmother, guides his beginnings, teaching him about the Circle of Life, and how without it, no life can exist. But he needs a bigger push, and gets it from a grey wolf and a Great Elder. The boy’s journey leads him to discover that the Circle of Life involves all people, all living things, and not just the world he knows.

In the end, an ancient People guide the boy in his Visions, toward an unexpected place hidden from outsiders.

A beautiful story of what should have been. ~ The story is strongly written and will appeal to those who believe that mankind should live in harmony with nature. If you expect savagery and blood - look elsewhere.” ~ John Chapman

[Historical Fiction, American Indian, Cultural Heritage]

Evolved Publishing presents the first book in the extraordinary, award-winning "Shining Light's Saga" series. Take an authentic journey into a culture lost to time and the ravages of "progress."

"Shining Light's Saga" by Ruby Standing Deer:

  • Book 1: Circles
  • Book 2: Spirals
  • Book 3: Stones
  • Book 4: Broken Path

More Great Historical Fiction from Evolved Publishing:

  • Fresh News Straight from Heaven by Gregg Sapp
  • Behind the Open Walls by Lanette Kauten
  • Galerie by Steven Greenberg

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781622539567
Publisher: Evolved Publishing
Publication date: 01/02/2013
Series: Shining Light's Saga , #1
Edition description: Second Edition
Pages: 218
Product dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.46(d)

About the Author

AUTHOR: Ruby Standing Deer has been a wanderer, and a journeyman newspaper pressman. She's spent years rescuing animals and learning from them. They've taught her that life does not have to be so hard, if you go with the flow and not against it. Her life revolves around writing and her family, which includes, of course, her animals. Two car accidents in the mid-nineties changed Ruby's life. She resented it at first, until understanding that she'd simply been put on another path. It was not an easy one, and continues to be a challenge, but she accepted it, and learns with each step she takes. Ruby writes because she's compelled to pass on knowledge. Her first book, "Circles," is more than just a story of family, or of the people who first settled in the Americas. It is a story of spirituality and the simple humor of everyday life, but also of the fear of the unknown. Life presents us a path; how we choose to navigate that "circle" is up to us.

EDITOR: Lane Diamond has over 130 published books to his editing credit, including many multiple award-winners, across many genres and styles.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Circles 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 13 reviews.
coziecorner More than 1 year ago
Ruby Running Deer pens "Circles", a Native American story, in a plot filled with emotions, spirituality and a touch of humor. With characters that are realistic and believable you can not help but feel you are one with them. I love that there really was no war and fighting but a story about a boy who takes a journey from boyhood into adulthood. Pay attention to the moral of the story, it is something we all need to remember in this modern world. A highly recommended must read for all.. This review is based on a complimentary copy which was provided for an honest review.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
While I understand the names are authentic, it was extremely difficult to keep up with all the multi-worded names, and then some even changed during the course of the story. I enjoyed the mysticism and appreciation for nature and animals, but the story did not have real depth. I never felt like I was "there" in the story. I have purchased the sequel in the hopes that it develops better.
Sugarmm More than 1 year ago
Since I am part Cherokee and have my degree of Indian blood card, this interested me very much. Very informative and interesting. A lot of stories about the animals and their animal spirits. I would recommend.
BonitaBarb More than 1 year ago
I love Ruby Running Deer stories.   I read this one some time ago and ended up buying the next one.  It is a good read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
RavenStone More than 1 year ago
Circles is a story that follows a young Native American boy who has been having rather powerful dreams. These dreams tell him of a great danger that his people will soon face. He is but eight winters old and must lead his people to safety. We follow this young boy and the many characters of the the book who come to life within the pages of Circles. It's an amazing ride that will leave you wanting more to the very end, and what a surprise the ending is. The book itself holds many lessons that people have forgotten, lessons that where once comment sense. I have read it to my students and they never wanted to me to stop! They learned allot, and so did I, things that society needs to remember. Lessons about family, friendship, community and self sacrifice. There is so much here, to much to explain in a single review. This book has some great reviews on other sites and has gained a good amount of fans who are longing for the next book in the series called Spirals. I personally am very excited about the next book. Ruby Standing Deer's blog (rubystandingdeer com) is the place to be if you want more information about the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book was a filler for words ....the same words in the same sentences were repeated over and over ..when that wasnt happening they were so buxy changing each others' names i think to test your memory as many as 3 times a peerson..oh and dont forget to hear how he was a holy MAN in a boys body ad nauseum I kept reading waiting for the action that never happened