Claimed by a Highlander

Claimed by a Highlander

by Margaret Mallory

Paperback

$12.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Friday, October 26?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.

Overview

Claimed by a Highlander by Margaret Mallory

THE DOUGLAS LEGACY
The Douglas sisters, beauties all, are valuable pawns in their family's bitter struggle to control the Scottish Crown. But when their enemies strike, each Douglas lass will find she's been left to face them alone.

CLAIMED BY A HIGHLANDER
Lady Sybil Douglas's fall from court favorite to royal enemy is swift after her brothers are charged with treason and flee Scotland. When a strange Highland warrior appears claiming they are bound by a marriage contract, she's desperate enough to ride off with him. She'll worry later about how to escape the wedding.

The last thing Rory MacKenzie needs is a pampered Lowlander wife. He traveled to Edinburgh in the hope of dissolving the ill-begotten marriage contract. But now that the Douglas men have abandoned his would-be bride to danger, he's honor-bound to protect her.

Sybil and Rory fight scorching passion and other dangers on their journey to the MacKenzie castle, where murder and intrigue await them. When everything is at risk, will they trust each other and their unexpected love?

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780990759928
Publisher: Margaret Mallory
Publication date: 07/25/2016
Series: THE DOUGLAS LEGACY , #2
Pages: 330
Sales rank: 351,413
Product dimensions: 8.80(w) x 5.90(h) x 0.80(d)

About the Author

Margaret Mallory, a USA Today bestselling author and recovering lawyer, is thrilled to be writing exciting tales with sword-wielding heroes rather than briefs and memos. Her Scottish and medieval romances have won numerous honors and awards, including National Readers' Choice Awards, RT Book Reviews' Best Scotland-Set Historical Romance, and a RITA© nomination.

Margaret lives with her husband in the beautiful Pacific Northwest. Now that her children are off on their own adventures, she spends most of her time with her handsome Highlanders, but she also likes to hike and travel.

For information about Margaret’s other books, as well as photos of Scotland, historical tidbits, and links to Margaret on Facebook and Twitter, please visit her website, www.MargaretMallory.com.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Claimed by a Highlander (THE DOUGLAS LEGACY, #2) 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 10 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really good story
LindaTownsend More than 1 year ago
An exciting, action-packed Scottish historical romance teeming with emotion, danger and intrigue “I’ve been wanting to kiss ye since the first moment I saw ye,” he said. “I’m going to do it now.” Sybil could not breathe, let alone form the words to object. When she moistened her lips with her tongue, she felt his heartbeat leap beneath her palm. Her gaze fixed on his mouth as he drew her to him ever so slowly. She had expected a sweet, teasing kiss, not this explosion of passion that seared through her body at the first touch of their lips. No one had ever kissed her like this before, as if he would die if he could not have his mouth on hers. With a will of their own, her arms wound around his neck and her fingers tangled in his long, thick hair as she pulled him closer. She was lost in the sensations and long past thought. As his kisses slowly changed from feverish to tender, she felt as if she were floating. She wanted this to go on forever. When Rory pulled away, she stared up at him, stunned. “That was promising,” he said with a wide grin. Claimed by a Highlander by Margaret Mallory is an exciting, action-packed Scottish historical romance teeming with emotion, danger and intrigue. It is set in early 1500's Scotland and, even though, it is the second installment in the author’s exceptional Douglas Legacy series, it can easily be read as a standalone, if that is your preference. As an added plus in this series, the author has mingled actual figures from history in with the fictional characters. There is nothing that falls short in this book. It is well-orchestrated to keep readers on the edge of their seats from the beginning all the way through to the very end. As the story opens, readers meet Lady Sybil Douglas, once a favorite in the Queen’s court, but who is now dreading a hangman’s noose thanks to her brothers leaving her behind to fend for herself after they committed treason and fled to France. Sybil is in her family home in Edinburgh when a handsome stranger appears to save her all by his lonesome. He claims to be bound to her by a marriage contract. They flee barely making it away with their lives. He’s a rugged Highlander; she’s a highborn lowlander. Is there any hope for this couple? They are both great characters. Rory is handsome, loyal, honorable, strong, smart and sexy! Sybil, on the other hand, is politically savvy and able to read people accurately. She’s a complex character who did not think she wanted a husband, until she met and came to know Rory. I was in awe of her as she adapted to camping. I laughed and swooned at the couple’s interactions. Their passion, charisma, and hot and steamy chemistry made for a fabulous read! Derek Perkins delivers a remarkable performance. He is one of my favorite narrators of Scottish historicals. He has a clear voice with perfect elocution. He distinctly differentiates between male and female voices with a delivery that perfectly complements the story. The audio book production is polished and well done and adds value to the story. Margaret Mallory has quickly become one of my go-to authors and this book is a perfect example of why. Well researched, craftily woven, then narrated by a master, makes this audio an outstanding experience for fans of Scottish historical romances. My full review is posted at Reading Between The Wines Book Club. Please check it out there!
JoRead More than 1 year ago
I’ll be honest, I’m not too fond of stories where a simple revelation or the simple truth could have resolved so many misunderstanding and could have prevented even more problems down the road, but then again the truth is hardly ever just simple. Rory is an honor bound man that will do anything to protect the innocent, even his would-be bride he’s never met. Sybil is so desperate to escape her horrid fate that will go as far as travel with the man that’s presented himself as his contracted groom, even when she knows they may not end up together. The story was a clash of wits and temperaments and I loved that aspect about the story. They were both strong-minded and smart but neither one of them imposed their personality on the other. While their dialogue could at times sound a spar of words it was never meant to offend or to prove one smarter than the other and it always led to open conversation, always striving to resolve misunderstandings right off the bat. Both of them were flawed but they were still honorable and true to their beliefs. The depictions of the battles, the settings where the story took place, the customs, and even the bit of history lesson drew me right in from the beginning. And in spite of what I said at the beginning, the secrets were a nice complement to the story. Perhaps that’s why I wasn’t bothered by them here, because in this case they were only the catalyst and not the heart of the plot. There is an author’s note at the end of the book that provides deeper insight into this period of history and how she was inspired to write the series. I just thought that was a nice touch and it actually made me want to read the rest of the series even more. I definitely recommend this book to any historical lover romance. This is my honest opinion and given without any influence by the author or publisher.
Midniteiz99 More than 1 year ago
"Claimed by a Highlander is non stop excitement!" I was fortunate enough to receive the audio copy of this amazing book in exchange for my honest review. I can honestly tell you that I loved every minute of it! There is non-stop excitement filled with a romance fraught with many of the same foibles we experience in our own relationships.... anger, jealousy, distrust, fear, as well as unconditional love and trust. If you enjoy reading historical romance novels, you may recognise several of the characters mentioned as having been actual historical people of the period, as well as many of the beautiful historic landmarks and sites steeped in Scottish history and still visited today. Derek Perkins does an amazing job of bringing the various characters to life through his exceptional vocal talent. He presents the story in such a smooth and seemingly effortless way, that you easily find you've become caught up in the story as if you were there. There honestly was never a dull moment in the entire story! I can't wait to hear Margaret's story next. This is a book I can easily recommend to anyone who loves this reading or listening to this genre of books. Don't miss out on this one! This entire series promises to be one of those you can't put down, and read or listen to again and again!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed this book! This was book 2 in the series, can't wait for the next one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
read2011 More than 1 year ago
I loved this one. Rory is my kind of hero. Sybil was smart and savvy she helped with many problems that needed a little charm and finesse. I love a strong woman in these books. the love between them developed at a good pace. The sex was hot. Rory was a great hero in this book and the two of them made a great pair. The book had all kinds of twist and turns . Lots of good well rounded characters. This is a great book I will add to my permanent library.
MyBookAddictionandMore More than 1 year ago
CLAIMED BY A HIGHLANDER (THE DOUGLAS LEGACY Book 2) by Margaret Mallory is an intriguing Medieval Scottish Historical Romance. While, Book 2, it can be read as a stand alone. Fast paced, action packed, with thrills and chills. WOW! Holy, Highlanders, a Scot to the rescue!! Lady Sybil Douglas, has fallen from grace with the Crown, when her brother's are charged with treason. All the Douglas' girls have been used to further their families desire for power. Rory MacKenzie, gained a Scottish bride due to a ill-begotten marriage contract, with one of her brothers, or did he? Sybil and Rory travels on a perilous journey to the MacKenzie castle, with the Crown's guardsmen hot on their trail. What follows is hair-raising escapes, passion, danger, and narrow escapes from being caught. Once they reach the Mackenzie lands, all is not as it should be for someone, is trying to kill them, other than the Crown. Someone doesn’t want Rory to reach MacKenzie land alive. Steeped with intrigue, treacherous acts, murder, danger, suspense, passion, betrayal and the chance for true love, if Sybil and Rory can manage to stay alive long enough to find their possible HEA. Once again, Ms. Mallory has written a captivating, intriguing and mesmerizing Scottish Romance. Perfect for fans of Scottish Romance, Medieval Romance, danger, suspense, a bit of mystery, lots of action and finding a HEA. I love Ms. Mallory's Scottish Romance and "Claimed by a Highlander", was without exception, simply awesome. Compelling, emotionally charged, and breathtaking. A definite must read! Highly recommended! Received for an honest review. Rating: 5 Heat rating: Mild Reviewed by: AprilR
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked this book, would read again