Cleared for Take Off

Cleared for Take Off

by Jefferson AirplaneJefferson Airplane


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 6


British label Acrobat's Jefferson Airplane title Cleared for Take Offcontains live and (possibly) outtake material from the band's heyday, recorded circa 1966-67. The group runs through songs contained on its first two albums, Jefferson AirplaneTakes Off and Surrealistic Pillow, with a few curiosities. "Don't Let Me Down," never featured on a regular Jefferson Airplane album, is a nine-minute showcase for lead singer Marty Balin that gives way to improvisation. Lead guitarist Jorma Kaukonen's "Come Back Baby," misnamed "Jorma's Blues," is a song that didn't get on to record until his spin-off band Hot Tuna's second LP First Pull Up, Then Pull Down, in 1971. "Thing" is an instrumental. While the disc may be legal technically, it is certainly unauthorized, and it suffers most of the disadvantages of bootlegs. The sound is often distorted; tracks start, stop, and fade abruptly; and the annotations are scant and sometimes inaccurate. (In particular, the song list is incorrect, with "She Has Funny Cars" shown as appearing as the fourth track when it is really the tenth track, and all the tracks from four to nine are thus off by one.) These major caveats accepted, a fervent Jefferson Airplane fan probably will want to hear these examples of what the group sounded like at their popular peak, particularly on the extended version of the hit "Somebody to Love," with vocal embellishments by Balin.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 11/06/2003
Label: Acrobat
UPC: 0824046400125
catalogNumber: 4001
Rank: 141384


  1. 3/5 of a Mile in Ten Seconds
  2. Don't Let Me Down
  3. Don't Slip Away
  4. Get Together
  5. High Flying Band
  6. It's No Secret
  7. Come Back Baby
  8. Plastic Fantastic Lover
  9. Running Round the World
  10. She Has Funny Cars
  11. Somebody to Love
  12. The Other Side of This Life
  13. Thing
  14. Tobacco Road
  15. Today
  16. White Rabbit
  17. You're Bringing Me Down
  18. You're My Best Friend

Album Credits

Customer Reviews