Coal Country Killing: A Culture, A Union, and the Murders That Changed It All

Coal Country Killing: A Culture, A Union, and the Murders That Changed It All

by Robert K. Tanenbaum, Steve Jackson
Coal Country Killing: A Culture, A Union, and the Murders That Changed It All

Coal Country Killing: A Culture, A Union, and the Murders That Changed It All

by Robert K. Tanenbaum, Steve Jackson


    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, March 6
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


A triumphant, uplifting true justice story led by jury trial expert, Richard A. Sprague—the indomitable, nationally renowned prosecutor who engaged in the most intense manhunt investigation in police history.

Coal Country Killing: A Culture, A Union, And The Murders That Changed It All, revolves around the cold-blooded 1969 assassination of United Mineworkers of America “reform candidate” Jock Yablonski, and murder of his wife and daughter in their Pennsylvania farmhouse. But driving the story are the extraordinary efforts of a tenacious special prosecutor and his “army” of investigators to bring the gunmen, the union boss who ordered the murders, and his henchmen who saw them carried out, to justice.

Initially, three bumbling small-time criminals, dubbed “The Hillbilly Hitmen,” were arrested and charged. But they were the tip of the iceberg as the murders were directed by then-UMWA President “Tough Tony” Boyle as revenge for Yablonski running against him in the bitterly contested 1968 union election and to prevent his corruption from being exposed.

Up against the tight-lipped culture of Appalachia coal country, legendary Philadelphia homicide prosecutor Richard A. Sprague, and his investigators, spent nearly nine years doggedly working their way up the ladder of those responsible to the final showdown with Boyle.

Written by New York Times bestselling authors—former New York County Assistant District Attorney Robert K. Tanenbaum, a lifelong friend of Sprague’s, and Steve Jackson—Coal Country Killing is a tour de force for those who love justice.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781637588482
Publisher: Post Hill Press
Publication date: 06/13/2023
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 521,881
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

Robert K. Tanenbaum is a New York Times bestselling author who has written thirty-two books, including Echoes of My Soul, about a case cited by Supreme Court Justice Earl Warren in the famous Miranda decision. Tanenbaum is one of the most successful prosecuting attorneys, having never lost a felony trial. He was Assistant District Attorney in New York County, where he ran the Homicide Bureau, served as Chief of the Criminal Courts, and was in charge of the DA’s legal staff training program. He also served as Deputy Chief counsel for the Congressional Committee investigation into the assassinations of President John F. Kennedy and the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Born in Brooklyn, New York, Tanenbaum attended the University of California at Berkeley on a basketball scholarship, where he earned a B.A. He received his law degree from Boalt Hall School of Law at the University of California, Berkeley.

Steve Jackson

“[Steve Jackson] writes with both muscle and heart” —New York Times bestselling author Gregg Olsen

New York Times bestselling author and award-winning journalist Steve Jackson has written fourteen non-fiction books in true crime, history and biography genres; he has also written fourteen crime fiction thrillers for the Times bestselling "Butch Karp Series" in collaboration with former New York assistant district attorney Robert K. Tanenbaum.

As of January 2023, he is working on the non-fiction sequel to his bestselling book, No Stone Unturned, tentatively titled Grave Secrets. His first non-fiction book, Monster, a true crime, was published in October 1998 and within two weeks became a New York Times bestseller. Several of his other non-fiction and thriller books have also made bestseller lists. In 2003, his World War II dramatic narrative, Lucky Lady, received The Colorado Book Award, best biography/history, from the Colorado Center for the Book; Lucky Lady was also the runner-up that year for the Admiral Samuel Morrison Naval History Award.

Steve is also the co-owner of indie publisher WildBlue Press ( he began in 2014 with partner Michael Cordova. He graduated in 1979 from Colorado State University with a BA in Journalism. A newspaper journalist for twenty-five years, he worked in locales as varied as Montana, Hawaii, Guam, Micronesia, Indonesia, Indiana, Washington D.C., Florida, Oregon and Colorado. During his career with newspapers, he received numerous national and regional awards for feature writing and investigative reporting.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews