Colin Matthews: The Debussy Preludes

Colin Matthews: The Debussy Preludes

by Mark Elder


$18.04 $18.99 Save 5% Current price is $18.04, Original price is $18.99. You Save 5%.
Eligible for FREE SHIPPING
  • Want it by Wednesday, October 24?   Order by 12:00 PM Eastern and choose Expedited Shipping at checkout.


Colin Matthews: The Debussy Preludes

Musical literalists may not be pleased with Colin Matthews' free orchestral arrangements of the 24 movements of Debussy's two books of "Préludes pour le piano"; this is certainly not the equivalent of Ravel's faithful orchestration of Mussorgsky's "Pictures at an Exhibition." Fans of impressionist orchestral music and some fans of the piano originals, though, may well experience a thrill, as if a lost Debussy orchestral piece had been rediscovered. Matthews has a consummate, almost uncanny understanding of Debussy's orchestrational style, and the occasional sonorities that betray the work's modern provenance clearly sound like intentional artistic decisions and not miscalculations. Debussy was a composer whose language and orchestration were always evolving, and it requires no stretch whatsoever to imagine that these orchestrations could have been his own. Listeners who know the piano preludes will be fascinated to hear the ways in which Matthews has reimagined them, sometimes even adding material, extending their length, and altering note values to make the music fit the orchestral idiom with complete naturalness. Matthews reorders the preludes, mixing the two books, opening with "Brouillards," the first prelude from the second book and ending the set with a gorgeous, grand, radiant version of "La cathédrale engloutie." He also adds an original postlude, titled "Monsieur Croche" (the composer's pen name as a music critic), which he describes as being closer to Debussy's style than he had "intended or expected." The commissioners of the arrangement, Mark Elder and the Hallé Orchestra, perform it with luminous transparency and idiomatic sensitivity to roots in Impressionism. The sound is clean, clear, and present. Highly recommended.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/11/2011
Label: Halle
UPC: 5065001341267
catalogNumber: 7527
Rank: 100695


  1. La Puerta del Vino, prelude for piano, L. 123/3
  2. Général Lavine, eccentric, prelude for piano, L. 123/6
  3. Feuilles mortes, prelude for piano, L. 123/2
  4. Les tierces alternées, prelude for piano, L. 123/11
  5. La danse de Puck, prelude for piano, L. 117/11
  6. Le vent dans la plaine, prelude for piano, L. 117/3
  7. La fille aux cheveux de lin, prelude for piano, L. 117/8
  8. Brouillards, prelude for piano, L. 123/1
  9. Ce qu'a vu le vent d'ouest, prelude for piano, L. 117/7
  10. Minstrels, prelude for piano, L. 117/12
  11. Canope, prelude for piano, L. 123/10
  12. Les sons et les parfums tournent dans l'air du soir, prelude for piano, L. 117/4
  13. Danseuses de Delphes, prelude for piano, L. 117/1
  14. La sérénade Interrompue, prelude for piano, L. 117/9
  15. Des pas sur la neige, prelude for piano, L. 117/6
  16. Les fées sont d'exquises danseuses, prelude for piano, L. 123/4
  17. Voiles, prelude for piano, L. 117/2
  18. Hommage à Samuel Pickwick Esq. P.P.M.P.C., prelude for piano, L.123/9
  19. La terrasse des audiences du clair de lune, prelude for piano, L. 123/7
  20. Bruyères, prelude for piano, L. 123/5
  21. Ondine, prelude for piano, L. 123/8
  22. Les collines d'Anacapri, for piano, L. 117/5
  23. Feux d'artifices, prelude for piano, L. 123/12
  24. La cathédrale engloutie, prelude for piano, L. 117/10
  25. Postlude: Monsieur Croche, for ensemble

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mark Elder   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews