Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation

Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation

Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation

Cut!: How Lotte Reiniger and a Pair of Scissors Revolutionized Animation

Hardcover

$18.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, February 13

Overview

Long before Walt Disney, a young woman revolutionized the landscape of animation using light, a pair of scissors, and her imagination. From acclaimed author C. E. Winters and debut illustrator Matt Schu, STEM meets the arts in this engaging nonfiction picture book biography about Lotte Reiniger. Cut! is an exceptional choice for classrooms and for fans of Hidden Figures, I Dissent, and the Questioneers books. 

In the 1920s, when young women had limited opportunities, Lotte Reiniger used her curiosity and ingenuity to change the landscape of animation forever. Inspired by the films of her youth, and encouraged by teachers and mentors working in film at the time, Lotte Reiniger honed her skills in cutting out paper silhouettes to use in stop-motion animation.

Eventually, her talent and her drive led her to invent the multiplane camera, which allowed her to give her animation depth of field. With her small team, Lotte designed and directed the oldest full-length animated film in existence.

Acclaimed author C. E. Winters and debut artist Matt Schu expertly introduce young readers to Lotte Reiniger, a remarkable and often overshadowed historical figure. Balancing biographical information with a compelling story, Cut! follows Lotte Reiniger from childhood to her first groundbreaking accomplishments. Matt Schu’s dynamic illustrations draw inspiration from Reiniger’s own artistry and are full of detail, color, and light. Cut! is an excellent nonfiction picture book perfect for classrooms and family sharing.

Features extensive backmatter, including a timeline of Lotte Reiniger’s life, an author’s note, and sources. 



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063067394
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/24/2023
Pages: 40
Sales rank: 398,022
Product dimensions: 8.60(w) x 11.20(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

Customer Reviews