Pub. Date:
Dance of the Rainbow Serpent

Dance of the Rainbow Serpent

by SantanaSantana


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


Guitarist Carlos Santana continues to record music, but when contemplating his body of work, it's difficult not to telescope to the "vintage" 1969-1975 period, from first albums Santana and Abraxas through to Lotus. Dance of the Rainbow Serpent offers a well-rounded, three-disc overview of his career, but its the sultry Latin rhythms and stinging guitar of the early years -- captured on disc one, subtitled Heart -- that prove most invigorating. The obvious hits like "Evil Ways" and "Black Magic Woman" are all included of course, although these are scorched by the speedy pyrotechnics of the likes of "Toussaint Overture" from Lotus. The second disc, mistitled Soul, covers material that is, to be kind, bland and overproduced. Without the Latin edge, there's nothing to distinguish the contents from a hundred other MOR performers. Third disc Spirit is more diverse and satisfying; delving into the funkier examples of his later work, plus sessions with John Lee Hooker (including hit "The Healer") and previously unreleased material (including a workout with Living Color's Vernon Reid). In all, plenty here to chew on for fans of Santana's fluid, spiritual style -- with one of three discs left to gather.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/08/1995
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646460528
catalogNumber: 64605
Rank: 130683


Disc 1

  1. Evil Ways
  2. Soul Sacrifice
  3. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen
  4. Oye Como Va
  5. Samba Pa Ti
  6. Everybody's Everything
  7. Song of the Wind
  8. Toussaint l'Overture
  9. In a Silent Way
  10. Waves Within
  11. Flame Sky
  12. Naima

Disc 2

  1. I Love You Much Too Much
  2. Blues for Salvador
  3. Aqua Marine
  4. Bella
  5. The River
  6. I'll Be Waiting
  7. Love Is You
  8. Europa (Earth's Cry Heaven's Smile)
  9. Move On
  10. Somewhere in Heaven
  11. Open Invitation

Disc 3

  1. All I Ever Wanted
  2. Hannibal
  3. Brightest Star
  4. Wings of Grace
  5. Se Eni a Fe l'Amo-Kere Kere
  6. Mudbone
  7. The Healer
  8. Chill out (Things Gonna Change)
  9. Sweet Black Cherry Pie
  10. Every Now and Then
  11. This Is This

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Santana   Primary Artist
John Lee Hooker   Vocals,Track Performer
Michael Shrieve   Drums
Linda Tillery   Background Vocals
Neal Schon   Guitar
Tower of Power   Horn,Horn Section
Victor Bailey   Bass
Tom Coster   Keyboards
Peter Erskine   Drums
Pete Escovedo   Timbales
John McLaughlin   Guitar
Wayne Shorter   Saxophone
Leon Thomas   Vocals
Armando Peraza   Bongos,Conga
Greg Walker   Vocals
José "Chepito" Areas   Timbales
Larry Graham   Vocals,Track Performer
Gregg Rolie   Keyboards,Vocals
Leon Patillo   Keyboards,Vocals
Kim Wilson   Harmonica
Airto Moreira   Percussion
Joe Zawinul   Keyboards
Richard Baker   Keyboards
Barry Beckett   Keyboards
Gaylord Birch   Drums
David Brown   Bass
Mike Carabello   Conga
Leon "Ndugu" Chancler   Drums
Fran Christina   Drums
Mino Cinelu   Conga
Walfredo Reyes   Drums
Keith Ferguson   Bass
Alphonso Johnson   Bass
Booker T. Jones   Keyboards
Richard Kermode   Keyboards
Bruce Langhorne   Guitar
Graham Lear   Drums
Mingo Lewis   Conga
Alex Ligertwood   Vocals
David Margen   Bass
Babafunmi Ohene   Djembe,Log Drums
Babatunde Olatunji   Vocals,Ndoma Drums
Alan Pasqua   Keyboards
Karl Perazzo   Timbales
Doug Rauch   Bass,Guitar
Alfred C. Redwine   Guitar
Vernon Reid   Guitar,Track Performer
Benny Rietveld   Bass
Raul Rekow   Conga
Chris Rhyme   Keyboards
Douglas Rodrigues   Guitar
Chris Solberg   Guitar
Pablo Tellez   Bass
Chester Thompson   Keyboards
Jimmie Vaughan   Guitar
Bobby Vega   Bass
Orestes Vilató   Timbales
Maxine Willard Waters   Background Vocals
Waters Family   Background Vocals
Oren Waters   Background Vocals
Sterling Crew   Keyboards
Julia Waters   Background Vocals
Peter Fletcher   Musical Direction
Carlos Santana   Guitar
Chris Rhyne   Keyboards
Dundiata Keita   Djembe

Technical Credits

Michael Shrieve   Composer
Greg Walker   Composer
José "Chepito" Areas   Composer
Gregg Rolie   Composer
David Brown   Composer
Mike Carabello   Composer
Bill Graham   Liner Notes
Sonny Henry   Composer
Dennis Lambert   Composer
David Margen   Composer
Alexander Olshanetsky   Composer
Alan Pasqua   Composer
Brian Potter   Composer
Doug Rauch   Composer
Don Raye   Composer
Chris Solberg   Composer
Hal Miller   Liner Notes
Carlos Santana   Composer,Liner Notes
David Mitson   Producer
Mary Maurer   Art Direction
Lisa Sparagano   Package Redesign
Tony Machado   Artwork,Cover Art
Joe Zack   Composer
Michael Rios   Artwork,Cover Art
Chaim Towber   Composer
Jeffrey Beck   Graphic Design
Marni Elliott   Packaging Manager

Customer Reviews